Vector Graphics??

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

John Litwinowicz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:29 pm

Vector Graphics??

PostTue Nov 21, 2017 8:40 pm

I'm working on a video in which I would like to include a logo I've designed—the logo is in Adobe Illustrator format—and I'm wondering how to use this in DaVinci Resolve...? It doesn't seem to recognize .ai or .svg files... Do I have to use Fusion to integrate this somehow? I've tried exporting a ridiculously over-sized raster version of the logo from Illustrator as .png with transparency as a workaround to use in Resolve, but testing how it renders yields less-than-desirable results—super poor anti-aliasing :( I tried .tiff as well but the transparency doesn't seem to be recognized... is there some setting I can change that would fix this if nothing can be done about vector formats? I would like very much to use actual vector graphics in this video as the logo is an integral part of the branding... does anybody know how to do this in DaVinci Resolve/Fusion or do I have to look for other software that can accomplish this?

any help is appreciated
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 662
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 3:44 am

I wish...
svg or eps would be fantastic.

my 2c
DR 16.2.7.008 Studio, 2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, 2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram, GTX 1080Ti 11GB graphics card.
USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card, SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements panel, FSI DM240
Offline

John Litwinowicz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostSat Nov 25, 2017 4:46 am

:/
I'm honestly bamboozled as to how a program could be such an "industry standard" if it doesn't have native support for other industry-standard formats... If there's no way to integrate vector graphics into a video project, that is a TREMENDOUS gaping hole in the functionality...
Offline

John Litwinowicz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostSat Nov 25, 2017 5:21 am

Jack Swart wrote:I wish...
svg or eps would be fantastic.

my 2c


off to a great start so far lol... (sigh)
I would find it so hard to believe that such an "industry standard" of a program could be lacking ANY way to integrate other industry-standard file formats...
Offline

Kyle R Lancaster

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:40 pm
  • Real Name: Kyle R Lancaster

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Aug 23, 2018 1:02 pm

Does anyone know if this functionality has been added? I'm coming from Premiere and I really miss the ability to drop most graphics and logos right into the timeline
KYLE R LANCASTER
gigantic film co
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7473
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Aug 23, 2018 1:15 pm

Premiere has it's strength in illustration and graphics, since that's where Adobe's roots are.

But you can import SVG into Fusion (Menu>Import>SVG).
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9520
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Aug 23, 2018 2:16 pm

John Litwinowicz wrote:I'm honestly bamboozled as to how a program could be such an "industry standard" if it doesn't have native support for other industry-standard formats


Adobe's own Premiere Pro will rasterize Vector graphics upon Import.

Vector graphics just aren't used all that much in video production. They're designed more for print work where the deliverables vary greatly in resolution.
Offline

rsf123

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 3:05 pm
  • Real Name: Roger Smith

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu May 23, 2019 1:58 am

As suggested above, I found the SVG import. It is in the FUSUION pulldown menu / Import / SVG.

So I imported a SVG file, and cannot see where the SVG file appears. I assumed it would be placed in the media pool, but it is not there. Where is it?

How come SVG files can't simply be dragged and dropped into the media pool like other image files?

You say vector graphics are not often used in videos, but for 4K videos - where we do not want to see rastering of lines, why aren't vector graphics used?

I ask these questions (and I'd appreciate answers) because I have to add a lot of shapes made out of line drawings into my videos. It is so easy to create these drawings in a drawing software, and add them in as graphic files, whereas doing them in Fusion adds a massive layer of complexity. So I thought vector graphics would be ideal to show the lines of the drawings cleanly - but you're saying vector graphics are not used much? Why? I want to avoid the dotty appearance of bit-mapped images.
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 856
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu May 23, 2019 6:38 pm

rsf123 wrote:You say vector graphics are not often used in videos, but for 4K videos - where we do not want to see rastering of lines, why aren't vector graphics used?


Vector graphics have to be rasterized for display on a screen at some point. It may be done by Illustrator, Photoshop, Premiere, or even Resolve if it could open vector graphics. The point is they have to be rasterized, and whether you see aliasing in the lines depends on how this process is accomplished by the software.

It's not that if you import vector graphics into an NLE the thin diagonal lines will magically be clean and smooth.

Photoshop will do a very fine job if you rasterize at a larger image size and scale down to your actual timeline raster size. You can play with different scaling algorithms and do additional blur to smooth out the lines. Generally, thin lines do not look good on screen especially if moving.

If you're seeing artifacts in Resolve verify the clip premultiplication setting is correct (if there is an alpha channel).
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

ShutterlabCreative

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:45 am
  • Real Name: Michael Garske

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostSun Dec 15, 2019 8:54 pm

As someone coming from Adobe, I use vector-based graphics in virtually every project. Having to manually resize a raster graphic based on output seems inefficient and antiquated to me. I'll make a request for drag and drop support to be added since vector graphics are one of the most common types of media used for me. Being new to Resolve, I'm surprised this isn't a supported feature.
Studio 16.2.1
LAPTOP- Win10 Home - i7-9750H@2.6GHz -- 64GB RAM
- RTX2070 8Gb v442.92
- System - 1Tb NVMe - Work Drive external Gtech 2Tb
DESKTOP- Win10 Pro - i7 - 64GB RAM
- GTX 1080 8Gb x2
- System - Crucial 1Tb - Work Drive Hitachi 10Tb 7200
Offline

InterrobangMP

  • Posts: 156
  • Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:50 am
  • Real Name: Paul Rayner

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostSun Dec 15, 2019 10:53 pm

rsf123 wrote:As suggested above, I found the SVG import. It is in the FUSUION pulldown menu / Import / SVG.

So I imported a SVG file, and cannot see where the SVG file appears. I assumed it would be placed in the media pool, but it is not there. Where is it?


I have this same issue. But in 15.3 you have no option to specifically import an svg. When you go to the import dialog svg files are not greyed out, which would say to me that they are accepted in Fusion. But once I click on an svg to import it, it does not appear in the media pool.

How does one get it there?
Hackintosh iMac 19.2
Core i9 9900k - Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
16x2 Gb 2666 mHz
Sapphine Radeon Pulse RX 580
OSX 10.14.5 - Resolve 15.3.1.003
Offline

Sean Cusson

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:24 pm
  • Real Name: Sean Cusson

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 4:35 pm

So I've just run in to this issue myself. The common Davinci user answer seems to be "convert to a png" or "why do you need vector?" which just points out Davinci's apparent inexperience will full-on motion graphics work. The SVG import option is there but man, what a mess it makes on import. Every single stroke in the illustrator file is brought in as a separate node. I've got a full scene in Illustrator with over 100 layers and Fusion doesn't seem to know what the hell to do with it. Constant crashing. At this point I'm assuming it can only handle "simple" vector work and I should likely stick with After Effects to do any real vector motion graphic stuff which is disappointing because I really liked it's potential
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 1639
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 5:36 pm

Although it is always nice to have new feature and functionality added, vector graphics is the least important to narrative and broadcast producers and more important to commercial producers who needs motion graphics in their line of work. I think it is obvious that Resolve is catering towards narrative/broadcast more so that their focus in is providing enough functionality that will allow the import of vector graphics (svg) and raster it suitable enough for narrative/broadcast delivery.

If you need fine control of your graphics, then stay with Adobe product for now. Maybe someday Resolve will have the capability to do what Adobe does best (graphics work) and time for it. Why try to put a round peg in a square hole after all?
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 64Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 2Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 14Tb 7200rpm HDD Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 16.2.1
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 788
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostThu Feb 13, 2020 7:52 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Vector graphics just aren't used all that much in video production. They're designed more for print work where the deliverables vary greatly in resolution.


Uhhh...no.

Vector graphics are heavily used in video production, at least in commercial work where you're working with advertising agencies who are constantly futzing around with the size of logos, supers, disclaimers, etc. right down to the last minute.

But in fairness, although Premiere does allow you to import vector graphics, they don't retain infinite scalability once imported into Premiere, because they are rasterized on import. Only After Effects really does a good job with this, which is the reason why I still rely on AE for doing type, supers and graphics work for commercial projects.

That said, Resolve really does need to at least import and rasterize .AI/.EPS vector files at a bare minimum, without forcing you to use SVG's in the Fusion page.
Resolve Studio 16.2.6.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.6) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.14.6, 3.5 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / COMPUTE+GUI: AMD Radeon VII / ATTO NT11 10GbE / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline

Chris Theofanopoulos

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:06 am
  • Location: Greece
  • Real Name: Christos Theofanopoulos

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 1:24 pm

You can import svg files at fusion tab
Fusion/Import/SVG...


Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019)
intel i9
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 788
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Vector Graphics??

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 5:15 pm

Chris Theofanopoulos wrote:You can import svg files at fusion tab
Fusion/Import/SVG...


Correct. As I mentioned.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Resolve Studio 16.2.6.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.6) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.14.6, 3.5 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / COMPUTE+GUI: AMD Radeon VII / ATTO NT11 10GbE / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gary Hango, Jack Fairley and 63 guests