Resolution drop when playing footage

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Sean van Berlo

  • Posts: 397
  • Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:33 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Resolution drop when playing footage

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 1:39 pm

I know I ticked some box that I cannot remember to uncheck, but my resolution drops only when I press the spacebar and play footage on the timeline. However there's no cache, no timeline proxy mode. What do I have to turn off?
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3466
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolution drop when playing footage

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 3:58 pm

Though you said that there is no Timeline Proxy Mode set, are you sure? That behaviour is what I would expect to see if one is set.
Attachments
Playback Proxy.jpg
Playback Proxy.jpg (73.15 KiB) Viewed 198 times
Resolve Studio 17.3.2
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.12 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

Sean van Berlo

  • Posts: 397
  • Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:33 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Resolution drop when playing footage

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 4:25 pm

Hey Charles, thanks for getting back to me! I'm 100% sure.
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Resolution drop when playing footage

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 5:14 pm

Take a look at Preferences -> User -> Playback Settings -> Performance Mode
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 785
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Resolution drop when playing footage

PostTue Sep 21, 2021 6:37 pm

panos_mts wrote:Take a look at Preferences -> User -> Playback Settings -> Performance Mode
This.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anton Meleshkevich, Bing [Bot], David E King, Olaf at BMForum and 84 guests