HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

NathanBray

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 7:32 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Bray

HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostSun May 09, 2021 11:50 pm

I'd like some advice on what extra equipment I would need to start with HDR grading (UHD 50fps), but this is for my own (and not commercial use) so it only has to be "good enough". I already have:
- Davinci Resolve Studio on Windows 64-Bit, 3090 GPU
- VESA-certified Display HDR 1000 (Philips 436M6VBPAB)
- No free 4/8/16x PCI Slots left (taken by 10Gb Nic, RAID Controller, 3090) ...but free 1x PCI Slots and USB 3.1 Gen 2 (10Gb) connectors

Am I correct in that,
- Resolve's Preview Window can not output HDR over the 3090's HDMI output; so
- I'd need a Decklink Card (Mini Monitor 4K) - but I'm out of PCI Slots, or
- UltraStudio (4K Mini) - but it is relatively expensive and will it even work over USB 3.1 Gen 2 (10Gb), or
- Some other way?

Thanks
Nathan
FX6 - UHD AVC 10 Bit 4:2:2 HDR
PC - Win10 Pro for Workstatioins, 64GB, i9-11900K, RTX 3090, NVME for editing, 80TB Drive Pool for Storage, 2 x Philips 42" UHD HDR (1,000 peak nits) Monitor
Davinci Resolve Studio 17, Speed Editor, UltraStudio 4K Mini
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17096
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 12:00 am

I think you can do it with what you have using the following settings.

HDR Setup.png
HDR Setup.png (28.11 KiB) Viewed 349 times


As you work, change the ODT to simple Rec.2020, then just before export change it back. Use the following Deliver settings, changing Resolution, Frame rate and Key Frame accordingly.


HDR Export.png
HDR Export.png (43.98 KiB) Viewed 349 times


It's not broadcast or cinema level work, but it will be HDR and look real good in your living room. ;)


(As with all color work not done using a proper I/O device, you may have to come back to make corrections after export and viewing on a properly calibrated display.)
Offline

NathanBray

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 7:32 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Bray

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 8:29 am

Thanks for the suggestion but the preview window looks quite different from the rendered footage. My current process is to use the scopes to make changes in grading the LOG to HDR, render out, and check..... but this is a terrible workflow.
FX6 - UHD AVC 10 Bit 4:2:2 HDR
PC - Win10 Pro for Workstatioins, 64GB, i9-11900K, RTX 3090, NVME for editing, 80TB Drive Pool for Storage, 2 x Philips 42" UHD HDR (1,000 peak nits) Monitor
Davinci Resolve Studio 17, Speed Editor, UltraStudio 4K Mini
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7433
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 11:01 am

You need SDI card, but if you have no empty PCI-E slots then not sure what you can do. Mini Monitor 4K is the cheapest option. Other require Thunderbolt 3.

If you can manually trigger HDR mode in your monitor then you could try Nobe display plugin (it would need some accuracy verification though). This way you could have full screen preview on your HDR monitor.
Offline

NathanBray

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 7:32 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Bray

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 11:52 am

Thanks - I'll have a better play with Nobe Display in a few days (away with work), but it seems to be the same as the preview window.... but if it works that would be great!
FX6 - UHD AVC 10 Bit 4:2:2 HDR
PC - Win10 Pro for Workstatioins, 64GB, i9-11900K, RTX 3090, NVME for editing, 80TB Drive Pool for Storage, 2 x Philips 42" UHD HDR (1,000 peak nits) Monitor
Davinci Resolve Studio 17, Speed Editor, UltraStudio 4K Mini
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7433
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 12:30 pm

You have to have project set to HDR and then force monitor to HDR mode manually. Otherwise it won't work for sure as monitor is not aware that signal is HDR. It's better than Resolve preview as it can be positioned on any screen and it gives proper full screen video only preview.
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17096
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostMon May 10, 2021 2:46 pm

NathanBray wrote:the preview window looks quite different from the rendered footage.
You set the ODT to Rec.2020 first? Then changed it back before Delivery?
Offline

NathanBray

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 7:32 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Bray

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostThu May 13, 2021 3:13 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:You have to have project set to HDR and then force monitor to HDR mode manually. Otherwise it won't work for sure as monitor is not aware that signal is HDR. It's better than Resolve preview as it can be positioned on any screen and it gives proper full screen video only preview.


So here is what I've got going so far using NobDisplay with a very simple test project:
- SLOG3 Footage from an FX6
- Project Settings: as per the pic
- NobeDisplay setup as Serial Node
- The Monitor is in in HDR 1000 mode

The Pic shows 3 displays simultaneously being displayed
- Top is DaVinci's internal preview (looks flat aka SLOG3)
- Bottom is NobeDisplay (looks flat aka HDR without HDR metadata)
- Bottom Right is playing the rendered out footage (reported and looks like HDR).
Attachments
NobeDisplay.jpg
NobeDisplay.jpg (963.57 KiB) Viewed 179 times
FX6 - UHD AVC 10 Bit 4:2:2 HDR
PC - Win10 Pro for Workstatioins, 64GB, i9-11900K, RTX 3090, NVME for editing, 80TB Drive Pool for Storage, 2 x Philips 42" UHD HDR (1,000 peak nits) Monitor
Davinci Resolve Studio 17, Speed Editor, UltraStudio 4K Mini
Offline

NathanBray

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 7:32 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Bray

Re: HDR Grading : what "extra" bits do I need?

PostFri May 14, 2021 1:14 am

FYI - I've been in contact with NobeDisplay and I don't think it will do what I want in showing a HDR Preview Windows for colour grading as:

“Nobe Display Plugin works in REC.709 color science so to make it work we have to convert the input signal to the appropriate ranges.”

So looks like I'll need to either remove one of my PCIE cards or get a whole new PC Build to accommodate either the DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K or a UltraStudio 4K Mini (needs a Thunderbolt 3 connector).

It is a shame Resolve can not output HDR over GPU so you can use the existing scopes.
FX6 - UHD AVC 10 Bit 4:2:2 HDR
PC - Win10 Pro for Workstatioins, 64GB, i9-11900K, RTX 3090, NVME for editing, 80TB Drive Pool for Storage, 2 x Philips 42" UHD HDR (1,000 peak nits) Monitor
Davinci Resolve Studio 17, Speed Editor, UltraStudio 4K Mini

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], buckenmeyer, David E King, editor_jeff, Google [Bot], Jim Simon, kcxxx1 and 104 guests