Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ReframedMedia

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 9:36 pm
  • Real Name: Josh Jenkins

Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 9:43 pm

My Speed Editor only works when it is plugged in via USB ... does anyone else have this issue??

Is there a way to fix this so it works on Bluetooth alone without being connected to USB? Any help much appreciated!

Note; Windows OS, Resolve Studio 17. and the speed editor is linked to Bluetooth.
Offline

Tom Roper

  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:59 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Roper

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 11:40 pm

It works without being plugged in, but occasionally loses sync. Watch for the lights going out. Unplug and replug, once sync'd again, you can disconnect the cable. What I'm not sure is if it charges without being sync'd to Resolve, or when the lights are off.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3278
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 11:48 pm

Is the battery charged?
Resolve Studio 17.2.2
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19041, Speed Editor, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostThu Jun 17, 2021 2:13 am

I've seen a few posts where people were either unable to connect or had poor quality connections using Bluetooth where the problem was caused by insufficient signal strength. For example, some desktop motherboards with built-in WiFi and Bluetooth need to have an antenna installed in order to be used effectively, or a Bluetooth dongle installed in one of the rear ports of a desktop started working properly after being moved to a front port.
DR Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

ReframedMedia

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 9:36 pm
  • Real Name: Josh Jenkins

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostThu Jun 17, 2021 9:40 pm

Thanks team! Keyboard was charged 100% ... I plugged in the antenna for my PC and reconnected the keyboard via bluetooth and it now works without the cable being connected :D
Offline
User avatar

Adam Langdon

  • Posts: 496
  • Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:15 pm
  • Location: Ohio USA

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostThu Jun 17, 2021 11:50 pm

I'm using mine with a M1 Mac Mini and i have to leave the USB cable plugged in. Bluetooth doesn't work. Battery is fully charged.
It's not that big of a deal, but if the BT did work it would be great.
Ursa Mini Pro G2 - Pocket 6K Pro - Vintage Russian Glass - Tamron 24-70mm f2.8 - Canon 17-55mm f2.8 - SLR Magic APO Microprimes (w/ Tokina 17mm f3.5 RMC) - Mac Pro 2019, 96GB Ram, Two W5700XT GPU Modules, 24-Core CPU
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostFri Jul 02, 2021 2:03 am

Resolve 17.2.2 is just out with "Improved Speed Editor Bluetooth Support".
DR Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10527
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Speed Editor has to be plugged in?

PostFri Jul 02, 2021 3:02 am

Be sure to un-pair the bluetooth. connect a USSB cable and run the control panels app... which you should have downloaded when installing the 17.2.2 release.

The control panels app version is 1.6.1 (for Resolve 17.2.2) and the speed editor firmware is 1.4.

once you have update the speed editor, you can re-pair the bluetooth
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ebkowmag867, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], thisindiefilmmaker, xunile and 80 guests