Adaptive audio workflow tips

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

elkins.alex

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:57 pm

Adaptive audio workflow tips

PostThu Sep 02, 2021 12:30 pm

Hi all,

For the purposes of simplicity I'm using adaptive audio tracks as I edit (e.g. 5 channels of different audio - lav 1, lav 2, boom, onboard, mix - housed within a single audio clip). This works well because it means I have fewer audio tracks to worry about as I move things around a timeline.

However, I am amazed that it is still the case after all these years that there is no way to adjust the levels of individual channels within that audio clip.

Any tips? I'm cutting a feature so have no real desire to switch back to using single tracks per audio channel as it very quickly becomes unwieldy, but this limitation is very irritating.

I'm inclined to just wait it out and trust that this is on Blackmagic's to-do list.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Adaptive audio workflow tips

PostThu Sep 02, 2021 3:38 pm

I think separate adjustments requiring separate tracks will always be the case.

I tend to use one track per person, or at least per microphone, so I can make track-wide adjustments. Yes, this can mean several dozen tracks (or more) for a feature film, but that does seem to be the norm.
Offline

elkins.alex

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: Adaptive audio workflow tips

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 4:05 pm

I think separate adjustments requiring separate tracks will always be the case


Think outside the box, Jim! Why should this always be the case? In the Fairlight page we can already go in and see each individual channel. It doesn't seem to be a huge leap of faith to think that at some point we might also be able to adjust the levels of those channels.

Screenshot 2021-09-16 at 16.58.45.png
Screenshot 2021-09-16 at 16.58.45.png (40.38 KiB) Viewed 50 times


It's only 'the norm' to have 1 timeline track per channel because Avid and Premiere don't have a suitable alternative. Resolve and FCP both do. FCP handles this well but Resolve has this pretty glaring limitation.

For what it's worth, my current workflow/workaround is basically to not worry too much about audio (knowing that further down the line someone is going to mix it properly and will want every channel I can give them). For any sound that is particularly bad I'm muting the bad channels using clip attributes. Prior to sending to the sound mix I will use the 'convert to linked group' command in order to split each adaptive track out to mono.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Basjoe, Bing [Bot], Blaise Jadoul, chrisbrearley, cobra427, Daniele Bemportato, eikonoklastes, jakin1950, Majestic-12 [Bot], Phil Side, TheBloke and 108 guests