Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mixolydian

  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 11:53 pm
  • Location: Planet Earth
  • Real Name: Sebastian Alvarez

Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 12:05 am

Is there a way to make the polygon lines and handles larger? I have searched online, this forum, and I went up and down the Fusion settings inside Resolve to find anything that would be related to it, but no dice. I'm using Fusion for some VFX and my eyes are really strained from it. I mean, most of the time I can barely see or not at all the different points I set along the mask.

This is just a quick example but it's not even the worst one. Many time I have to get my eyes really close to the monitor.

Screenshot 2024-04-02 at 19.50.58.png
Screenshot 2024-04-02 at 19.50.58.png (556.61 KiB) Viewed 605 times


What did I miss here? It's hard for me to believe that nobody has any trouble using masks in Fusion. I don't know if the Studio version of Fusion has that ability, but if that's the case, then Fusion inside Resolve is not that great to use if gives you headaches all the time.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 3074
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 2:08 am

You can change the color, but I don't think you can change the size.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.6.6| Fusion Studio 18.6.6

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

Mixolydian

  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 11:53 pm
  • Location: Planet Earth
  • Real Name: Sebastian Alvarez

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 2:27 am

xunile wrote:You can change the color, but I don't think you can change the size.


Sorry, you think, or you know for sure it doesn't?
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 3074
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 3:10 am

Used it for over 6 years now, I think you can't.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.6.6| Fusion Studio 18.6.6

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

Mixolydian

  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 11:53 pm
  • Location: Planet Earth
  • Real Name: Sebastian Alvarez

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 3:15 am

xunile wrote:Used it for over 6 years now, I think you can't.


Ok, and just to be clear, are you talking about Fusion Studio, or Fusion Resolve?
Offline
User avatar

CUBuffskier

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:39 pm
  • Location: NYC
  • Real Name: Chadwick Shoults

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 9:37 am

No there isn’t. But you need to see the image under anyways and a thicker line would cover that up. For precision work you’ll zoom far in to perfect the placement. The sub view also has a magnifier for your cursor.

You also don’t need to click on those tangent vertices. Instead hold option or alt when your cursor is near it and drag.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chadwick Shoults
CreativeVideoTips.com

Resolve Studio 18.0.1 Build3
Apple M1 Max Macbook Pro, 64GB RAM, 24 Core GPU, 2TB SSD, 24" LG Ultrafine, 3G Ultrastudio, Speed Editor
Offline

Mixolydian

  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 11:53 pm
  • Location: Planet Earth
  • Real Name: Sebastian Alvarez

Re: Fusion under Resolve mask lines too thin

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 5:30 pm

CUBuffskier wrote:No there isn’t. But you need to see the image under anyways and a thicker line would cover that up. For precision work you’ll zoom far in to perfect the placement. The sub view also has a magnifier for your cursor.

You also don’t need to click on those tangent vertices. Instead hold option or alt when your cursor is near it and drag.


A really thick line would cover that up. I just want a line that I can see without getting really close to the monitor. Same for the tangent vertices, you need to see them, and the problem is that even when you zoom in the frame, those elements don't get any larger, so if what you're trying to mask is vegetation for example, that's a problem.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], nycetech, Peter Chamberlain, steveusesDR, Uli Plank and 127 guests