Install Resolve on Mac M1

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Francisco Bartolomé

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 pm
  • Location: Spain

Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 5:51 pm

Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm a Windows user who just bought a 16GB Mac Mini M1.

When I go to install Resolve Studio 17 the computer tells me that it is necessary to download Rosetta, and I have not continued with the installation.

I know that Blackmagic has made a native version of Resolve for Mac M1, and that is why I do not understand that the computer asks me to install Rosetta.

It occurred to me that I may not have downloaded the correct version of Resolve Studio.
Of the three possible (Mac, Windows, Linux) I have chosen the "Mac" version for the download.

If any of you have installed Davinci Resolve on a Mac with an M1 processor, I would appreciate it if you could tell me the steps to follow.
Offline

markr041

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:42 am

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 6:07 pm

Francisco Bartolomé wrote:Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm a Windows user who just bought a 16GB Mac Mini M1.

When I go to install Resolve Studio 17 the computer tells me that it is necessary to download Rosetta, and I have not continued with the installation.

I know that Blackmagic has made a native version of Resolve for Mac M1, and that is why I do not understand that the computer asks me to install Rosetta.

It occurred to me that I may not have downloaded the correct version of Resolve Studio.
Of the three possible (Mac, Windows, Linux) I have chosen the "Mac" version for the download.

If any of you have installed Davinci Resolve on a Mac with an M1 processor, I would appreciate it if you could tell me the steps to follow.


Just follow the steps, including installing Rosetta. Evidently Resolve Studio is not fully optimized for the M1. I use Resolve Studio on an M1 MacBook AIR and an M1 Mac Mini. It works fine, including editing 8K RAW video.
Mark Rosenzweig
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10999
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 7:03 pm

I just got me a Mac mini M1 16 GB and it didn't ask for a Rosetta installation when I installed DR Studio. Only later when I installed a different software (nothing to do with DR) I was asked for installing Rosetta 2.
Did you install anything else, like plug-ins?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline

Sid Jervis

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 12:17 am
  • Real Name: Sid Jervis

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 8:02 pm

My M1 Mac mini didn't ask for a Rosetta installation.
Was your Resolve from the Apple store or BM web site?
Offline

Francisco Bartolomé

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 pm
  • Location: Spain

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 8:03 pm

When choosing the version for Mac, the file "DaVinci_Resolve_Studio_17.2.2_Mac.dmg" is downloaded.

I double click with the mouse pointer on this file and a window appears that allows me to open the manual, install Resolve, or uninstall Resolve.

I double-click the option to install ("1" in the attached image), and then another window appears saying that I have to install Rosetta ("2" in the image).

And I dare not go from there
Attachments
Foto.png
Foto.png (279.96 KiB) Viewed 313 times
Offline

Francisco Bartolomé

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 pm
  • Location: Spain

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 8:07 pm

I downloaded the program from the Blackmagic Support Center.

From the App Store it forces me to pay it again, and I already have a license that I obtained when I bought my esteemed BMPCC4K camera
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10999
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 9:05 pm

You shouldn't go for the one in the App Store anyway.
I'd assume that it'll run natively. Check in the info-field that it's not set to run in Rosetta:
Screen Shot 2021-08-05 at 23.04.22.png
Screen Shot 2021-08-05 at 23.04.22.png (30.71 KiB) Viewed 300 times
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline

Francisco Bartolomé

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 pm
  • Location: Spain

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 10:16 pm

I've decided to move on, ignoring Rosetta's installation notice.

As you can see in the attached image, all the programs that are installed do so in the native mode of the M1 processor. This is good news.

Also the Raw player and the speed test are native. However Camera Setup seems to be running in Intel mode, with the help of Rosetta.

Thank you all for your advice
Attachments
Propiedades.png
Propiedades.png (280.51 KiB) Viewed 288 times
Offline

Dejan Špagnut

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 2:45 pm
  • Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 11:28 pm

Probably the installer itself is an Intel software, once you install the Resolve Studio, it is M1 native.
Offline

Francisco Bartolomé

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 pm
  • Location: Spain

Re: Install Resolve on Mac M1

PostFri Aug 06, 2021 9:20 am

It makes perfect sense what you say

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: franciscovaldez, Google [Bot], Ray Snell, RonMacNutt, samlivingstone, TheBloke and 74 guests