Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

benfolts

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:46 pm
  • Location: Hollywood, California USA
  • Real Name: Ben Folts

Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostThu Jul 08, 2021 7:31 pm

Hello Community,

Has anyone else conforming variable time adjusted clips in an AAF from Avid to Resolve 17 noticed the source frames Resolve uses are always off by one frame?

In version 16 this was spot on and I wonder if there is something different I need to do to get these to translate correctly.

For example in Avid I have a timewarp speed ramp on a clip that uses a source start frame of 01:01:01:01 once I make an AAF and bring it to resolve 17 it now will start at 01:01:01:02.

It would be awesome if you could slip the source clip while keeping the speed keyframes in place relative to the timeline record timecode to fix this issue.

Thank you,
--DaVinci Resolve Studio (17.2.2 BUILD 4)
--CentOS Linux 7
--Intel Xeon (r) CPU E5-2698 v4 @ 2.20GHz x 58
--125.8 GiB
--GeForce RTX 2080ti x3 (Driver Version 418.56)
--Gnome Version 3.14.2
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostSat Jul 10, 2021 7:57 pm

Best I can offer is that such effects often don't translate between different programs. Usually I see the recommendation to not add the effect in the other software for that reason.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7637
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostSun Jul 11, 2021 1:47 am

Yes, we have found if you try to move projects between Avid, Baselight, Final Cut Pro X, Premiere, Resolve, and other kinds of editing software, variable-speed shots will sometimes be off. Sometimes the first frame is correct, but the last frame is not; sometimes, it's the opposite. The granular nature of timecode and different kinds of optical flow speed-changing will yield different results.

What we do is use a reference movie supplied by the client, and that movie has embedded visible timecode for source file and record timecode. We compare the shots directly, and if they're off a frame, we manually shift it. That's the way it is -- it's not a Resolve problem.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10792
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 2:28 am

Try 17.2.2
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

benfolts

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:46 pm
  • Location: Hollywood, California USA
  • Real Name: Ben Folts

Re: Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostWed Jul 28, 2021 7:24 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Try 17.2.2



Hi Peter, This is still happening in this build.

Thanks,
--DaVinci Resolve Studio (17.2.2 BUILD 4)
--CentOS Linux 7
--Intel Xeon (r) CPU E5-2698 v4 @ 2.20GHz x 58
--125.8 GiB
--GeForce RTX 2080ti x3 (Driver Version 418.56)
--Gnome Version 3.14.2
Online

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1760
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Variable speed effects come into DR17 off by one frame

PostThu Jul 29, 2021 1:37 am

Hi Ben

Can you provide a link to an example AAF that you can see this issue with?

Thanks
Shrinivas

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cpearless, Eddy Juillerat, piersdeseilligny, robwuijster, Shrinivas Ramani, TheBloke and 72 guests