Resolve doesn't run

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 02, 2021 12:15 am

I downloaded DVResolve 17.2 without problem, but when I try to open it doesn't run.
I have a Lenovo Legion Y520: i7 2.8 GHz, GPU GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, 16Gb RAM, 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 10 Home 21H1, 256 Gb SSD, 2 Tb HDD.
I tried with version 16.2.8, but the result is the same.
Somebody could help me?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10471
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 02, 2021 2:50 am

Which specific GPU driver is installed?

Id suggest doing a complete re-install of the current GPU driver, not an update but a complete install.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 02, 2021 4:31 am

And if that doesn't help, then:

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.

If you are a new Forum user, you may not be allowed to post URLs. If this happens, just put a space near the front of the URL, so the system doesn't think it's a URL.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostFri Jun 18, 2021 9:50 pm

Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostFri Jun 18, 2021 10:33 pm

That link has restricted access. Please make it an open link.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 995
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 9:39 am

ccapella wrote:I downloaded DVResolve 17.2 without problem, but when I try to open it doesn't run.
I have a Lenovo Legion Y520: i7 2.8 GHz, GPU GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, 16Gb RAM, 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 10 Home 21H1, 256 Gb SSD, 2 Tb HDD.
I tried with version 16.2.8, but the result is the same.
Somebody could help me?


have a look at the system requirements:
Screenshot 2021-06-19 at 11.37.35.jpg
Screenshot 2021-06-19 at 11.37.35.jpg (56.54 KiB) Viewed 502 times
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC 6k pro (7.3.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.2.2
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 1:21 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:That link has restricted access. Please make it an open link.

Done
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 4:21 pm

It's an Intel driver component that is crashing Resolve.

I'm just gonna cut to the chase and suggest using DDU to remove the Intel driver:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=119852&hilit=+ddu#p659861

Once the Intel driver is gone, Resolve should work.

The Intel driver you currently have installed is from 2017. If you really want the Intel driver back for some reason, after you've verified Resolve runs OK without it, I'd suggest going to the Intel driver site and using their auto detect program to get the most current driver. There is no guarantee that it won't also cause issues with Resolve.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 1:05 pm

Hi, Dwaine, thanks a lot, I applied the DDU solution.
I think part of the problem was solved, but I can't run Resolve yet.
When I open Resolve the program go and charge. The first window appears with the untitled project, test, etc. Then, when I open one of them or create a new project, the next screen is completely black.
If I clicking blindly where, more or less, the menus should be, I can see them. But the entire interface is black, I can see nothing, neither the rooms, timeline, nor viewer: nothing.
I feel I am closer but, unfortunately, still I can't achieve that my Resolve works.
Do you have any other idea that could help me? I will appreciate so much.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3251
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 2:38 pm

If you are using a desktop computer with a discrete GPU make sure your monitor is plugged into the GPU and not the onboard graphics connector.
Make sure your GPU driver is up to date.
Attachments
Monitor Connection.JPG
Monitor Connection.JPG (36.88 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Resolve Studio 17.2.2
XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19041, Speed Editor, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 4:38 pm

Send Resolve another log and NFO file now that you've removed the Intel driver.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 4:59 pm

Ok, Dwaine, thanks again, here goes the link:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 5:00 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:If you are using a desktop computer with a discrete GPU make sure your monitor is plugged into the GPU and not the onboard graphics connector.
Make sure your GPU driver is up to date.

Thanks, Charles, but it's a laptop, Lenovo Legion Y520
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 6:03 pm

Now it's failing to initialize the GL extensions.

Someone else with this issue said changing the Windows power plan from power saving to normal fixed this issue for them. So that would be something to try. Try both normal and performance power plans, and see if that helps.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 10:06 pm

Snif.
It doesn't work. I tried both plans
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 23, 2021 1:52 am

OK. Download and install the NVIDIA 462.31 STUDIO driver.

When you run the installer, select the Custom install option, then the Clean install option.

If still no joy, send another Resolve log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ccapella

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Capella

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostThu Jun 24, 2021 4:25 pm

Yes!
It works!
Thanks a lot Dwaine! I'm really happy.
Best day of month :P
Offline

Kwoodyy

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2021 8:55 am
  • Real Name: Kobe Wood

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 30, 2021 7:55 am

So I installed resolve 16.2.8 last week but it wouldnt launch. I tried to look up troubleshooting methods, but still didn't work. I then tried installing resolve 17 after deleting 16.2.8 to see if that would work, but nope still wont launch. I have now re installed 16.2.8 but still nothing even after updating all graphics drivers, trying the task manager option, running as administrator, unplugging everything except main monitor keyboard and mouse.
I have provided my NFO and capture log below as I see that is what you require. Please help. (left a space because new user)

https://www. dropbox.com/sh/wcnk9ntpuos5sx1/AABx_K-5Uoc5xbTMXeiA5EiLa?dl=0
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8044
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostWed Jun 30, 2021 5:06 pm

Remove the display from the motherboard display connector. You only want displays connected to the GTX 1060 card.

If that doesn't help, download and install the current NVIDIA 471.11 STUDIO driver. When you run the NVIDIA installer, select the Custom install option, then select Clean install.

If that still doesn't help, send another Resolve log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Kwoodyy

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2021 8:55 am
  • Real Name: Kobe Wood

Re: Resolve doesn't run

PostThu Jul 01, 2021 12:33 am

Thankyou very much. The custom clean install was the winner.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adanehy1, Bing [Bot], ebkowmag867, Jim Simon, malyandrum, PaulLlewellyn, TonyGamble and 98 guests