Text box for long text

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Tr1harder

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 5:54 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Bradshaw

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Mar 30, 2023 8:46 pm

+1 for Text Wrap and Text Box features!!! I am building a Fusion title template for a series of corporate videos and they all must have a long paragraph of credits. I am now having to rely on Photoshop to create a png of the text and then import it into the fusion comp I made. Also makes it harder to collab with other editors when they would then need to start paying Adobe!
Desktop: Intel i7-12700k, NVIDIA RTX 3070 Ti, 64GB RAM
500GB OS NVMe SSD, 2TB Storage NVMe SSD, 500GB Cache NVMe SSD

Laptop: 2019 16" MacBook Pro, i9, 32GB RAM, Radeon 5500M, 1TB SSD
Offline

Moinsen

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2023 4:32 pm
  • Real Name: Frederick Thiemer

Re: Text box for long text

PostMon Jun 12, 2023 4:40 pm

Hey, I just found a solution for a custom sized Text Box. It is really simple. Source is a youtube video named "How to Add a BACKGROUND Behind TEXT in DaVinci Resolve 16 | Quick Tip Tuesday" by the channel "Jason Yadlovski". It worked for me in the newest version in June 2023.

Here the TL;DW of the video:
1. Put text into extra line. So there is space below this.
2. Go to effects > Generators > Solid Color and add it.
3. Go to the Solid Color element and make the shape fit the text via the crop settings.[/list]
Offline

Timothy Clark

  • Posts: 140
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:56 pm
  • Real Name: Timothy Clark

Re: Text box for long text

PostTue Jun 13, 2023 9:39 pm

Moinsen wrote:Hey, I just found a solution for a custom sized Text Box. It is really simple. Source is a youtube video named "How to Add a BACKGROUND Behind TEXT in DaVinci Resolve 16 | Quick Tip Tuesday" by the channel "Jason Yadlovski". It worked for me in the newest version in June 2023.

Here the TL;DW of the video:
1. Put text into extra line. So there is space below this.
2. Go to effects > Generators > Solid Color and add it.
3. Go to the Solid Color element and make the shape fit the text via the crop settings.[/list]


It's not the graphical box we're wanting as much as text wrap. In Premiere/After Effects for example, you can create a 'text box' that text will automatically conform to, so you don't have to manually insert line breaks to get text to fit in a lower third or something like that.
Offline

ScottW

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2022 10:43 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Weber

Re: Text box for long text

PostSun Jul 09, 2023 1:27 am

Another +1 for this feature. Love Davinci & Fusion but a bit frustrating such a basic feature, requested back in 2019, is still missing.
Offline
User avatar

Stephen Dixon

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Jul 27, 2023 1:36 am

I came here after searching for where the paragraph text tool was in DVR. I can't believe that the answer is "there isn't one".
Offline

Kyashan

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2023 4:30 pm
  • Real Name: Alex Golemi

Re: Text box for long text

PostMon Jul 31, 2023 9:13 am

Hi everyone!

I'm trying the DVR as a replacement for Premiere and I haven't found how to handle a long test in a box with auto-adaptability like in Premiere. Then I searched online and here and... incredible, this function which in my opinion is basically not possible in DVRs! I'm reading about a way to do this using Notepad++ etc. Etc.

BMD Hope your guys are working on this for future implementation. DVR is a very good NLE sw but it seems to be still too young compared to the others. I guess it depends on the origin of the DVR on the color grading functions.

I'm also looking for other small and big difficulties compared to Premiere and I hope the DVR grows rapidly :P

k
AMD FirePro W5100 4GB
Intel i7 2600K
16GB RAM
SSD (OS\Apps) + HDD (files)

Windows 10 Pro X64
DaVinci Reolve free 18.5.041
Offline

Jordan Van Voast

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2023 4:22 pm
  • Real Name: Jordan Van Voast

Re: Text box for long text (one possible solution)

PostSun Sep 24, 2023 4:35 pm

Hi, Yes, a dedicated feature to create a resizeable text back in DVR would be nice, but as a free user after ditching Premiere Pro, I'm not complaining. Here's my simple, relatively easy fix: Open the Text+ feature and drag it onto the timeline. In the panel on the right, start typing text and press the enter key at the end of each section of text in order to create lines of relatively equal length. When you are finished typing text, adjust the Size scroll (underneath the Color selector) in order to fit the text in the box. Done!
Image
Attachments
Screenshot (182).png
Screenshot (182).png (487.38 KiB) Viewed 564 times
Offline

benkreis

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 7:52 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Kreis

Re: Text box for long text

PostTue Feb 20, 2024 8:12 pm

+1 We still need this basic feature!
Offline
User avatar

Stephen Dixon

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Text box for long text

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 6:03 am

One of the good things about Resolve is that the scripting API lets you write scripts that can act as generators and plugins that can actually affect the output raster, unlike PP or AE where you have to go full C++ with the plugin SDK to do that. In English that means script kiddies like me can write plugins. So I modified an existing text script to create a text wrapping tool. Get it for free as in beer/speech here: https://codeberg.org/stib/pureandapplie ... sPlus.Fuse
txtwrp.png
txtwrp.png (79.92 KiB) Viewed 467 times
Offline
User avatar

okiewardoyo

  • Posts: 784
  • Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 4:01 am
  • Real Name: Okie Eko Wardoyo

Re: Text box for long text

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 7:38 am

Does this very basic thing exist in latest 18.6.5 version? I have not upgrade yet. Thanks.
Begin using Resolve in Mon May 02, 2022.
All of Software in the world are just tools. No perfect Software. Use it if it works for you.
Resolve 18.6 | Raizen 7, 40Gb Ram, RTX 3060, Win 11
Offline
User avatar

Stephen Dixon

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 9:51 am

no it doesn't.
Offline

Mario69Rossi

  • Posts: 172
  • Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:11 am
  • Real Name: Mario Rossi

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 11:49 am

Let's hope for DR 19!
DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.6.5
MacBook Pro M1 (2020) | 16GB ram | 1TB SSD
macOS Sonoma 14.4
Offline
User avatar

okiewardoyo

  • Posts: 784
  • Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 4:01 am
  • Real Name: Okie Eko Wardoyo

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 5:18 pm

Stephen Dixon wrote:no it doesn't.

Thanks. @peter and his team never make this very basic thing prioritized. :D
Begin using Resolve in Mon May 02, 2022.
All of Software in the world are just tools. No perfect Software. Use it if it works for you.
Resolve 18.6 | Raizen 7, 40Gb Ram, RTX 3060, Win 11
Offline

Bengt Sloman

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Text box for long text

PostThu Mar 21, 2024 10:00 am

+1 for the Textbox feature !
Win 11 Pro, Davinci 18.6.4, 12900K, 64 DDR5, RTX 3090 MSI,
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mickmeister, panos_mts and 125 guests