Media Offline Error after Linking

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

nicklit

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:24 pm
  • Real Name: Nicholas Lituanio

Media Offline Error after Linking

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 3:38 am

Hope someone fan help. I'm on the road and dead in the water.

Editing on a MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2019) with 32 GB Ram & Radeon Pro Vega 20 4 GB. Using Resolve 17.1.1 build 9. Using a Samsung T7 as my edit drive BUT have tried accessing the files locally as well.

The issue is this. Resolve "sees" the files and plays the audio from the files but not the video and I get the media error with the red screen. The footage opens up in Final Cut easy peasy and Plays fine. The footage is shot on a GH5 (UHD 422/10 bit/LongGOP 150 Mbps LPMC). I have shot scores of video with this profile and have had no problems.

Importing GoPro Hero 9 footage no problem.

Ideas?
Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
MacOS 10.13.3 (late 2013)
27 Inch IMac 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10520
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media Offline Error after Linking

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 6:37 am

Are you sure you didn't install the free version accidentially?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

nicklit

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:24 pm
  • Real Name: Nicholas Lituanio

Re: Media Offline Error after Linking

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 4:10 pm

Well Uli... I looked air your post ands thought BAH! What does he take me for, a dolt. Then I checked and indeed I was opening a legacy FREE version of the software. I guess I m indeed a dolt.

Thanks for asking the obvious question! Problem solved.
Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
MacOS 10.13.3 (late 2013)
27 Inch IMac 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10520
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media Offline Error after Linking

PostMon Apr 12, 2021 2:36 am

It happens to the best. A friend who's teaching DR and consulting once called me late at night with a strange issue during the beta period and guess what? We needed quite some time to both get to the 'Dooh' moment…
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

snmedia_BM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Sebastian Neville

Re: Media Offline Error after Linking

PostThu May 13, 2021 4:18 pm

I also experience OFFLINE clips when ingesting 4K 10bts 422 LOG footage from my GH5 camera...so it is not supported on the free version of DaVinci Resolve? to import footage from GH5 I need to purchase the Studio version? please let me know. Thanks
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10520
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media Offline Error after Linking

PostFri May 14, 2021 4:38 am

Yes, at least for Windows. Might work with the free version on a Mac M1.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brent Altomare, xunile and 89 guests