Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostFri Jun 04, 2021 6:12 pm

I am working with a source material from a BMPCC 6K camera that has several media dropouts. I have this bright idea of replacing the "Media Offline" artwork with a "green screen." This would enable me to layer media below, repairing my media issues for delivery.

So does anyone know where this artwork is stored?

Thanks,
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10454
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 5:42 am

moved to resolve forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 5:49 am

These kinds of images can be embedded as resources in the executable files, there isn't necessarily a separate file somewhere that you can replace. I mean, there could be, but it's by no means certain.
DR Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 5:25 pm

If this is not a separate file, typically it is embedded in a DLL. The question is which DLL has this image as a resource.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 7:34 pm

It's inside resolve.exe, you can use the the following online tool to see all the images of resolve.exe.
https://www.toolsley.com/inspect.html

The problem is that resolve.exe is protected from modifications.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17549
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostWed Jun 09, 2021 3:49 pm

You're taking something of an odd approach here, George. Seems to me it would be better to solve the actual issue and get the clips fully working.
Last edited by Jim Simon on Thu Jun 10, 2021 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Bruceqld

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:12 pm
  • Real Name: Bruce Cook

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostWed Jun 09, 2021 10:04 pm

I am with Jim on this one George. I cant see a single advantage to turning your media offline graphic into a green screen vs simply removing/relinking the offending clip. You would just be using unnecessary processing resources.
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 1:16 pm

Speaking as a coder, when you have a hammer, everything looks like a nail. I saw this as a quick fix for a BMPCC 6K shortcoming.

Making this error into a chroma key would allow an easier workflow for this 17 minute clip with 134 frame drops. I could have an easy time of color grading only two clips, my original BMPCC and the (inferior) MPEG from Adobe Premier.

Sad that artwork is in a protected exe file. Just from a programming and updating aspect it would be better to deliver smaller updates to individual files rather than the whole, thus the argument for delivery of this "stock artwork" in a separate resource.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17549
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 6:22 pm

Duckpaddle wrote:a BMPCC 6K shortcoming.
That would be?
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1808
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 6:34 pm

You can also detect these frames by using difference with the media offline image. Any frame where average difference is zero or close to zero, set alpha to 0, for every other frame set it to 1. It could be possible to do it in color page too, but in Fu it is easier.
I do stuff.
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 10:55 pm

My New BMPCC 6K dropped out over 140 frames in a 17 minute video. In Resolve the drops appear as media offline. Before you ask I used Certified Media, AngelBird AV PRO CF. These drops started after about 2 minutes.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10621
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostFri Jun 11, 2021 3:06 am

Do you see them in the camera? If not, your reader might be the culprit.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostFri Jun 11, 2021 6:34 pm

Interesting, I reviewed the video in the camera and it did "jerk" at the dropped frames but it did not stop or throw "Media Offline" screens. I don't quite know what to make of this as I used both AngelBird media and an AngelBird reader.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17549
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostFri Jun 11, 2021 8:42 pm

You didn't turn on the setting to stop recording when frames are dropped?!

Eeesh!
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostFri Jun 11, 2021 9:46 pm

You are kidding right, a 2K $ camera should not drop frames.
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 1:17 am

Duckpaddle wrote:You are kidding right, a 2K $ camera should not drop frames.

Cameras are totally dependent on the media being able to write fast enough to record everything. If the media is slower than the data coming at it then the camera doesn't have a whole lot of choice, it can either drop frames and continue on as best it can or it can just throw up its hands and stop.

There's a related (although dated) discussion here, it might be helpful.
DR Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10621
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 2:56 am

Even an Angelbird device can be faulty.
How was the card formatted?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 1:31 pm

The card was formatted with exFat.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10621
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 2:08 pm

In the camera?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 9:36 pm

No, did not find that menu until you asked. Found something interesting, the CF card gets quite warm to the touch, particularly outside here in Texas. I guess it is winter in Australia so they did not test for that :lol:

I ran the camera in a configuration close to what produced the dropped frames; outside, Commercial power, two microphones (one with phantom power). I got these results, Resolve Edit shows some "Media Offline" frames but the review does not. In my original video these frames are both in the time line and on the review screen.

Will do more testing to isolate issue.
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 9:57 pm

Duckpaddle wrote:... Found something interesting, the CF card gets quite warm to the touch, particularly outside here in Texas. ... I ran the camera in a configuration close to what produced the dropped frames; outside, Commercial power, two microphones (one with phantom power). I got these results, Resolve Edit shows some "Media Offline" frames but the review does not. In my original video these frames are both in the time line and on the review screen.

What kind of CF card is it, and is it certified for use with the camera? Your efforts may be futile if not, and even so it might just be more expedient to get another card that's rated for the required speeds and more, just to be safe.
DR Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 11:12 pm

It is certified, an AngelBird AV PRO CF GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10621
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSun Jun 13, 2021 12:57 am

Definitely do the formatting in the camera.
And then, even an Angelbird can have a broken wing.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

Duckpaddle

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:25 am
  • Real Name: George Mallard

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSun Jun 13, 2021 2:10 pm

So which brand actually meets specs?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10621
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Where is the "Media Offline" artwork

PostSun Jun 13, 2021 2:20 pm

All those listed by BM. I just wanted to say that any device can be faulty.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], bohndigga, Johannes Hoffmann, steve oakley and 99 guests