Should be working by now!!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Should be working by now!!

PostFri Jun 18, 2021 10:58 pm

I've done some upgrading to my PC and when I try to play the Timeline it still won't play smoothly. I checked the Task Manager Performance Tab and as soon as I hit the spacebar to play, the CPU spikes to 100%. Everything else seems to be fine. It only uses about 13 of the 64GB of memory. I have run antivirus checkers and a Windows Optimizer program.

My computer:

CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)

I'm out of ideas! Any help will be greatly appreciated. I really don't want to go back to Adobe Premiere Pro if I don't have to.
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 2000
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 12:36 am

Need info on the footage you are trying to play, the timeline resolution, what kind of drive and whether it's internal or external, any effects or grades in use.
MBP2016, MacOS 11.2.3, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.8/17.2.1
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 12.0
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 1:04 am

Tom Early wrote:Need info on the footage you are trying to play, the timeline resolution, what kind of drive and whether it's internal or external, any effects or grades in use.

The footage is 4K-60 shot with a GoPro Hero8 Black.
Timeline resolution: 3840 x 2160 UHD
No effects
SSD External Drive: 2TB Samsung T5
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10687
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 4:12 am

But you are using Studio, do you? The CPU going to 100% may indicate it’s doing the decompression.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 4:29 am

Uli Plank wrote:But you are using Studio, do you? The CPU going to 100% may indicate it’s doing the decompression.

I am using the free version. I don’t want to purchase the program until I am sure it is going to work on my computer.
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10687
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 4:56 am

Then it looks like expected behavior. Footage out of the GoPro Hero8 in 4 K is very heavy without hardware support.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 6:24 am

Are you saying that the Studio version would work better?
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

Nick2021

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 3:19 am
  • Real Name: Nick Zentena

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 6:30 am

Upload a sample if you want somebody here to test but the Studio version can use either your GPU or your onboard IGPU to decode HEVC files. A huge difference
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10687
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 6:56 am

Under Windows you’ll see a huge difference with H.264 (and 265, if your GPU supports it).
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17695
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 1:53 pm

I have a Rule of Thumb which helps in situations like this.

1. If you shoot H.264, edit with Proxies.
2. If you don't want to edit with Proxies, don't shoot H.264.

This works regardless of hardware or NLE. ;)
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 707
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 2:01 pm

Jim Simon wrote:I have a Rule of Thumb which helps in situations like this.

1. If you shoot H.264, edit with Proxies.
2. If you don't want to edit with Proxies, don't shoot H.264.

This works regardless of hardware or NLE. ;)
As a Rule of Thumb, funny pro user cargo cult really helps noone. In particular not those obviously on a budget.

BMD just wants money to allow you to use your GPU for decoding. Editing H264 is trivial on today's GPUs. Even 4k60p.

You posts unfortunately get more useless every day and usually it's the same copy paste response you already gave 500 more times on these forums.

Only thing suspicious this time it doesn't end with a link to BMD hardware product the OP has to buy.
Last edited by peterjackson on Sat Jun 19, 2021 2:10 pm, edited 4 times in total.
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17695
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 2:07 pm

It will improve playback performance, Peter. It will solve that problem.

That's the very the definition of 'help'. :)
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 707
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 2:12 pm

Jim Simon wrote:It will improve playback performance, Peter. It will solve that problem.

That's the very the definition of 'help'. :)
It's the definition of pro user arogancy making fun of everyone with tighter budgets.
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 4:13 pm

Thank you, everyone, for your replies. I changed the Playback Frame Rate to 30 and it plays well. Adding transitions slows it down a lot again! There is so much to learn!!!! :o :o
Last edited by GordRocks on Sat Jun 19, 2021 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10687
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Should be working by now!!

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 4:14 pm

I don't get this logic. While Jim, the 'arrogant pro user', is suggesting a free solution by transcoding, you are recommending buying Studio. Either solution would help, but what's better for a tight budget?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.4
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.4

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cblood, Jorgelol and 85 guests