Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later? Why?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

cschneider

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:52 pm
  • Real Name: Christian Schneider

Speed Editor / Keyboard System Requirements

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 1:21 am

Dear all,

really cool features! Downloaded the beta and will test it out. I am wondering, the system requirements on Mac are 10.14.6 (Mojave), while the requirements for all hardware is 10.15. So with a Cheesegrate Mac 5,1 (Mid 2010), I can run DR but not use any hardware as I am not able to upgrade to Catalina?

Thank you and best
Christian
Resolve 17.1 (Studio)
MacPro 5,1 6-core | 32 GB RAM | Sapphire Radeon RX 570 | 1 TB M.2 SSD (system) | 512 GB SSD (Video Footage)
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later? Why?

PostThu May 06, 2021 10:57 am

Dear all,

I'm using mac 10.14.6, has anyone tried it on this system?
DaVinci Resolve 17.1.1 works. Why isn't the keyboard working?

Thank you and best
Alexander
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 1115
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostThu May 06, 2021 5:44 pm

You can actually install Catalina on a 5,1. You just need to run a patch to do so


https://sonnettech.com/support/download ... _MP5,1.pdf


While this works, I’d actually recommend using OpenCore EFI as the boot loader for technically unsupported setups like this, as it gives you a proper boot picker and boot screens for unflashed GPUs.
Resolve Studio 16.2.7.010 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.6) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.14.6, 3.5 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / COMPUTE+GUI: AMD Radeon VII / ATTO NT11 10GbE / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostThu May 06, 2021 6:04 pm

Mel Matsuoka wrote:You can actually install Catalina on a 5,1.

Thanks for your answer, but I deliberately do not install Catalina because some of the programs I need are not compatible with it. I want to know if Speed Editor can work in Mojave, and if not, why?

Yours sincerely
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 1115
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostThu May 06, 2021 8:23 pm

drukcc wrote:
Mel Matsuoka wrote:You can actually install Catalina on a 5,1.

Thanks for your answer, but I deliberately do not install Catalina because some of the programs I need are not compatible with it. I want to know if Speed Editor can work in Mojave, and if not, why?


I'm not sure either way if the Speed Editor works on Mojave or not (I have a Speed Editor and I'm on Mojave, but I can't upgrade to Resolve 17 yet so I haven't been able to test it), but if it doesn't, it's most likely because BMD is using OS specific frameworks and APIs that aren't completely supported on Mojave. They have explicitly said that Resolve on Mojave (and earlier) will quickly becomes less supported as the months go on, so it stands to follow that the Speed Editor would also be a casualty of this.
Resolve Studio 16.2.7.010 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.6) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.14.6, 3.5 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / COMPUTE+GUI: AMD Radeon VII / ATTO NT11 10GbE / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 4:57 am

Mel Matsuoka wrote:

They have explicitly said that Resolve on Mojave (and earlier) will quickly becomes less supported as the months go on, so it stands to follow that the Speed Editor would also be a casualty of this.

Thank you very much for your response. You saved me money and nerves.
And maybe I will have to install both systems on one Mac and boot as needed. But this, of course, is not convenient.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10272
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 6:31 am

drukcc wrote:
Mel Matsuoka wrote:

They have explicitly said that Resolve on Mojave (and earlier) will quickly becomes less supported as the months go on, so it stands to follow that the Speed Editor would also be a casualty of this.

Thank you very much for your response. You saved me money and nerves.
And maybe I will have to install both systems on one Mac and boot as needed. But this, of course, is not convenient.


Please skip Catalina install Big Sur on your second boot drive.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 6:46 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Please skip Catalina install Big Sur on your second boot drive.

Thank you! I start thinking in this direction, since there is no other solution. I'll go choose an external SSD, or decide to replace the internal one.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10526
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 7:18 am

There is much space in the 5,1 and you have those connectors for two optical drives.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 7:28 am

Uli Plank wrote:There is much space in the 5,1 and you have those connectors for two optical drives.

Thank you! But I only own a MacBook Pro 2018
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10526
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostFri May 07, 2021 8:32 am

Sorry, I referred this to the TO's machine.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

drukcc

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Reshetniak

Re: Speed Editor only works in Mac 10.15 Catalina or later?

PostThu May 13, 2021 6:28 am

Hi, I have installed DaVinci 17.2 on Mac 10.14.6 and it works.
System requirements for 17.2 are the same as for Speed Editor.
So maybe the Speed Editor will work too? Buy and try?
Thanks for your answers, sincerely Alexander

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], eikonoklastes, taispagan and 75 guests