Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 3:44 am

This one is really weird.

I rewind the play head completely at the beginning or at any other location using the side-scroll of the mouse wheel. I hit play either via spacebar or L key.

2 times out of 3 the play will stop after a few milliseconds! And I have to hit play again to continue!!

This is really annoying.
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11258
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 7:09 am

Studio or free? Which source codec?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 8:26 am

Uli Plank wrote:Studio or free? Which source codec?

1. Free
2. H.264

What I found out is that if I wait for 2 seconds after I remove the pressure on the mouse-wheel, there is no bug.

If I hit the space bar immediately or less than ~ a second after I remove my finger on the mouse-wheel I get this behavior.
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11258
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 11:11 am

What happens if you convert the stuff to DNxHR or ProRes and try again?
If it works much better, you may need to convert all your sources or buy Studio.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8884
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 2:07 pm

I get weirdness when I have delay, that is, when a system is located somewhere else (miles) and I have a VPN/RGS type of station where there is a delay between doing something and the execution: muscle memory expect instantaneous actions, but the latency create weird effects.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 4:03 pm

Uli Plank wrote:What happens if you convert the stuff to DNxHR or ProRes and try again?
If it works much better, you may need to convert all your sources or buy Studio.


How can I convert the sources?
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11258
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 4:46 pm

With Resolve itself or with tools like Shutter Encoder.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 5:21 pm

Uli Plank wrote:What happens if you convert the stuff to DNxHR or ProRes and try again?
If it works much better, you may need to convert all your sources or buy Studio.


Here is a video of this bug:

https://streamable.com/60c6jg
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8884
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 10:14 pm

1) is this behavior only in teh cut page?
2) how’s in teh color page?
3) hows in the edit page?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 5:27 am

waltervolpatto wrote:1) is this behavior only in teh cut page?
2) how’s in teh color page?
3) hows in the edit page?


The edit page timeline doesn't seem to support the side-crolling with the mouse wheel, nor does the rest.
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8884
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 4:00 pm

Jobol777 wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:1) is this behavior only in teh cut page?
2) how’s in teh color page?
3) hows in the edit page?


The edit page timeline doesn't seem to support the side-crolling with the mouse wheel, nor does the rest.


In other words, could be this just a mouse issue? Can you try with another mouse?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3469
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 7:00 pm

The mouse wheel works here in the Edit, Color, Fairlight, and Deliver pages. The Cut page has slightly different behaviour where you need to hold down the Ctrl key whilst using the scroll wheel.

Also, no problem with playback stopping after using the Home key, J or L, or dragging the playhead anywhere with h264 clips. My footage is 50fps as well.
Resolve Studio 17.4
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.12 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline
User avatar

visualfeast

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 6:51 pm
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Real Name: BEN JORDAN

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 8:01 pm

My experience (plugged in a M705 with side-scrolling just to test):

media, fusion, color (mouse over viewer) pages : side-scrolling same result as normal scrolling (zooms)

edit, color (mouse over timeline) fairlight, deliver pages : side-scrolling rewinds/fast-forwards normal and quickly pressing play works fine

cut page : side-scrolling and ctrl-normal scrolling rewinds/fast-forwards. quickly pressing play shortcut (even the one on speed editor) stops playback after a few frames as Jobol777 describes! requires another press of play shortcut to continue. Even tested quickly clicking the play button under record monitor with mouse after the side-scroll and it stop playback after a few frames as well.

No logitech software installed so the side-scrolling is using whatever Windows default setup is.
Last edited by visualfeast on Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: Ryzen 5950x • 64GB • 75TB RAID • 2080 Super • 3x Dell U2415 • Intensity Pro 4K • calibrated Shogun 7
Mobile: ZBook 17 G3 • 64GB • Quadro M5000M
Speed Editor • 2x Resolve Studio
Offline
User avatar

visualfeast

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 6:51 pm
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Real Name: BEN JORDAN

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 8:01 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:The mouse wheel works here in the Edit, Color, Fairlight, and Deliver pages. The Cut page has slightly different behaviour where you need to hold down the Ctrl key whilst using the scroll wheel

We're talking about side-scrolling with wheel, not normal scrolling.
Desktop: Ryzen 5950x • 64GB • 75TB RAID • 2080 Super • 3x Dell U2415 • Intensity Pro 4K • calibrated Shogun 7
Mobile: ZBook 17 G3 • 64GB • Quadro M5000M
Speed Editor • 2x Resolve Studio
Offline
User avatar

Jobol777

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am
  • Real Name: Joe James

Re: Bug:: 17.3.1: Play stops after a few milliseconds!

PostThu Sep 16, 2021 9:27 pm

visualfeast wrote:cut page : side-scrolling and ctrl-normal scrolling rewinds/fast-forwards. quickly pressing play shortcut (even the one on speed editor) stops playback after a few frames as Jobol777 describes! requires another press of play shortcut to continue. Even tested quickly clicking the play button under record monitor with mouse after the side-scroll and it stop playback after a few frames as well.

No logitech software installed so the side-scrolling is using whatever Windows default setup is.


Thanks for reproducing and confirming the bug!

Hopefully Blackmagic is listening.
  • Resolve 17.3.1
  • Windows 10, Build 19043
  • Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5675 @ 3.07GHz, 4393 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
  • Radeon RX 580 Series

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 68arti, JDWidell, Kenzo, Leonardo Levy, Nick2021, Regi Ellis, roger.magnusson, thefilmaddict and 78 guests