Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

KllpDreams

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 9:46 pm
  • Real Name: Cameron Jones

Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 12:35 am

With Davinci Resolve, every time I use the 'Place on top' shortcut, there's like a 50% chance it crashes Davinci Resolve. I've tried changing the key-bind multiple times and it still continues to crash.

I had this issue in 16, but in 16 you could drag a selected clip over the timeline and select the "place on top" option, which was good enough for me. Now that that feature no longer exists and the key-bind continues to crash the application, I'm in a bit of a bind for how to deal with this.

Dragging clips to the timeline manually this way does work, but it doesn't automatically fit to the in-out space I have selected, and I have to manually drag the clips to fit every time, which gets old very fast.

Is this a known issues? Is there any way around this? I use this feature a lot when editing and it is making editing take way longer than normal due to crashes or having to manually drag every time.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 16202
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 5:59 pm

What page are you working on?
Offline

KllpDreams

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 9:46 pm
  • Real Name: Cameron Jones

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 10:59 pm

I'm working on the "edit" page. Specifically, I'm trying to drag preset text boxes from the media pool over the video, and using the "place on top" keybind to do so is causing continuous crashing
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1574
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostTue Mar 16, 2021 2:49 am

Hi Cameron

Please refer to the FAQs on what info to include when reporting an issue.

Additionally, please create a diagnostic log archive from the Help menu, upload to a file sharing site and share a downloadable URL for us to examine. Consider including spaces to break up the URL if the forum does not allow you to post URLs.

Thanks
Shrinivas
Offline

Rohit Singhal

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 574
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:07 am

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostTue Mar 16, 2021 2:52 am

Can you check if this issue is specific to a project for you? If it is, please send it to us. Also please shoot a video/ screen recording of the issue happening so we know how to reproduce your issue here.
Rohit Singhal
DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

warlockuk

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:21 pm
  • Real Name: Paul Brown

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 7:33 pm

I have this in the cut page on both Mac and PC; I have a timeline with two audio channels and about six video channels. I can punch in and out to mark a piece and as soon as I press smart insert, append, place on top....bang.
CPU: i9 9900K / M1 Macbook Pro
Memory: 32 GB DDR4 / 16Gb
GFX: RTX2070 / Onboard M1 GPU
OS: Win 10, 64 bit / MacOS Big Sur
Audio: Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 Gen 2 / Onboard/USB audio (on Mac)
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.1.1
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1574
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 6:21 am

Hi Paul

A link to a diagnostic log archive would help. Instructions in my post above.

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline

warlockuk

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:21 pm
  • Real Name: Paul Brown

Re: Crashing with "Place on top" shortcut.

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 7:22 am

Hi, I don't have one to hand, but I can probably can provide a sample project that is small and reproduces the issue every time.

It seems the issue is with an audio channel I had which caused it to get confused and explode. I created a new timeline with just a voiceover in it and some markers and got the job done. I'll try and package a crashable archive up today. Audio in resolve seems to be the bane of my life, between this and Fairlight being unable to record without digital noise or dropout artefacts.
CPU: i9 9900K / M1 Macbook Pro
Memory: 32 GB DDR4 / 16Gb
GFX: RTX2070 / Onboard M1 GPU
OS: Win 10, 64 bit / MacOS Big Sur
Audio: Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 Gen 2 / Onboard/USB audio (on Mac)
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.1.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Evans, atmosfar, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], John Griffin, radicalpoet and 102 guests