Apple color window vs Blackmagic

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

zingaro

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:02 pm
  • Real Name: Giovanni Massa

Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostFri Sep 17, 2021 7:45 pm

A quick one. When i am clicking in the color box - to change the background color in Fusion- I get the Apple color window not the Blackmagic one. I've tried to check the Resolve Preferences and the Fusion Setting but I don't seem to find a way. Maybe somebody can help.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-09-17 at 3.41.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-09-17 at 3.41.55 PM.png (409.26 KiB) Viewed 611 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10974
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 3:42 am

moved to Resolve forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11220
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 7:33 am

Same here.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 7:43 am

They use the default one from Qt which has OS specific appearance as far as I know, under Win it isn't some special BMD picker either, it is the regular QColorDialog: https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qcolordialog.html
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostMon Sep 20, 2021 8:12 am

In Fusion you can click the little twirl icon to use an in-Inspector colour picker. I usually prefer that option to bringing up the full OS colour picker.

Image
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

zingaro

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:02 pm
  • Real Name: Giovanni Massa

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostWed Sep 22, 2021 10:19 pm

Thank you Tom and all, but still would like to now about the BM color window as in the attached pic. How can i get that to show vs the Apple one? Is it possible on a Mac?
Attachments
bm.jpg
bm.jpg (114.1 KiB) Viewed 453 times
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2652
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 3:47 am

I have NEVER seen that colour picker window on Mac. How did you display it in Resolve?
Also, why do you need it?
Resolve 16.2.6 AND Resolve 17.3.1
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 5:28 am

Peter Cave wrote:I have NEVER seen that colour picker window on Mac. How did you display it in Resolve?
Also, why do you need it?

I believe that's the one in Fusion.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 7:17 am

zingaro wrote:Thank you Tom and all, but still would like to now about the BM color window as in the attached pic. How can i get that to show vs the Apple one? Is it possible on a Mac?
That's not the "Blackmagic one" - it's the QT colour picker that's provided on Windows only. Based on the Windows colour picker (as seen in Paint for example), but with the addition of the HEX value picker.

There is no way to get that on Mac.

When you click to choose a colour in Fusion you will get this on macOS:
Image
Or this on Windows:
Image

There is no way to get the other one. Short of changing your operating system, of course :)

But do remember that the macOS colour picker has multiple tabs with various different colour picking options:
Image

So if you're looking to enter RGB / HEX values, the second tab along can give you this:
Image

The macOS colour picker actually has quite a few more options than the Windows/QT one. It's just they're spread out amongst multiple tabs, so you have to click around more to see the options versus on Windows.
Last edited by TheBloke on Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 7:47 am

Not that it matters to user, but it isn't Windows picker, it is from Qt toolkit. Difference is in the hex value knob which Win picker does not have, otherwise they look very similar. It might be important to the topic though, because this picker could possibly be used under Mac too. There is a setting that force-disables native picker: QColorDialog::DontUseNativeDialog
Last edited by Hendrik Proosa on Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 7:51 am

Oh yeah, my mistake. I looked at the one in Paint but only glanced quickly and thought it was identical:
Image

I missed the addition of the Hex value in the QT one. I'll edit to make that clear, thanks.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 8:02 am

Hendrik Proosa wrote:It might be important to the topic though, because this picker could possibly be used under Mac too. There is a setting that force-disables native picker: QColorDialog::DontUseNativeDialog
Oh that's interesting. I scoured the Fusion Studio options as if there was an option anywhere, it'd be there. But there's not.

Is there any way to specify that option at runtime - environment variable or such? Or can it only be chosen by the developer?
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 8:07 am

By the way, for the OP, you can see the official word on this in the Fusion section of the Resolve manual, which differentiates between the "macOS Colors panel" and "Windows Color dialog" (though Hendrik says the latter is actually the QT dialogue):

Image
Last edited by TheBloke on Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 8:09 am

Don't take my word on it, but not sure there is a way to change this from user side, because it is a Qt enum for setting this parameter for one specific colorpicker. It is possible to change it on runtime though, so could be turned into a preference setting for Resolve/Fusion. If there were a way to drill down to this specific picker through python, it might be possible to change it by user too, but I don't know if it is possible. It might be, because if you get a handle on one Qt object in Resovle/Fu you can probably walk the object hierarchy and search for the picker.
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1335
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 8:21 am

OK thanks for the details.

Personally I think the macOS colour picker is actually better than the Windows/QT one. At least, it provides more options in total. The Windows/QT one is perhaps more convenient as it shows everything in one window; you don't have to click around tabs.

But if you need more control, the macOS one has quite a few options, including the ability to select values for different colour spaces:
Image

I don't know if in practice that's ever going to be important in Fusion specifically, where one should normally be working in linear only, but it's there if it's needed.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Online

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 8:33 am

Selecting colors in different colorspace as a process by itself makes no sense to me, because values don't have colorspace. At best it would convert input values in colorspace x (what was set from that menu) to values in colorspace y (what was selected afterwards). Not sure how it works there, I'm not a mac user.

PS. "linear" is not a colorspace. Unless you attach a gamut to it, "linear" is meaningless.
I do stuff.
Offline

zingaro

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:02 pm
  • Real Name: Giovanni Massa

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 3:42 pm

Peter Cave wrote:I have NEVER seen that colour picker window on Mac. How did you display it in Resolve?
Also, why do you need it?


I saw this popping up in a Fusion tutorial - where the Hex value was just typed in to change the background color- and erroneously thought it was a native BM color picker because of the logo on the top left. Just digging in if it was an available option I was not aware of.
Offline

zingaro

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:02 pm
  • Real Name: Giovanni Massa

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 4:00 pm

TheBloke wrote:By the way, for the OP, you can see the official word on this in the Fusion section of the Resolve manual, which differentiates between the "macOS Colors panel" and "Windows Color dialog" (though Hendrik says the latter is actually the QT dialogue):

Image


Thanks, it is just right there.... there is indeed no mention of a Blackmagic color picker)
Offline

zingaro

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:02 pm
  • Real Name: Giovanni Massa

Re: Apple color window vs Blackmagic

PostThu Sep 23, 2021 4:06 pm

Thank you Hendrick and Tom for elaborating and helpful info!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], jhoepffner, Marshall Harrington, mpetech, panos_mts, Ron Simmons, SkierEvans and 97 guests