Audio codec mp4a not supported?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 4:06 pm

Hi,
I have a video with this audio codec:
Audio
ID : 2
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 3
Codec ID : mp4a-6B
Duration : 11 min 15 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 135 kb/s
Channel(s) : 1 channel
Sampling rate : 44.1 kHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 10.9 MiB (9%)
Encoded date : UTC 2021-05-03 19:29:18
Tagged date : UTC 2021-05-03 19:40:41


But DR Studio 17.1.1 seems not to recognize it, the video is mute.
Is it not supposed to be mp4a codec supported by DR?
Thanks
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Offline

jhoepffner

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:43 am
  • Location: Paris
  • Real Name: Jacques Hoepffner

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 4:49 pm

to my knowledge, its m4a, not mp4a, are you sure of the suffix?
W10 / Ryzen7 3800X / nVidia 3090 / RAM 64 / DVR-Fusion Studio 17.1 / SSD 2To / raid 0 32 To
MSI G65 / W10 / RAM 32 / nVidia 1070 / Intel Core i7-8750H / DVR Studio 17.1
MBP 15" (2012) / OS 10.14.6 / RAM 16 / nVidia 650M / Intell i7 / DVR Studio 17.1
Online

smunaut

  • Posts: 353
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 5:41 pm

Also depends on the OS ...
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1731
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 5:42 pm

fran.m wrote:Is it not supposed to be mp4a codec supported by DR?
mp4a-6B is the MPEG Audio Layer 3 codec (an "MP3") but used in an .mp4 container. That would be rather unusual in modern cameras. Maybe provide a sample so the developers can take a look.
jhoepffner wrote:to my knowledge, its m4a, not mp4a, are you sure of the suffix?
mp4a isn't a filename suffix in this case, it's the audio codec (.m4a on the other hand is a container and used as a filename suffix when applicable).
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 8:15 pm

jhoepffner wrote:to my knowledge, its m4a, not mp4a, are you sure of the suffix?


maybe you are right, the DR docs say it supports m4a, but nothing about mp4a
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 8:18 pm

roger.magnusson wrote:
fran.m wrote:Is it not supposed to be mp4a codec supported by DR?
mp4a-6B is the MPEG Audio Layer 3 codec (an "MP3") but used in an .mp4 container. That would be rather unusual in modern cameras. Maybe provide a sample so the developers can take a look.
jhoepffner wrote:to my knowledge, its m4a, not mp4a, are you sure of the suffix?
mp4a isn't a filename suffix in this case, it's the audio codec (.m4a on the other hand is a container and used as a filename suffix when applicable).


Do you mean to submit a sample to the support team?
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1731
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostTue May 04, 2021 9:58 pm

I mean post a link here to a sample file. Managers/developers regularly read this forum.
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 1:44 pm

This is a 10 seconds sample of the vid:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vzYpFFan9u-RU4RSElwVHQ68o_jByQwz/view?usp=sharing

By the way, I am using DR Studio 17.1.1 Build 9 on a Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon system.
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1731
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 3:12 pm

The audio in the sample file doesn't work in Resolve Studio 17.1.1 on Windows 10 or macOS 11.3 either.
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 6:11 pm

The Blackmagic team will fix it or do I have to convert it?
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Online

smunaut

  • Posts: 353
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 6:39 pm

Even if they get to it, don't expect it soon ... it might take months for a fix to make it into a release, so I'd just extract the audio track (without conversion) into a separate file.
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline

jhoepffner

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:43 am
  • Location: Paris
  • Real Name: Jacques Hoepffner

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 6:59 pm

Hello,
I downloaded your clip.
It doesnt play as it in Kyno or DVR.
description in Kyno:
H.264 (High, L 5.2), 1662 x 1170, 1.42:1, 24p, 245.3 kbit/s
AAC, 48 kHz, 1.0 Mono, 249.72 kbit/s
Strange resolution and strange description (L 5.2)
I think its comming from Capture Software, very bad codec... You need to transcode it.
I transcoded it with Shutter Encoder (free software) to h264 and now it play smoothly in Kyno and DVR
W10 / Ryzen7 3800X / nVidia 3090 / RAM 64 / DVR-Fusion Studio 17.1 / SSD 2To / raid 0 32 To
MSI G65 / W10 / RAM 32 / nVidia 1070 / Intel Core i7-8750H / DVR Studio 17.1
MBP 15" (2012) / OS 10.14.6 / RAM 16 / nVidia 650M / Intell i7 / DVR Studio 17.1
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 8:18 pm

I did the video with Kazam capture desktop, but it is outdated, I will not use it again. I am gonna try Sutter Encoder
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon
Offline

fran.m

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:15 am
  • Real Name: Fran Meneu

Re: Audio codec mp4a not supported?

PostWed May 05, 2021 8:33 pm

I used Shutter Encoder to transcode it, it did not work to h264, but I extracted the track audio to a WAV file and it worked!
Now I have two files, one for the vid and another for the audio, and it is ok for me, thanks all for your help.
I hope DR supports more codecs in the future.
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 32GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chaneyvfx, cyberphile, Google [Bot], Lit_Reflex, MagdielM, Rogurt, Thomas Lombard, Timothy Clark and 132 guests