CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 12:29 am

Hello. I'm new to DR and really enjoy what I've learned about it so far. I would like to upgrade the computer some, but have a somewhat limited budget. The question is should I upgrade the CPU first or the memory first. I edit one 40-60min. simple video once a week. Occasionally I will edit a more complex video (more tracks, more effects, etc). Any advice would be appreciated.

Here's the specs:
Win 10
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
DDR4-2400 2*8GB (16 total)
Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM
B450 chipset
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11284
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 6:29 am

Moved to Resolve forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11674
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 7:34 am

What are your sources? If they are in H.264 or H.265, I'd upgrade to Studio Resolve first.
The rest will be fine for HD timelines.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 3:06 pm

GPU, I had a gtx 1650 with 4gb of VRAM and my existence was painful. Constant 'Out of Vram Errors'. Exporting to 4k was impossible.

I couldn't find a benchmark for the old model you have but for current gen;

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... Vega-1213/

and two Gens ago;

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... Vega-1213/
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11674
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 6:06 pm

4 GB of VRAM is not enough for 4K. Bu the TO didn't mention 4K.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 1:53 am

Thanks for the responses. As of right now I don't do hardly any 4k stuff. I had thought about upgrading the graphics card but for now the lack of availability and ridiculous prices on what one can find have put that on the back burner.

As far as upgrading to the studio version, what would be the benefit of that over hardware upgrades.

Thanks in advance.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11674
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 6:37 am

The benefit would be hardware decoding and encoding of many H.264/265 formats under Windows.
Since you don't tell us about your sources, just figure it out with Nvidia's matrixes.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 2:19 am

Uli Plank wrote:Since you don't tell us about your sources, just figure it out with Nvidia's matrixes.

Thanks for the response.

I don't have anything too fancy yet. My main sources include: iPad 6, Osmo Action, & Sony a77ii (xavcs). Almost everything I do is 30 fps and HD with the main exception being the Osmo Action @ 2K.

Like I said, I'm new to DR and still getting used to workflow.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 1:19 pm

Uli Plank wrote:just figure it out with Nvidia's matrixes.


Sorry, but you lost me on that one.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 5:04 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Since you don't tell us about your sources,


Sorry, but being new to the forum, my replies don't post right away as they need to be approved first.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11674
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostWed Oct 20, 2021 6:09 am

OK, so all of your sources are GOP formats. You'll profit a lot from Studio, since you are using Windows.
Try that first.
Please forget my question regarding the Nvidia matrix, since you've got an AMD GPU. Your Radeon 570 should be able to speed up most of your sources.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostWed Oct 20, 2021 3:21 pm

Thanks Uli. I appreciate the quick response.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostWed Oct 20, 2021 3:40 pm

@The_Hefay:

as Uli said, If you buy Studio, you still don't need to change the GPU because RX 570 is perfectly happy to hardware decode and encode h264 and h265 minus 10 bit variety which, I assume, you don't use or need. Having concluded that, the CPU would do very little and matter very little. If you don't touch the Fusion tab, of course :D

What you're not saying is whether you actually do have performance problems? Please look at your windows task manager CPU and RAM usage graphs while you're doing your most demanding stuff. If you don't saturate either, you don't need an upgrade.

I'd just buy the Studio version for now...
Asus Prime X370-Pro, R7 3700X@PBO, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4@3200MHz, Asrock RX 580 8GB, Adata A400 120 GB system SSD, A2000 500 GB scratch SSD, Media storage:"Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 17.3.2+Fusion Studio 17.3.2
Offline
User avatar

the_hefay

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Anderson

Re: CPU or RAM, what should I upgrade first

PostWed Oct 20, 2021 8:25 pm

Thanks Mario. I'm not too sure about performance issues yet as I'm still in the very basics of learning the workflow. I don't have a camera capable of 10-it yet and so that isn't a concern. Also, I won't use fusion hardly at all, at least for the near future.

I'll pull up task manager when I start my next project and see what it says.
Win 10; AMD Ryzen 5 2600; DDR4-2400 16GB; Radeon RX 570 4GB RAM; B450 chipset

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, chbkoiklp457, crtkecnkl659, Jeremy, jfykeaucq871 and 96 guests