Sound after rendering bad

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Sound after rendering bad

PostSun Apr 21, 2024 7:35 pm

Hello, I'm having trouble with the sound.
I mixed sound files from a mixer, which sounded quite good, but unfortunately a bit too muffled. I helped a bit with the equalizer and dynamics, now it sounds perfect in the timeline. After rendering everything is as dull as before. What am I doing wrong. It doesn't seem to reflect the changes when rendering.
Greetings Jürgen
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30857
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostSun Apr 21, 2024 7:40 pm

Are you exporting Single file, or Individual files?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 5:55 am

Hello Jim,

I tried both. The result is bad for both.
I have an external sound card "Behringer U-Phoria UMC22

Best regards
Jurgen
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 6:20 am

Are you outputting Timeline Tracks or Busses as the Deliver page Output Track?

Timeline menu > Bounce Mix to Track
Does the deliverable match the Timeline repro?
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:17 am

Hello Reynaud,

Bounce Mix to Track is grayed out.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:35 am

Please switch to the Fairlight Timeline.

If the menu item is still greyed out, click within the Timeline to focus.
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 8:29 am

Everything is set, after rendering unfortunately the same bad result
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 8:40 am

Are you printing the same source as you are monitoring?

Do the source Sum and print Track levels match?
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 10:11 am

Sory, I don't know English and have to translate with Translater.
What exactly do you mean, the original files were dragged to the timeline via the media library and there are only 2 tracks. Video and sound. I processed the sound with dynamics and EQ. After rendering, I have the sound as if it were unedited.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 10:14 am

Are you monitoring the bounce on the Fairlight Timeline or via an external application?
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 10:50 am

Fairlight-Timeline
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 10:59 am

Can you please audition the Fairlight bounce in an external application and confirm that the bounce matches the source (pre-DSP).
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 11:38 am

what does that mean, fairlight bounce
Unfortunately, I'm not that deep into Fairlight yet.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 11:45 am

The file that was produced via the Timeline menu > Bounce Mix to Track command.

Locate the file via the Media Pool and open Windows Explorer or navigate to the Capture folder:
Resolve Project Settings > Capture and Playback > Capture > Save Clips to
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 1:22 pm

Thanks for the tip, the source agrees, but the heights are a bit missing here. So it's a bit duller than in the timeline.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 1:54 pm

Unfortunately not reproducing any difference between the Fairlight Timeline and deliverables on either macOS or Windows systems.
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 2:58 pm

So, now I've learned what bouncing is, but does anyone have an idea why Davinci Resolve 19 Beta doesn't output the sound quality that can be heard in the timeline.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6442
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:02 pm

I do not have any issues with the audio here when I either bounce a track or render the video.
Can I make a suggestion. Remove the U-phoria and try a render using the internal soundcard. These are my settings for the built in Reatek audio.
Audio Setup in Preferences.jpg
Audio Setup in Preferences.jpg (99.7 KiB) Viewed 1138 times
Now does the audio sound the same as the timeline? If so then the U-phoria is suspect.
Resolve Studio 19.0b3 build 33
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 7:56 pm

Thanks for the info, but I don't have an internal sound card. The audio interface is my system audio.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6442
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostMon Apr 22, 2024 8:16 pm

It would be very unusual for your computer to not have system audio built in. It's not an actual card but a chip on the motherboard.
Do you not see this in Device Manager?
Attachments
Device Manager.jpg
Device Manager.jpg (44.82 KiB) Viewed 1080 times
Resolve Studio 19.0b3 build 33
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 8:30 am

Hello Charles,

the problem seems to lie somewhere else. If I can listen to the timeline correctly via my audio interface, the sound via my external sound card to my studio speakers is ok.
Otherwise I would hear a bad sound.
But it's only bad after rendering.
If I bounce the sound track into a new track, the sound is much better. Just not when rendering. In my opinion, this cannot be due to whichever sound card it is.
Either I have incorrect render settings in the sound, but there isn't much that can be set incorrectly, or the problem lies with the basic settings, it seems as if all the changes made subsequently in Davinci Fairlight are simply ignored during rendering.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 8:45 am

Jürgen Weissgerber wrote:Either I have incorrect render settings in the sound, but there isn't much that can be set incorrectly, or the problem lies with the basic settings
What are your render settings?

Are you rendering to lossy audio (e.g. MP4 and AAC which will introduce compression artefacts) or uncompressed LPCM?

If outputting to a lossy codec, are you leaving at least 0.5dB headroom to account for the lossy codec with a Limiter on the Programme Bus?
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 8:52 am

The video in mp4 and the sound in AAC, but so far there has been no difference in rendering.
Unfortunately, I don't really know much about sound. You mean I should render in LPCM? I don't care about the size of the final file, it should be the best result.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 5129
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 8:59 am

Render to LPCM and confirm if the quality of the deliverable improves.
Ensure that your levels are not exceeding full scale digital.
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 10:18 am

Sorry, what format do I have to change to in order for LPCM to be selectable?
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 11:59 am

OK, I found it, unfortunately even with Linear PCM everything is dull without any fine highs.

Could this be due to the BETA version of davinci 19?
I've never had anything like this before and I've already edited a few music videos.
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6442
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 3:21 pm

Jurgen, I'm having no problem with audio in 19 Studio beta. Though I normally render in h265 with LPCM audio, I've just done a test render to MP4 h264 with AAC audio. When played in VLC and Windows Media Player the quality of the audio matches that of the audio in the timeline.
Without being able see your settings in Resolve and hear what you are hearing it's impossible to diagnose the problem.
The only way I know to not include any added FX when you render is to have Individual Clips highlighted on the render page instead of Single Clip. Individual Clips bypasses any FX you have added and renders the original audio.
Resolve Studio 19.0b3 build 33
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

Jürgen Weissgerber

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:29 am
  • Location: 76694 Forst, Baden
  • Real Name: Jürgen Weissgerber

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostWed Apr 24, 2024 8:38 am

Hello Charles,

Your objection about individual clips is very interesting.
Since it's going to be a music video, I rendered it to individual clips each time. That must be the problem.
I have now selected individual, i.e. total and only one clip for rendering, now it works. Crazy, how do you come up with something like that? This is not explained anywhere. This will happen to other people too. Hidden trap.
However, I bounced the original track as a second track and then rendered it as a single file. I don't know yet whether it's ok with the original track.

Thank you, the problem is solved.

P.S.
I've now tested this with the original track and it works there too.
With the German language version, I could have realized that you have to tick the Render timeline effects box. Since I don't speak English, I overlooked this until now.
But why do you have to tick a box for this? Isn't it obvious that you want to render your changes?
best regards
Jürgen Weissgerber

Hardware:
CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF.
Grafik: NVIDIA Ge Force RTX 4090.
RAM: 64 GB DDR5 SDRAM
SSD: V-NAND-SSD 970 EVO Plus NVNe M.2 2 TB.
SSD: 870-8TB
Windows 11
Davinci Resolve Version Studio 19 BETA
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6442
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sound after rendering bad

PostWed Apr 24, 2024 11:51 am

Single Clip is the normal selection to use when rendering the timeline. The Individual Clips render setting is intended for round trip workflows. There is an option on the render page when Individual Clips is selected to include timeline effects.
Attachments
Include FX in Individual Clips.jpg
Include FX in Individual Clips.jpg (39.73 KiB) Viewed 607 times
Resolve Studio 19.0b3 build 33
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: panos_mts and 124 guests