Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostTue Apr 16, 2024 5:36 pm

Good day everyone,

while using Resolve already many months, still learning so bear with me.

I am used to always modify my user interface on two monitors but found to be very hard to do in Resolve


Question two. Is there any way to modify volume keys on my keyboard to act as a single frame slider?

Question three.
Is there UI to delete optimized files? I find it weird that I have to go to cache folder and delete them manually, eventually having some regenerate again

TIA!
Joli
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30825
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostWed Apr 17, 2024 11:17 pm

The Resolve GUI is more fixed than something like Avid or Premiere Pro.

Not quite following on Q2.

Optimized Media is available to all projects in the Library. That's why it has to be done outside of Resolve.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostWed Apr 17, 2024 11:24 pm

Thank you for reply Jim,

Q2, many keyboards have a volume slider or buttons, i would like to map it to the frame slider to go back and forth on the timeline or in player

I see... still some GUI to delete it would be nice. Or at least to check if the optimized media is available for given video.
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30825
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostWed Apr 17, 2024 11:32 pm

Joliette wrote:map it to the frame slider
Yeah, what is that?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostWed Apr 17, 2024 11:35 pm

jog dial or how is it called?
Attachments
jogdial.jpg
jogdial.jpg (13.53 KiB) Viewed 843 times
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 22153
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostThu Apr 18, 2024 4:12 am

– A little symbol will tell you if there are proxies for your original media.
Optimised Media are not the same, and they are pretty difficult to identify. I'd suggest using proxies if your hardware forces you to do so.
– I doubt you can remap the volume buttons, they may be 'hardwired' by the system.
But both the arrow keys and the JKL keys can move you around. If you need something more comfortable, get a Speed Editor.
– The GUI is less flexible than others, but as soon as 19 is out of beta, you'll have a few more options.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostSun Apr 21, 2024 3:33 pm

thank you.
My hardware is fairly fine, just have really lot of footage and optimized media is taking a lot of space. I do not need it once i release the video so is just sitting there never to be used again.
I like the optimized media because it keeps quality and just is way faster to navigate. Proxies also delete lot of content from log files so color correction is never the same.
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 22153
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 1:17 am

Well, then you can use optimized media just fine and kill it outside of DR when finished.
But what about using cache? It seems to get better now in 19, so once that’s final you may be able to drop the use of optimized media. Cache can be cleaned up from inside DR.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 4:18 pm

Thank you for trying to help! I appreciate it.

Well first i would need to understand difference between proxy, optimized media and cache properly.

I found my self optimized media to be easiest to understand so i use them and all i miss is to click somewhere, select what i want to delete and delete them instead of deleting everything, then generating again for my favorite files (like intros).
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30825
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:35 pm

Joliette wrote:optimized media...keeps quality
Proxy has the option of DNxHR 444, which is better than any camera not shooting RAW can do. Do you really better than that?

Proxies also delete lot of content from log files
Huh?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Joliette

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:10 pm
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Joliette Smt

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:40 pm

yes you are right if i use same setting for proxies like optimized media, i might do same. I just went with default settings. somehow found always proxies to be worse quality whatever i tried so never really seen reason (except the missing deleting gui) to use anything else than optimized media.

by deleting content from log files i meant that when you convert videos in 10bit C-Log color space to some smaller size, you cannot really grade color properly. But the DNxHR would obviously solve it.
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30825
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:42 pm

Probably. Test it out, see how it works for you. ;)
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

Paul Fisher

  • Posts: 281
  • Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 11:09 pm

Joliette wrote:Good day everyone,

while using Resolve already many months, still learning so bear with me.

I am used to always modify my user interface on two monitors but found to be very hard to do in Resolve


Question two. Is there any way to modify volume keys on my keyboard to act as a single frame slider?

Question three.
Is there UI to delete optimized files? I find it weird that I have to go to cache folder and delete them manually, eventually having some regenerate again

TIA!
Joli



Yes, the lack of UI customization is a signature of DVR. You just have to make do. This will never change.
WORK MACHINE:
MacBook Pro 16-inch, 2021
Apple M1 Max 64 GB - Sonoma 14
2 TB Glyph and other thunderbolt SSDs

PERSONAL MACHINE:
MacBook Pro 16-inch, 2021
Apple M1 Max 64 GB - Sonoma 14
4 TB internal SSD
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 22153
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Modifying User Interface, Optimized Files and more

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 2:34 am

Well, it seems to me that BM is kind of leaving optimised media behind, aiming more and more at a distributed workflow based on their cloud and proxies. Finally, there is caching. If things are getting slow, or your dives are filling up, there might be the wrong codec chosen.
You can set the codec for all three in your project settings and decide to re-use already rendered stuff when going to deliver.
I use these for most footage, on a PC it would be DNxHR HQ or HQX at a similar data rate and quality:
Bildschirmfoto 2024-04-23 um 09.32.19.png
Bildschirmfoto 2024-04-23 um 09.32.19.png (62.88 KiB) Viewed 406 times
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baryaakov555, canpoyrazoglu, Google [Bot], hansinla, Jim Simon, retrosenescent and 180 guests