Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostTue May 04, 2021 2:05 pm

Hey,

I know this topic has been previously discussed (I read some of the posts here) but I'm still not sure I got it right and would appreciate the word of experts.

I'm working on an old machine with the following specs:
Macbook Pro (mid-2012), 2.6GHz Intel Core i7. 8 GB ram.
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GT 650M 1GB, Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536MB
I have Resolve 14 installed and create proxy files in optimized media before I do any edit. Working with an external monitor.

A couple of days ago I upgraded from High Sierra to Mojave because of calibration software (system requirement Mojave or later). Then I realized that CUDA is not supported anymore. I managed to find a workaround for the Nvidia Web Driver - but not the CUDA. When I open Resolve I don't get any error message - it seems to be working as usual.

Now if I got it right, CUDA is the accelerator and it's crucial for Resolve which is GPU-based. If I'm doing basic editing and color correction - taking into account that this is a very old setup - how much difference does the CUDA really make? Does the Intel HD Graphic take part in the GPU as well? I'm a bit reluctant to go back to High Sierra (I'm afraid the Nvidia driver won't work etc.,) but will do it if it's recommended.
I have very little knowledge when it comes to GPU, so please forgive any inaccuracies or wrong use of terminology.

Thanks a lot.

- Yaron
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostTue May 04, 2021 3:22 pm

neither webdriver or CUDA work with mojave

and the web driver also not under highsierra with the nvidia GPU installed by apple.
there were some beta versions for the macbookpro, but they never really did anything.


.
Last edited by Mark Foster on Tue May 04, 2021 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC 6k pro (7.3.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.2.1
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostTue May 04, 2021 3:29 pm

Mark Foster wrote:neither webdriver or CUDA work with mojave

and the web driver also not under highsierra with the nvidia GPU installed by apple


.


Hi Mark,
Thanks for your reply.
Do you think I should downgrade?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostTue May 04, 2021 3:39 pm

no, does not bring much
in your place I would save up for the second generation of the apple silicon!
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC 6k pro (7.3.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.2.1
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostTue May 04, 2021 3:47 pm

Mark Foster wrote:no, does not bring much
in your place I would save up for the second generation of the apple silicon!

Yes, that's the plan - but it can take some time, a few months at least, and I need to finish some editing. I do notice slower performance now in Resolve - it's almost impossible to work
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10470
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostWed May 05, 2021 12:19 am

Forget CUDA, don't mess with the drivers, and set it to Metal manually. Then use a timeline in small HD (1280x720).
Metal should be supported since it's an original GPU used by Apple.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostWed May 05, 2021 11:04 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Forget CUDA, don't mess with the drivers, and set it to Metal manually. Then use a timeline in small HD (1280x720).
Metal should be supported since it's an original GPU used by Apple.

Hi Uli,
Thanks for your reply. Sounds interesting. I've never heard about Metal - I tried to google it...Is it something that requires coding/programming? How do I run it?
I found:
https://developer.apple.com/metal/
There's only this thing to download https://developer.apple.com/download/ (doesn't look like GPU)
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10470
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostThu May 06, 2021 1:07 am

Nothing to download, it's part of the OS in recent versions. Mojave is fully supporting it, just activate it in the prefs in DR.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostThu May 06, 2021 9:09 am

Uli Plank wrote:Nothing to download, it's part of the OS in recent versions. Mojave is fully supporting it, just activate it in the prefs in DR.


Thanks a lot, Uli, it worked! I'm so happy, honestly.

1) Is there a reason why I shouldn't uninstall CUDA now? It's not supported anyway on Mojave - not just for DR but for all other apps, right?

2) About your second suggestion: If I'm working with 4K footage (optimized to proxies, 1/4 res) and my end result is HD. Just to make sure I got it - I set the timeline to 720p, then - before exporting - I change the resolution of the timeline to 1080p, then go to the Export tab and export it 1080p (this way it doesn't upscale: for example if I had a timeline set to 720p and then go to the export tab and just change the settings there to 1080p - without changing the timeline resolution first). Is that right?

THANKS!
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10470
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostThu May 06, 2021 1:00 pm

Both correct. Get rid of CUDa and set the timeline to target resolution before rendering.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

Yaron Sokolov

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Need advice on CUDA in Mojave

PostThu May 06, 2021 3:09 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Both correct. Get rid of CUDa and set the timeline to target resolution before rendering.

Thanks for your help, Uli, it's been really useful.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], danielstonehouse, Google Feedfetcher, hansinla, Mads Johansen, Mylonas Films and 68 guests