GPU Memory issue

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

charliedango

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:49 pm

GPU Memory issue

PostFri Sep 24, 2021 3:07 pm

I have a timeline with 16 jpeg images, crossfade transitions added between them, one transform node added to each image clip with a time expression added to adjust the y translation at a set rate. Any attempt at playback results in a low memory message. I have an RTX 2080ti GPU and 64GB of system RAM.

Any thoughts?
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 894
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostFri Sep 24, 2021 3:12 pm

What is your project/timeline resolution?
What resolution are your JPEGs?
Resolve Studio 17.3.1 | Fusion Studio 17.3.1 | Win 10 Pro (21H1) | i9-7940x, P4000 (471.41, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

charliedango

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostFri Sep 24, 2021 3:14 pm

jpegs are 2448x3264
timeline is 1920x1080
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 894
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostFri Sep 24, 2021 3:48 pm

That surprises me. I was expecting that your JPEGs would be huge or that you were using an 8K timeline resolution or something like that (which might explain the consumption of GPU memory). Sorry, I don't have any ideas. You aren't using any Fusion effects or transitions, correct?
Resolve Studio 17.3.1 | Fusion Studio 17.3.1 | Win 10 Pro (21H1) | i9-7940x, P4000 (471.41, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

charliedango

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostFri Sep 24, 2021 3:56 pm

The only thing I'm doing with fusion is applying a single transform node with a time expression to move the clip on the y plane. Crossfade transitions between clips are added on the timeline.
Online
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1308
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostSat Sep 25, 2021 7:07 am

You're very likely hitting this issue: Fusion page: Major performance issue with MediaIn v Loader

Putting still images on a timeline and then going into Fusion will access each image with a MediaIn node. MediaIn nodes cannot cache in RAM, so the still image is copied over and over to the GPU on every frame. When many still images are involved this can very quickly cause out of VRAM errors. Resolve/Fusion has many problems with VRAM caching.

Normally the workaround is to replace the MediaIn with a Loader node, and then everything works great. But a Loader can't access timeline media, so things are more complicated in your case.

Possible quick solution: go into each Fusion comp, and in its MediaOut node, go to Settings -> Frame Render Script and enter this script:
Code: Select all
if time % 20 == 0 or time == comp.RenderEnd then fu:PurgeCache() end
This will purge the RAM and VRAM cache every 20 frames, and also on the last frame of the composition. This might allow enough VRAM to be available for all the separate Fusion comps to work OK. Make sure you do it for every separate Fusion composition involved.

If that doesn't help, what you could do is forget the timeline, and just make a single Fusion Composition. In that composition, make Loader nodes to load all your still images direct from disk (one per still image, so 16 in total), and then re-create the timeline in Fusion. Ie using Merge or Dissolve nodes to comp one image over the previous one, and re-create the cross-dissolve transition you were previously doing on Edit.

Then drop that Fusion Composition on a timeline and render it. That should render fine with no VRAM problems.

I could advise more specifically if you show a screenshot of your Edit timeline, and an example of the Fusion comps you're currently making.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

charliedango

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: GPU Memory issue

PostThu Sep 30, 2021 2:56 am

Replaced mediain with loader and that solved the issue. Thanks TheBloke for the help.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alain Baars, Google [Bot], MaicoOrdelmans and 73 guests