Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Aug 26, 2021 8:21 pm

This has been an issue for the past three versions of Studio and remains 100% repeatable.

Make any clip in the timeline a new Fusion Clip (great way to work in Fusion with 4K and larger clips). Add a tracker. Put some trackers on the clip. Hit track... nothing happens. Hit anything else, get "this will cancel the current render" popup box. Try to cancel out, program freezes and crashes. I can repeat this process with 100% reliability on any project, in any 17.0+ version of Resolve.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostFri Aug 27, 2021 4:46 pm

Worked here in Studio 17.3 for Windows. (Though my test was a 1080 clip. Is that relevant?)
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostFri Aug 27, 2021 6:05 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Worked here in Studio 17.3 for Windows. (Though my test was a 1080 clip. Is that relevant?)


Might be. Did you make it a Fusion Clip first? That's the important part. Works just fine doing it on a straight clip. Attempt to make it a Fusion Clip and the crashes begin.

Maybe it does matter if you're making a 1080p Fusion Clip out of a 4K clip rather than a 1080p native clip.
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1321
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostFri Aug 27, 2021 8:05 pm

I couldn't recreate it either in a quick test, in Studio 17.3 on macOS.

I did an extreme example: Multiple BRAW 12K clips on a 1080p timeline. Made a Fusion Clip out the sequential BRAW clips, in Fusion added a Tracker node, positioned it, then clicked Track Forward. It tracked OK to the end of the clip (2300 frames).

You mentioned trackers plural, so then I tested again with four trackers added:
Image

Still no problem.

Finally I repeated the second test on a UHD timeline. Still worked fine (but much slower of course.)

Perhaps show a screen capture video demonstrating the problem? There's probably some other factor at work.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostFri Aug 27, 2021 8:10 pm

k2blades540 wrote:Did you make it a Fusion Clip first?
Actually, I didn't because....there's no need to do that.

But I tested that process and it still worked. Even in 4K.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Sep 02, 2021 5:19 am

It happens to me also sometimes when I am using a planar tracker inside a fusion clip.
Workaround: select all other MediaIn nodes and press ctrl+p to disable them temporarily.
Offline

bounceHouse

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:40 am
  • Real Name: Wesley McDermott

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Sep 02, 2021 1:17 pm

Ah! Thank you for the suggestion @panos_mts.
PC Win 10 Pro, 64GB ram; NVidia 472.12; dual monitor; GEForce GTX 1660 (6GB main display GPU) plus additional GEForce GTX 1650 Super 4GB; CUDA processing mode; SSD cache, separate SSD for data; Davinci Studio 17.3.2 (build 8)
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostTue Sep 07, 2021 5:36 pm

panos_mts wrote:It happens to me also sometimes when I am using a planar tracker inside a fusion clip.
Workaround: select all other MediaIn nodes and press ctrl+p to disable them temporarily.


What do you mean by "all other" mediain? What if there's only one mediain?
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostTue Sep 07, 2021 5:40 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
k2blades540 wrote:Did you make it a Fusion Clip first?
Actually, I didn't because....there's no need to do that.

But I tested that process and it still worked. Even in 4K.


The point of making it a Fusion clip is that it bakes in the color grade and reduces it to 1080p. Export render speed on the Fusion clip (when this used to work) was 40-50fps. Using a straight 4K or 5.4K to do the Fusion work, export render speed is <0.5fps - which results in total render times for my 2-3 minute videos going from a couple minutes to 15-20 minutes, which is a massive, massive time waster.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostTue Sep 07, 2021 6:04 pm

k2blades540 wrote:
panos_mts wrote:It happens to me also sometimes when I am using a planar tracker inside a fusion clip.
Workaround: select all other MediaIn nodes and press ctrl+p to disable them temporarily.


What do you mean by "all other" mediain? What if there's only one mediain?

If you select multiple stacked clips and create a fusion clip, each track will appear as a MediaIn node inside fusion. That's the main purpose of fusion clips. I have never used fusion clips with a single clip.

If you want to bake the color grade and reduce resolution you can try to create a compound clip instead.
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostTue Sep 07, 2021 8:17 pm

panos_mts wrote:
k2blades540 wrote:
panos_mts wrote:It happens to me also sometimes when I am using a planar tracker inside a fusion clip.
Workaround: select all other MediaIn nodes and press ctrl+p to disable them temporarily.


What do you mean by "all other" mediain? What if there's only one mediain?

If you select multiple stacked clips and create a fusion clip, each track will appear as a MediaIn node inside fusion. That's the main purpose of fusion clips. I have never used fusion clips with a single clip.

If you want to bake the color grade and reduce resolution you can try to create a compound clip instead.


I think I tried that at one point and it made no difference, but will give it another try to confirm, especially now that we've got another update version.
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Sep 09, 2021 10:27 pm

Hasn't become any less of an issue. Have a color graded 4K clip and a title I want to use a planar tracker on. Make them a Fusion clip, add a planar tracker, hit track... nothing. Do anything else... program crash. 100% repeatable, any project, any timeline, any clips.
Offline

Maxwellx

  • Posts: 386
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Sep 09, 2021 11:51 pm

I guess you should give the crash logs to BM if you want them to look at it.
I tested it and the tracking worked without a crash, on Windows 10. 4k video on a 1080p timeline, then I created a Fusion clip before going in Fusion.
Last edited by Maxwellx on Thu Sep 09, 2021 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostThu Sep 09, 2021 11:53 pm

I did some tests and I think the problem is related to the framerate. Can anyone else confirm?

Test 1:
Footage framerate: 29.97fps
Project framerate: 25fps
Result: Planar tracker is not working inside fusion or compound clips.

Test 2:
Footage framerate: 29.97fps
Project framerate: 29.97fps
Result: Planar tracker is working

Test 3:
Footage framerate: 50fps
Project framerate: 25fps
Result: Planar tracker is working

Test 4:
Footage framerate: 50fps
Project framerate: 30fps
Result: Planar tracker is not working

Test 5:
Footage framerate: 25fps
Project framerate: 50fps
Result: Planar tracker is not working

Test 6:
Footage framerate: 25fps
Project framerate: 25fps
Result: Planar tracker is working

Edit:
I forgot to mention that I have optical flow enabled and set to standard faster as project default setting. If I disable optical flow and set it to nearest, planar tracker is working with any combination of footage and project framerate. So my guess is that the problem happens when the optical flow kicks in
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostSat Sep 11, 2021 4:49 pm

Nice investigation, Pan. ;)
Offline

Maxwellx

  • Posts: 386
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostSun Sep 12, 2021 11:23 am

panos_mts wrote:I did some tests and I think the problem is related to the framerate. Can anyone else confirm?

Test 1:
Footage framerate: 29.97fps
Project framerate: 25fps
Result: Planar tracker is not working inside fusion or compound clips.


Can't do the rest but this one it works on my machine, win 10, last Studio drivers on a 3080
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostSun Sep 12, 2021 12:18 pm

Maxwellx wrote:
panos_mts wrote:I did some tests and I think the problem is related to the framerate. Can anyone else confirm?

Test 1:
Footage framerate: 29.97fps
Project framerate: 25fps
Result: Planar tracker is not working inside fusion or compound clips.


Can't do the rest but this one it works on my machine, win 10, last Studio drivers on a 3080

Did you try with optical flow enabled?
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1321
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostSun Sep 12, 2021 12:26 pm

I see the same problem with 23.976 footage on a 30 FPS project and timeline and Optical Flow enabled. First test was with Optical Flow enabled via Inspector on the clips, before making them into a Fusion Clip.

Clicking Track Forward actually seemed to lock up Resolve in fact. I tried deleting the node and got the warning about "this will cancel the current Render", and when I said OK, I got the macOS beach ball and had to Force Quit Resolve.

Testing again without Optical Flow seemed to work fine, with the tracker tracking and no freeze.

I repeated the test using project settings Optical Flow with the same result, and again Resolve froze when I tried to delete the Tracker node - despite having first attempted to stop the tracker via the stop button in the Inspector.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1321
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostSun Sep 12, 2021 12:38 pm

As a final test:

30 FPS media on 30 FPS timeline, but retimed with Speed Change = 150%. Optical Flow enabled.

= Same result, tracker freezes.

Testing again without the speed change = no crash.

So the bug appears to require these three conditions:
- Optical Flow enabled
- any FPS change occurring that triggers Optical Flow
- inside a container, with the Fusion comp being on top of the container.

EDIT: Oh, but just to complicate matters:

When I tested No speed change + Optical Flow enabled + Fusion Clip with Tracker on the Fusion Clip, while the Tracker did track forward fine, Resolve still locked up when I tried to click Stop on the tracking.

Could be a different bug? Freezes and crashes are not exactly uncommon with Fusion.

Or it could be that the freeze is a different bug, or has slightly different triggers.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 6:18 pm

TheBloke wrote:I see the same problem with 23.976 footage on a 30 FPS project and timeline and Optical Flow enabled. First test was with Optical Flow enabled via Inspector on the clips, before making them into a Fusion Clip.

Clicking Track Forward actually seemed to lock up Resolve in fact. I tried deleting the node and got the warning about "this will cancel the current Render", and when I said OK, I got the macOS beach ball and had to Force Quit Resolve.

Testing again without Optical Flow seemed to work fine, with the tracker tracking and no freeze.

I repeated the test using project settings Optical Flow with the same result, and again Resolve froze when I tried to delete the Tracker node - despite having first attempted to stop the tracker via the stop button in the Inspector.


Greatly appreciate you doing all this testing. I had forgotten that I had Optical Flow enabled by default. Will do some tests now and see what difference this makes.
In my own experience, no speed scaling is needed to trigger the crash scenario. In fact, on a side note, Optical Flow occasionally causes artifacting on clips that have no speed changes applied at all and matching source/timeline framerates.

On the previously mentioned frame rate potential problem, that shouldn't be an issue because the source media and timeline framerates match on all these projects.
Last edited by k2blades540 on Tue Sep 21, 2021 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 6:29 pm

No dice. Same exact issue.
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 6:34 pm

Disabled Temporal NR before turning it into a Fusion Clip and it works fine. Not the first, second, or tenth glitch I've seen caused by Temporal NR.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 7:19 pm

I think it happens with every temporal effect that needs access to multiple frames like optical flow/temporal NR/motion blur/deflicker etc..
Offline

k2blades540

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tyler Mattas

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 12:08 am

panos_mts wrote:I think it happens with every temporal effect that needs access to multiple frames like optical flow/temporal NR/motion blur/deflicker etc..


Is it something BM is aware of and working on? Applying NR to a now lower res, baked-in color grading clip is not ideal. Well worth being able to actually use Fusion and render out at more than 0.1fps, but definitely not ideal.

Just tested and even with Optical Flow enabled, everything works fine as long as Temporal NR isn't baked into the Fusion clip.
Offline

georgekg

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:23 pm
  • Real Name: Aleksandar Djordjevic

Re: Tracking on Fusion Clips remains non-functional

PostFri Oct 01, 2021 10:39 pm

I'm on a Win 10 and DR 17.3.1 build 5 and it still happens.
1080p timeline, edit page, one clip selected (no changes made to the clip), make fusion clip, fusion tab, add planar tracker, hit track -> everything is OK.
Undo the whole mentioned process, same timeline, same clip, edit tab, change speed to any value below or above 100% (no other changes made), make fusion clip, fusion tab, add planar tracker, hit track-> problem occurs.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, id4alexey, João Marco, wcgreeninfo and 101 guests