copy and paste track data doesn't work

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

seanross67

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:11 pm

copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 4:54 pm

Is is me, or does paste track data just plain not work. Basically I have a power curve on one node, and want to paste it onto another node, and have it keep my track data. But when I do this, it doesn't work. Ever.

I wish there was "copy this shape with its tracking data" and a "paste this shape with its tracking data" and it would just come in exactly like it should.
Linux Resolve on a iMac Pro . Davinci 16.2.8. 64gb RAM, Radeon Pro Vega 64.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 5:23 pm

seanross67 wrote:Is is me, or does paste track data just plain not work. Basically I have a power curve on one node, and want to paste it onto another node, and have it keep my track data. But when I do this, it doesn't work. Ever.

I wish there was "copy this shape with its tracking data" and a "paste this shape with its tracking data" and it would just come in exactly like it should.


Maybe :

(without tracking data)
I would try to select a node with power curve
then copy (on windows CTRL + C)
Then select another node: use '='

With tracking data:
After tracking: there is a copy track data + Paste track data from the 'Tracker' window

I advise you to do a search in the forum: there are many solutions proposed depending on the desired effect

Does it works? :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline
User avatar

seanross67

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 8:19 pm

Jean Claude wrote:
seanross67 wrote:Is is me, or does paste track data just plain not work. Basically I have a power curve on one node, and want to paste it onto another node, and have it keep my track data. But when I do this, it doesn't work. Ever.

I wish there was "copy this shape with its tracking data" and a "paste this shape with its tracking data" and it would just come in exactly like it should.


Maybe :

(without tracking data)
I would try to select a node with power curve
then copy (on windows CTRL + C)
Then select another node: use '='

With tracking data:
After tracking: there is a copy track data + Paste track data from the 'Tracker' window

I advise you to do a search in the forum: there are many solutions proposed depending on the desired effect

Does it works? :)


thanks! but no.

I was trying to execute the second technique that you mention . It just doesn't work right. Copying and pasting the entire node would work, but that is not what I am looking for. I instead just want one window with one track.

Maybe it is because I have manual key framing on my track? I don't know. Either way, it would come in handy.
Linux Resolve on a iMac Pro . Davinci 16.2.8. 64gb RAM, Radeon Pro Vega 64.
Offline

12regrades

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:17 am
  • Real Name: Duncan Russell

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostMon Jan 11, 2021 11:50 am

I'm struggling with the exact same thing. I did find a crappy long winded way of doing it node by node.

In the colour tab you can copy the node as normal, then instead of control v, use option, or ALT v. You should get a window come up with check boxes of what you need to copy and tracking data is among those boxes.
It's a terrible system and there MUST be an easier way,
on Baselight you just click on the still and it's done in seconds. In resolve one has to manually copy and paste node by node and it took forever. I'm fairly sure you can use the Display Node Graph option to speed things along a whisker.

Surely I'm missing something too...

bewildered.
Offline

amzab9

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 3:04 pm
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Real Name: Andres Mendoza

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work in Davinci 17

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 11:59 am

Hello.

In Color Page "Copy track data and Paste track data" in Davinci 17, (Last and beta also) does not work.
I have tried version 16 and no problem.
Someone has the same problem?
Thanks !!!
Offline

Mikey Piliero

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:18 pm

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostSat Apr 10, 2021 4:40 pm

Same issue here. No luck copying and pasting tracking data
Offline

Misha Mazor

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:22 am

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 2:23 am

Ditto, does not work for me either. Used to in previous versions
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10505
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: copy and paste track data doesn't work

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 5:28 am

We need more info to repo, as per FAQs, as I don’t see ur issue.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, bclontz, Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Mads Johansen, rapapar and 82 guests