Updated to 17.4, issue with audio plugins

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

pdesopo

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 10:55 pm
  • Real Name: Piero Desopo

Updated to 17.4, issue with audio plugins

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 3:06 am

Hi,

I just updated to the latest 17.4
I wanted to try some VST plugins. After I specified a folder for the new audio plugins, and restarted DaVinci, it can't play back in real time anymore.
I closed DaVinci, checked the task manager to make sure there isn't another instance already running, but nothing helped.

I then did a reboot, which seems to have fixed the issue. A new attempt at trying other audio plugin caused the same issue again. I will reboot, hoping that it'll fix it, though I'm quite confused by the behavior.

Any hints?

Here are my PC specs:

Computer: Alienware Area-51 R3
CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X (ThreadRipper, ZP-B1)
3400 MHz (34.00x100.0) @ 3692 MHz (37.00x99.8)
Motherboard: Alienware 0XF4NJ
BIOS: 1.2.0, 07/24/2020
Chipset: AMD X399 (Promontory)
Memory: 32768 MBytes @ 1064 MHz, 15-15-15-36
- 16384 MB PC21300 DDR4 SDRAM - Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
- 16384 MB PC21300 DDR4 SDRAM - Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
Graphics: ASUS TURBO GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, 11264 MB GDDR5X SDRAM
Graphics: DELL GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, 11264 MB GDDR5X SDRAM
Drive: Samsung SSD 860 QVO 2TB, 1953.5 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: KXG50ZNV512G NVMe TOSHIBA 512GB, 500.1 GB, NVMe
Drive: HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GS40N, DVD+R DL
Sound: NVIDIA GP102 - High Definition Audio Controller
Sound: AMD Zen - HD Audio Controller
Sound: NVIDIA GP102 - High Definition Audio Controller
Network: Qualcomm/Atheros E2500 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Network: Killer Wireless-n/a/ac 1535 Wireless Network Adapter
Network: Qualcomm/Atheros E2500 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional (x64) Build 19043.1288 (21H1)
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11291
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Updated to 17.4, issue with audio plugins

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 4:16 am

What specific plugins?
Are they VST 2 or 3?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3617
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Updated to 17.4, issue with audio plugins

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 9:59 am

Where are you putting your VSTs? These are my locations shown in Preferences and all work.
Attachments
Audio Plug-ins.jpg
Audio Plug-ins.jpg (89.7 KiB) Viewed 68 times
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 Build 9
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.47 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfredolopezsl, Bing [Bot], chbkoiklp457, jfykeaucq871 and 73 guests