Resolve - hang when opening project

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Resolve - hang when opening project

PostMon Jul 26, 2021 6:04 am

My Resolve has started hanging when I load a project from the library, it shows the status bar as it loads, but stops well before 100% and never finishes, I have to force quit.

Is this a known issue, or something new?

I can upload my logs if necessary.

Cheers,
Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostMon Jul 26, 2021 3:16 pm

(As an aside, Resolve uses Databases, not Libraries.)

It's not normal. Do post the logs so staff can have a look.
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 5:46 am

Now I cannot open any project. Restarting the computer allowed me to open one of them, however the main one with multiple timelines and video/audio still hangs Resolve when I try to open it, and after that I cannot open any other project.

This started tonight when I opened the project in question and selected a different timeline - that crashed Resolve and I have been unable to open this project since. Any time I try, it makes it impossible to open any other projects, even when Resolve is force quit. Only rebooting the computer seems to clear it, until I try and open that specific project.

Whichever project I try to open, it starts and shows the progress bar, then stops - forever. Resolve has to be force quit.

Screen Shot 2021-07-29 at 22.17.02.png


I sampled the process while it was hung and will include that with the logs.

Sample of DaVinci Resolve Hung on Project Load.txt.zip


What now?

Logs: https://we.tl/t-atZQUFc2GL
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 4:18 pm

Found and fixed the problem (thanks to Reynaud!).

The project has a plugin that connects to an external metering suite. The meters were not running, and when I tried to start them, they hung. Rebooted the machine, got the meters running, and when I opened the project it loaded just fine.

Does that mean I need to remember all plugins in projects that could potentially create problems?

Cheers,
Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 8:11 pm

(That's one of the reasons I don't use plug-ins.)
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 11:45 pm

Jim Simon wrote:(That's one of the reasons I don't use plug-ins.)


How do you get any work done without plugins?
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 11:59 pm

I found another loading issue when working today.

This time a plugin that was not authorized/registered (I think it was a time-limited demo) blocked the loading of a project.

While most DAW's will throw up a dialog box when launching about expired/unregistered plugins (or you forgot to plug your dongle in), it looks like in this case Resolve waits until the user loads a project, and then the dialog box pops up, but behind all the other windows (i.e. a window layering issue).

I only discovered it by accident when I hit Cmd-Tab to switch to another app and the dialog box came to the front. The problem is that anytime I try to click on it, it goes back to the rear and the Load Project panel comes up to the front, still stalled, waiting for the dialog box to be dismissed... :roll:

Here is Cmd-tab to something else, showing the dialog box:

Screen Shot 2021-07-30 at 16.17.16.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-30 at 16.17.16.png (222.74 KiB) Viewed 274 times


And here when I try and click on it (quit, close, anything, doesn't matter), it disappears (but has not been dismissed!) and the Load Project comes to the fore.

Screen Shot 2021-07-30 at 16.34.40.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-30 at 16.34.40.png (224.1 KiB) Viewed 274 times


Seems like someone has their wires crossed. I don't know if it's BMD or the plugin author, but I've contacted them about the same issue.

Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostSat Jul 31, 2021 2:05 pm

tlegvold wrote:How do you get any work done without plugins?
I tend to stick with the included effects.
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 4:57 am

Jim Simon wrote:
tlegvold wrote:How do you get any work done without plugins?
I tend to stick with the included effects.


They're not bad at all for basic meat-and-potatoes effects, but don't offer additional features that are very useful in both music and post production, not to mention character or color (through modelling) where called for.

For restoration work especially I find dedicated tools (Sonic Studio NoNoise, Izptope Rx, Acon Digital, Weiss, CEDAR) to be indispensable.

Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 1:44 pm

tlegvold wrote:I find dedicated tools to be indispensable.
That's why I advocate (and encourage others as well) for including those things natively.

Plug-ins have issues that will never go away.
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 3:32 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
tlegvold wrote:I find dedicated tools to be indispensable.
That's why I advocate (and encourage others as well) for including those things natively.

Plug-ins have issues that will never go away.


Now I'm curious, given plug-ins ubiquitous presence throughout audio and picture production.

What issues?

Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7641
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Resolve - hang when opening project

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 8:48 pm

Yes, I had a similar problem with an OFX plug-in from Red Giant, which "contaminated" a session to the point that I could no longer open it:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=145177&p=778243&hilit=red+giant+universe#p778243

I was able to solve it by completely uninstalling the plug-in and (as an extra step) exporting a copy of the session and opening that. Doing that seemed to solve the problem.

Plug-ins should work well with others, but sometimes, bad things happen.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: derricks, John Meyer and 57 guests