Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 1:55 pm

Everything worked smoothly a week ago and yesterday the problem occurred. I can't play the preview and the imported video clips are blank. Imported audio clips doesn't play anything too but it shows the "lines" (those that tell you how loud or how silent the audio is). Also, I'm no professional editor so please try to explain that I can understand.

Screenshot 2021-07-15 155239.png
Screenshot 2021-07-15 155239.png (117.43 KiB) Viewed 694 times


I tried:
- updating davinci resolve because I haven't updated to the latest version
- restarting davinci resolve
- restarting pc
- went to settings, display and set it to high performance

any fix?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 2:30 pm

What camera was used to create the clips?
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 2:50 pm

Jim Simon wrote:What camera was used to create the clips?

I have no idea, I downloaded those clips from the internet
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3424
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 4:05 pm

Download and install MediaInfo which is free. Right click on the video in your file browser and click MediaInfo. Post a pic of what it displays as an attachment. Here's an illustration of the sort of thing you will see.
Attachments
MediaInfo.jpg
MediaInfo.jpg (145.36 KiB) Viewed 656 times
Resolve Studio 17.3.1
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 4:32 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Download and install MediaInfo which is free. Right click on the video in your file browser and click MediaInfo. Post a pic of what it displays as an attachment. Here's an illustration of the sort of thing you will see.


Just to clarify:
I tried several video clips that previously worked but they now won't work too.

Screenshot 2021-07-15 182822.png
Screenshot 2021-07-15 182822.png (52.02 KiB) Viewed 636 times


Screenshot 2021-07-15 182847.png
Screenshot 2021-07-15 182847.png (12.05 KiB) Viewed 636 times
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 8:46 pm

SleepyGuri wrote:I downloaded those clips from the internet
Try some proper camera media. Blackmagic offers some free BRAW clips for playing around.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... ckmagicraw
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostThu Jul 15, 2021 10:00 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
SleepyGuri wrote:I downloaded those clips from the internet
Try some proper camera media. Blackmagic offers some free BRAW clips for playing around.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... ckmagicraw


doesn't work. The preview is still not working and not playing and the video clip is blank. I'm running on AMD gpu and cpu if that helps
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3424
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 7:22 am

Though low resolution I can't see any obvious reason why the video clip wont run.
It's possible a Windows update has changed things. In Preferences/Memory and GPU is your AMD GPU selected?
Pic shows my manually selected Nvidia card with CUDA. Your AMD card would show OpenCL.
Attachments
GPU Selection.jpg
GPU Selection.jpg (59.22 KiB) Viewed 550 times
Resolve Studio 17.3.1
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 11:10 am

Charles Bennett wrote:Though low resolution I can't see any obvious reason why the video clip wont run.
It's possible a Windows update has changed things. In Preferences/Memory and GPU is your AMD GPU selected?
Pic shows my manually selected Nvidia card with CUDA. Your AMD card would show OpenCL.


Doesn't work, I saved the preferences and restarted davinci resolve (I even stopped the task in task manager) and still nothing. Also, if it isn't low quality - it's just weird or something you just need to right click it and s elect "open image in new tab", it should be high quality.

Screenshot 2021-07-16 130723.png
Screenshot 2021-07-16 130723.png (11.46 KiB) Viewed 527 times
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3424
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 11:29 am

The low quality I was referring to was the video clip according to what MediaInfo says.
Is it possible to give me a link to the clip so that I can try it?
Resolve Studio 17.3.1
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

leKompetenZZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2021 4:50 pm
  • Real Name: Ole Tiedemann

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 4:54 pm

I have the exact same problem, i have been using self recorded video game footage for months now and all of a sudden i cant edit/render anymore. It either wont let me edit it, doesnt play the footage in the player of davinci resolve or the rendering just doesnt start. Never happened before but now it does.

PC specs:
RTX 2070 Super
Ryzen 7 3700X
16GB 3200Hz
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 5:31 pm

SleepyGuri wrote:I'm running on AMD gpu and cpu if that helps
Rarely. I find Intel/nVidia to be the better choices.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8823
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 6:18 pm

Did windows updated?

If you grab a generator (bars) does it work?
If it does, make a compound clip and go to color, make some silly color: does it works?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.2.011
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostSat Jul 17, 2021 12:10 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:Did windows updated?

If you grab a generator (bars) does it work?
If it does, make a compound clip and go to color, make some silly color: does it works?


Yep, I think that I updated windows and amd drivers when davinci still worked.
No this doesn't work.
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostSat Jul 17, 2021 12:14 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:The low quality I was referring to was the video clip according to what MediaInfo says.
Is it possible to give me a link to the clip so that I can try it?


I believe that giving you the link won't work because the thing is, that all video clips won't work and the preview won't work too.
I also tried rendering the clip but that also didn't work.
I opened some of my projects but there's still no preview and blank video clips
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3424
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostSat Jul 17, 2021 12:42 pm

This is proving to be a tough one. Audio wise check in Control Panel/Sound/Playback that Windows has not reset the sample rate to 44.1, and also in Resolve Preferences Video and Audio I/O that the settings haven't changed.
Audio in Windows.JPG
Audio in Windows.JPG (73.23 KiB) Viewed 400 times
Audio I-O.jpg
Audio I-O.jpg (86.56 KiB) Viewed 400 times


Picture wise the only things I can think of are,
Monitor not plugged into the GPU but the onboard graphics connector
GPU driver problem
Failing GPU
GPU not seated in its slot properly
Resolve Studio 17.3.1
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (462.59 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

leKompetenZZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2021 4:50 pm
  • Real Name: Ole Tiedemann

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostSat Jul 17, 2021 1:55 pm

Possible solution!

I had the exact same problem and it was really annoying for me because im using Davinci Resolve everyday for my clips i upload on TikTok. I tried upgrading from Resolve 16 to Resolve 17, uninstalling Resolve and installing it again. Then i realised that for around 2 days (approximately the time i couldnt use Resolve) Windows wanted to do an update. Usually updates from Windows makes things not to work, after i installed the update though, everything worked again. The editing, the preview and the rendering.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8823
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostSat Jul 17, 2021 8:02 pm

SleepyGuri wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:Did windows updated?

If you grab a generator (bars) does it work?
If it does, make a compound clip and go to color, make some silly color: does it works?


Yep, I think that I updated windows and amd drivers when davinci still worked.
No this doesn't work.



Ok.

1) check your settings and see if resolve sees the gpu
2) of so, check if it is nvidia or the other type
3) completely uninstall the and drivers and download a earlier version
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.2.011
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline

SleepyGuri

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Do

Re: Imported video clips are "blank" and no video preview

PostTue Jul 27, 2021 2:24 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:This is proving to be a tough one. Audio wise check in Control Panel/Sound/Playback that Windows has not reset the sample rate to 44.1, and also in Resolve Preferences Video and Audio I/O that the settings haven't changed.
Audio in Windows.JPG
Audio I-O.jpg


Picture wise the only things I can think of are,
Monitor not plugged into the GPU but the onboard graphics connector
GPU driver problem
Failing GPU
GPU not seated in its slot properly


Well, it looks like the problem solved itself. I just had to wait for another driver update and then update it. Resolve works without a single problem now.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kennedy, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], kataae and 63 guests