...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Adrian Mcyorian

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:02 am

...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostSat Aug 21, 2021 7:21 pm

We are not sure what happens but it has been impossible to create a video with alpha transparency that Vmix could use, it is simply impossible. no matter what format or codec you use it is really impossible. the transparency is visible in after effects and premiere but Vmix can only see the alpha if this is rendered from adobe or another application. The problem becomes worse when we realize that you cannot render the alpha from the native transitions of resolve, it is simply impossible and at the same time incredible that something that seems so simple is not implemented yet. I hope the development team will check this.
What the hell happens with the alpha renders and with those transitions?, we love DR an Blackmagic but we had to go back to using adobe for this!
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
System specs:
Resolve Studio version: 17.3

OS: Windows 10
CPU: Intel core I5
RAM: 32GB
GPU: GTX 1080
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: ...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostSun Aug 22, 2021 6:08 pm

Improvements have been made since 16.

Try updating to the current 17.3.
Offline
User avatar

Adrian Mcyorian

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:02 am

Re: ...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostFri Sep 17, 2021 5:00 pm

im already on the last version! i dunno what is wrong between VMIX and Resolve! :cry:
System specs:
Resolve Studio version: 17.3

OS: Windows 10
CPU: Intel core I5
RAM: 32GB
GPU: GTX 1080
Offline
User avatar

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 516
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: ...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostFri Sep 17, 2021 6:25 pm

If you want to output a file with Alpha, you will have to use a saver node in Fusion.

I do not believe there is any way to output embedded alpha from resolve.
Offline
User avatar

Fernando Orozco

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:33 pm
  • Location: Barranquilla

Re: ...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostFri Sep 17, 2021 6:32 pm

Fusion doesn't have the option to export compositions to file so we are screwed, thanks BMD but I'll stick to AE in the meanwhile
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" Arthur C. Clarke
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 945
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: ...and we could never render an alpha video for vmix

PostFri Sep 17, 2021 7:26 pm

I don't know vmix, but

the transparency is visible in after effects and premiere


implies that this is not really a resolve issue


although i agree that exporting video+alpha from resolve is often not exactly a day on the beach. for example ,as you said, with standard transitions its impossible.
resolve 17.1
windows 10
i7 6950x
2x gtx 1080 8gb
96gb DDR4 3200

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gabe67, Keith Sanborn, Peter Cave, Pibeloch and 61 guests