How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 4:12 pm

I've rather messed up by assumed I'd be able to upgrade to Studio instantly online. Does anyone know of a way of getting a license quickly? I started on a project in the free version, not realizing I'd be CPU bound for rendering, and I'm now stuck with a Monday deadline looming.
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11683
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 7:03 am

You can't render at all or it's just slow?
Which codec are you trying to render?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

John Griffin

  • Posts: 1191
  • Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 8:30 am

AFAIK you can't but online but a sympathetic retailer may forward you the activation code once you have paid.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11683
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 8:38 am

Hmm, on a Sunday?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 5:19 pm

It's slow. Like 8 days slow for a 2 minute timeline on an i-9 w/ 2x1080ti w/ 11gb vRAM each. I've tried rendering h.264, DNxHD, DNxHR.

I'd been getting really frustrated with Premiere and decided to switch a month or so ago to Resolve and had been loving it. The two projects I'd done with it so far were pretty simple, but this one's got a lot of Fusion stuff in it's just so slow. I couldn't figure out why and then noticed that the free version doesn't use the GPU for rendering.

Right now I'm thinking I'm just gonna have to redo it in Premiere/AE, so any tips anyone has that might help would be appreciated.

PS, I know, I should have checked, I know I shouldn't have committed to a project relying on a free piece of software I didn't really know, I know I shouldn't have assumed I'd just be able to just upgrade online (but really, it's 2021, who ships software licenses manually by mail..?).
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostSun Oct 17, 2021 11:35 pm

Core Micro systems will do email keys.

https://www.coremicro.com/blackmagic-de ... dv-resstud

I think a human is still involved, mine was not instant.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11291
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 12:55 am

Render the Fusion clips to an intermediate format and place them back in the timeline for your final h.264/5 pass
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 1:48 am

I found a store that sold it that was open, but it's made no difference at all. Resolve is using 2% CPU, my GPU is at 3% and it's rendering 0 frames per second and right now says its going to take 3 weeks to render...

Any idea what might be causing this? Having just spent $300 on Studio, I'm a bit miffed.
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11291
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 1:50 am

We will need a lot more info.
First, what is the playback speed on the color page?
Try rendering all the clips with no fusion to an intermediate format. Like ProRes.
What render speed do you get?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 2:07 am

Ok, will try that and get back to you.
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 3:25 am

Ok, so I've just spent 3 days trying to figure out what on earth had happened to my Resolve experience. Turns out someone who was working on the project with me rendered out an image montage at the native resolution of the images which was 11k x 11k.

I think I'm back up and running again now.
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 8:00 am

SimonMiddlemiss wrote:Ok, so I've just spent 3 days trying to figure out what on earth had happened to my Resolve experience. Turns out someone who was working on the project with me rendered out an image montage at the native resolution of the images which was 11k x 11k.
FYI if you have Fusion compositions directly on a clip - a "single-clip composition", where you put the playhead over a media file on Edit and then go to the Fusion page, or right-click and "Open In Fusion Page" - then Fusion sees the media at its full resolution, irrespective of the current timeline resolution.

By contrast, making a Fusion Clip from the media file(s) would first scale that media to timeline resolution before passing it to Fusion.

Therefore, in situations where there's media of a much higher resolution than the timeline, having a single-clip Fusion composition can cause a massive performance difference versus making a Fusion Clip of the media first.

So, assuming you did indeed have single-clip compositions on 11k media, that would certainly explain why performance tanked. If 11K media isn't needed then it's definitely better to use a lower resolution, but if any higher resolution is needed and a Fusion comp is being used, it might be worth considering (for the future) to make a Fusion Clip as this will cause the media to be scaled by Resolve before Fusion does its processing on it. This can significantly improve performance whenever media is higher resolution than the timeline it's on. Of course it also means that Fusion can't pan around in its full resolution.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 10:19 am

SimonMiddlemiss wrote:Ok, so I've just spent 3 days trying to figure out what on earth had happened to my Resolve experience. Turns out someone who was working on the project with me rendered out an image montage at the native resolution of the images which was 11k x 11k.

I think I'm back up and running again now.


Yeah images always struggle on NLE's especially that big haha

On the other side, Resolve please change this archaic way of buying your software. I'm sure it's put more than a good chunk of people off actually buying it just because of how annoying it is to do so
Offline

SimonMiddlemiss

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Simon Middlemiss

Re: How do I purchase a Studio License online ?

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 1:46 pm

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll do that in future.

P.S. Hat tip to Glazer's Cameras in Seattle who were open on a Sunday. Never been there before, but I could have bankrupted myself on their cinema cameras and optics. Never seen so many RED's in one place before.
Dell Precision 5820, 10 core i9-900X @ 3.7GHz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2x RTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
Surface Studio, 4 core i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, GeForce GTX 980M w/ 4GB vRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.1 on Windows 10.0.19044.1319

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: giannis_ch, panos_mts, pbronkar, seleemzaid, wd60xxx, Wouter Bouwens and 91 guests