Extreme Resolutions

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tsbrown86

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm
  • Real Name: Terry Brown

Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 6:26 pm

Does anyone have any experience with Resolve and very high resolutions? I'm currently working on a project that will eventually require delivering 27K finished material as sequential DPX files. The project is currently working with 8K QT proxies for editorial.
Just want to see if there are any potential issues with plug-in/filters going beyond 16K.
As Leon Silverman once said, "How Manny 'K' are OK? :)
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 6:33 pm

Going from 8K to 27K will be more than 11x the data. Since Resolve depends heavily on gpu processing, you will probably get serious gpu vram (lack of it) issues.

What are you doing more specifically? Is it mostly edit and grading based project or does it involve compositing too?
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1596
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 6:35 pm

I don't think you'll be able to use Resolve at that resolution. Maybe if you have two A6000s with an NVLink bridge, but even if it works, everything will be unbelievably slow.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17
Windows 10 Pro 2004
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 6:37 pm

NVLink doesn’t do squat in Resolve.
I do stuff.
Offline

tsbrown86

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm
  • Real Name: Terry Brown

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 6:58 pm

I will have two A6000s with 48GB ram each. This will generally be grading and transitions. Not worried about slow rendering. I will work mostly with the 8k proxies and the render out the final DPX sequences from the 27k master files for delivery. Due to NDA, I cannot reveal project or client but the 27K files will be further unconverted for the final display. This one’s a challenge.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7692
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 9:06 pm

27K is most likely not the job for Resolve.
Not sure if any tool can handle it adequately, but I would look elsewhere into things like Mistika, Scratch etc. One of the latest tools as those seems to have engines which better suit big resolutions.
Resolve is not very resources efficient when it comes to large formats. It quickly chokes on VRAM.
With such a projects you don't really use what you like but what can actually do the job at all :)

You may be also forced to work on pieces and later stitch it.
Last edited by Andrew Kolakowski on Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1596
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 10:22 pm

Hendrik Proosa wrote:NVLink doesn’t do squat in Resolve.

Does the support they added in 17 not include memory pooling?
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17
Windows 10 Pro 2004
Offline

tsbrown86

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm
  • Real Name: Terry Brown

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 10:46 pm

According to the Resolve documentation, it can handle resolutions up to 32k x 32k. We’ll see. Again, I will not need to to do anything too complex and should not have to even apply scaling.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7692
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 11:13 pm

32Kx32K is just theoretical number which engine supports (use to be 16Kx16K if I'm correct and it's linked to GPU limitations itself).
Working on it will be rather 'easy' if you use all Resolve settings properly and work on eg. scaled 4K preview.
Then you will get to the moment of exporting full resolution piece and I'm 99% sure you will get GPU errors and never export it. At least it's easy to test :D (maybe simple timeline will work on some high-end GPU).
Offline

tsbrown86

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm
  • Real Name: Terry Brown

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 11:36 pm

Hey Andrew, it seems the 16k limitation is a Metal (Mac OS)one and not necessarily a graphics card one. The A6000 with 48GB of ram should not have an issue with the raster size I’m using. If I was doing and recursive processing like Optical Flow or noise reduction I would be much more worried. I have sent some sample files to the dev team in Singapore who also recommended the A6000.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7692
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostSun Sep 19, 2021 11:43 pm

If it works then cool, but better do real tests like if you were exporting final thing.
You don't want to do all work and then end up not been able to export final master.

Maybe simple timeline won't be an issue. People seems to hit VRAM problems quite quickly even with good GPU and at 4K-8K resolution, but maybe it's to do with NR etc.
27K is a lot more compared even to 8K, so I'm somehow not so optimistic :)

You also want to use DPX- this is a lot of GBytes/secs. No idea how you want to play it :)

I use to do such projects back in London. You made me miss it :)
Offline

tsbrown86

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm
  • Real Name: Terry Brown

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 12:47 am

Believe it or not, the playback system will be playing this content back at near 44k at up to 60fps. Multiple segments on servers with SSD RAIDS.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 5:45 am

I would suspect resolutions like this are possible, but will not be cheap to accomplish. What's your budget? Have you ever done this before? Has your client ever delivered a project at this resolution before?
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 6:52 am

Jack Fairley wrote:
Hendrik Proosa wrote:NVLink doesn’t do squat in Resolve.

Does the support they added in 17 not include memory pooling?

Last I asked, support means ”it doesn’t crash” according to BMD official support team. Rohit Gupta, one of the BMD engineers (I believe he is part of the engineering team or leading it) wrote in FB group that no, Resolve does not support mem pooling.
I do stuff.
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7692
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Extreme Resolutions

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 8:30 am

tsbrown86 wrote:Believe it or not, the playback system will be playing this content back at near 44k at up to 60fps. Multiple segments on servers with SSD RAIDS.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


27Kx15K at 30fps is 49GB/s so this is still possible over 1 PCIE gen 4 ( just bit pricey).
Different times compared to days when I’ve done things like this. Back then it would be crazy difficult.

On my 11GB card Resolve VRAM errors on simple playback at around 13x6K, so it's really not that obvious for me that even on 48GB card 27K (by ?) will work.

Please report if exports work :)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Albert Hofmann, Andre Grossmann, Andrew Kolakowski and 128 guests