17.2 Audio waveform height bug

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 2:45 pm

In 17.2, there seems to be a bug in when displaying audio waveforms. They only occupy 30-50% of the height of the waveform track. This occurs in all pages. The only place, where the waveform is full height when audio trim is enabled in the Cut page and trimming a Clip's in or out points.

Here is an example of two clips. The right clip's volume level has been increased to it clips, but it doesn't appear so on the waveforms
resolve bug01.png
resolve bug01.png (73.48 KiB) Viewed 677 times


Here is an example in the edit page where I am adjusting the clip volume. Note how it doesn't fill the full available height of the track, even when it clips
resolvebugaudio.gif
resolvebugaudio.gif (83.31 KiB) Viewed 1089 times


Computer specs:
Win 10 pro
GTX 1070 and RTX 2080 with Studio driver v 462.59
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2 Build 11
Dual monitors HD and 4k set in windows prefs at 150% scaling, with 4k as primary display and display where I use Resolve.

Note: edited to add computer specs, and further clarification, as it's happening throughout Resolve instead of only in the cut page. It is also occuring on both stereo and mono channels, as opposed to mono as I initially thought
Last edited by dimsum on Fri May 14, 2021 7:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 2251
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 2:54 pm

System spec? viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190

Not seeing that behaviour on macOS.
⟦ Mac Pro Rack | 16-core 3.2GHz | 32GB RAM | Radeon 580X 8GB | 1TB SSD | macOS 10.15.7 (19H1030) ⟧
⟦ Resolve Studio 17.2.1 | Fairlight Console (DAE-1C-2F) + Accelerator | Intensity Pro 4K | Desktop Video 12.1 ⟧
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 2:59 pm

I am using Resolve studio 17.2 Build 11
win10 pro
rtx 2080, nvidia studio driver 462.59

I've tried reopening Resolve, loading old timelines, and creating new timelines, and the behaviour is as in the gif above
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3101
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 3:12 pm

Your waveforms are set to Rectified. Change in the Timeline view options.
Attachments
Non Rectified Waveforms.jpg
SELECT NON RECTIFIED WAVEFORMS
Non Rectified Waveforms.jpg (67.57 KiB) Viewed 831 times
Resolve Studio 17.2.1
XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19041, Speed Editor, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 3:17 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Your waveforms are set to Rectified.


Even with this option selected, the max bounds seem to be set to 50% as opposed 100% of the height of the track

resolvebugaudio02.gif
resolvebugaudio02.gif (99.73 KiB) Viewed 826 times
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3101
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 3:33 pm

Not seeing that here on either mono or stereo tracks. Have you tried saving, closing Resolve and then restarting and opening the project?
Resolve Studio 17.2.1
XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19041, Speed Editor, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Edit Page mono audio waveform bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 3:58 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Not seeing that here on either mono or stereo tracks. Have you tried saving, closing Resolve and then restarting and opening the project?


Thanks for checking. I've restarted, created a new project, new timeline, and with both stereo and mono track, the bounds seem to be checked to 50% of the height. In the cut page, waveform heights are correct, however, in Fairlight page, the waverform heights are also 50% of the height.

It must be some strange setting somewhere, but not sure what it is or what could be causing it.
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1654
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 17.2 Edit Page audio waveform height bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 5:35 pm

Dimitar

Given your other reports, can I check if your UI scaling is set to 100%?

Thanks
Shrinivas
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Edit Page audio waveform height bug

PostThu May 13, 2021 5:59 pm

Shrinivas Ramani wrote:Given your other reports, can I check if your UI scaling is set to 100%?


Do you mean general Windows scaling? I use Resolve on a 4k monitor that's set in the Windows settings to 150% scaling. Based on your comment, I tried with UI scaling in Windows to 100% and the audio waveforms occupy an even smaller part of the height available in the waveform.

In terms of DPI scaling for Davinci Resolve from the app properties, everything is left on the defaults

explorer_uhi12bu8Q1.png
explorer_uhi12bu8Q1.png (22.23 KiB) Viewed 757 times


This behaviour started occuring with the update of 17.2
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Edit Page audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 14, 2021 6:35 am

I erased all Davinci resolve settings in appdata/roaming/blackmagic design. Then I started a new project, dropped in a clip on the timeline, and the same behaviour occurs.

I tried changing my 4k monitor resolution to HD, restarted Resolve, and once again, the waveform behaviour is as shown above. This leads me to believe that it is not a bug related to windows scaling but a bug within Resolve itself.

It is currently making editing much more difficult since I can't judge as well the audio levels.
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 14, 2021 7:10 am

This behaviour is actually occuring in the cut page as well. I've clarified the first post a bit to show exactly what's happening
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 2251
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 14, 2021 7:15 am

dimsum wrote:This behaviour is actually occuring in the cut page as well. I've clarified the first post a bit to show exactly what's happening
In the updated image in your initial post, the Fairlight page example illustrates two Audio Clips.

The first Clip appears to draw the waveform correctly. What is the source media format?
Use MediaInfo to look at the metadata for that file and post a screenshot.

The second Clip with the waveform drawing issue is mp4.
Use MediaInfo to look at the metadata for that file and post a screenshot.
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 14, 2021 7:59 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:In the updated image in your initial post, the Fairlight page example illustrates two Audio Clips.


Both clips are from the same source, trimmed. The first one is not displaying correctly either. It may look so but if in I increase the level, it still displays the clipping at a fraction of the available height.

The source is mp4 screencast recorded with OBS, as I have done prior to the 17.2 update.
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

MikeFromCambridgeUK

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:14 am
  • Real Name: Michael Addlesee

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 4:36 pm

I've also noticed a problem with displayed audio height on the Fairlight page.

I recently got a Zoom F6 which I use to record from multiple mics in 32-bit float format.

The .wav files come into Resolve ok.
When I use 'Normalize Audio Levels' on a track in Fairlight the Volume shown in the Inspector gets increased to a number in the range 18 to 28 (dB?).
The resulting signal when played sounds ok, much louder and with no clipping.
But the waveform displayed looks severely clipped.

Is there a way of forcing the displayed waveform to redraw correctly without the apparent clipping?
Offline

MikeFromCambridgeUK

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:14 am
  • Real Name: Michael Addlesee

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 4:55 pm

I think my previous post is tied up with the View selection 'Track Waveform Zoom'.
The submenu for this is completely greyed out on the Edit page.
On the Fairlight page they are not greyed out, but then none of those commands seem to do anything. Looks like some software engineer forgot to write the code that sits behind these commands.
Offline

raphaelgoesm

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 4:03 pm
  • Real Name: Raphael Góes

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 5:35 pm

Same behavior here. 1920x1080 monitor without windows rescaling. Both on Fairlight and on the edit page.

Resolves 17.2 Windows 10
16gb ram
geforce 1050 ti 4gb
Offline

MikeFromCambridgeUK

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:14 am
  • Real Name: Michael Addlesee

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 5:40 pm

MikeFromCambridgeUK wrote:I think my previous post is tied up with the View selection 'Track Waveform Zoom'.
The submenu for this is completely greyed out on the Edit page.
On the Fairlight page they are not greyed out, but then none of those commands seem to do anything. Looks like some software engineer forgot to write the code that sits behind these commands.


On further inspection the 'All Tracks' commands do work but the 'Selected Tracks' ones don't.
Offline

MikeFromCambridgeUK

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:14 am
  • Real Name: Michael Addlesee

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 6:03 pm

dimsum wrote:In 17.2, there seems to be a bug in when displaying audio waveforms. They only occupy 30-50% of the height of the waveform track. This occurs in all pages. The only place, where the waveform is full height when audio trim is enabled in the Cut page and trimming a Clip's in or out points.

Here is an example of two clips. The right clip's volume level has been increased to it clips, but it doesn't appear so on the waveforms
resolve bug01.png


Here is an example in the edit page where I am adjusting the clip volume. Note how it doesn't fill the full available height of the track, even when it clips
resolvebugaudio.gif


Computer specs:
Win 10 pro
GTX 1070 and RTX 2080 with Studio driver v 462.59
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2 Build 11
Dual monitors HD and 4k set in windows prefs at 150% scaling, with 4k as primary display and display where I use Resolve.

Note: edited to add computer specs, and further clarification, as it's happening throughout Resolve instead of only in the cut page. It is also occuring on both stereo and mono channels, as opposed to mono as I initially thought


Had you normalized the audio waveform before this started to happen? I suspect Resolve doesn't update the display clipping threshold following normalisation.
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 10:03 pm

My waveforms use the entire clip area, at least in Fairlight and Edit pages. Am unable to reproduce what you describe.

Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core
AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB
OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2
Fairlight Audio Interface SX-36
Fairlight Audio Editor (FAE)
Fairlight Studio Console
Offline

Mark Walmsley

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 11:36 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Real Name: Mark Walmsley

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostMon May 17, 2021 10:21 pm

I've also encountered this on Mac OS with 17.2.
So far only on a small test project.
Screen Shot 2021-05-18 at 8.15.28 am.png
Screen Shot 2021-05-18 at 8.15.28 am.png (32.6 KiB) Viewed 490 times
Mac OS 10.14.6
Resolve 17.2
Cheese grater 96 gig ram
Radeon RX580 8 GB
sound editor/mixer/composer
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostTue May 18, 2021 6:05 am

MikeFromCambridgeUK wrote:Had you normalized the audio waveform before this started to happen? I suspect Resolve doesn't update the display clipping threshold following normalisation.


I did not normalise the audio on the track

MikeFromCambridgeUK wrote:I think my previous post is tied up with the View selection 'Track Waveform Zoom'.
The submenu for this is completely greyed out on the Edit page.
On the Fairlight page they are not greyed out, but then none of those commands seem to do anything. Looks like some software engineer forgot to write the code that sits behind these commands.


Tried View, Track waveform view, zoom in all tracks. After running the command, 4 or 5 times, it seems that the height is full. However, this seems like a workaround, as it is hard to understand what clips and what's too quiet. Also, as those options are greyed out in the Edit Page, there is no effect. there
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline

dimsum

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Dimitar Pouchnikov

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 21, 2021 9:10 am

I am in the middle of making a many-part video course. For editing, it has been ok so far, but now I want to adjust audio, and it's impossible with the cropped height of waverforms. I've reintalled Resolve, cleared my settings, and it's still present. I hope BMD are looking into this bug.
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.2, Win10 RTX 2080, 4K Display
uhstudio.com
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3101
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostFri May 21, 2021 11:47 am

I've posted in other threads about this problem, but will also post here. This waveform height problem seems to only occur on embedded audio and not on added wav or mp3s.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1
XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19041, Speed Editor, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline

Heinz Friedrich

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Heinz Friedrich

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostWed Jun 02, 2021 10:51 pm

It's "only" a problem in the 17.2-version with the 32-bit-float-waveform from the Zoom F6 recorder.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1654
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 17.2 Audio waveform height bug

PostThu Jun 03, 2021 12:59 am

Hi all

Please note that the 17.2.1 update has a fix for this issue.

Regards
Shrinivas

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, highbeamstudios, Jean Paul Sneider, Mattias Murhagen and 70 guests