Problems importing a sequence of jpegs

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

eniva100

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:33 pm
  • Real Name: Enrique Nivasch

Problems importing a sequence of jpegs

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 1:38 pm

In version 17.3 you can generate in Fusion a sequence of jpegs using the Save node, and import them as a video clip on the Edit page. Version 17.4 refuses to import the sequence of jpegs as a clip and instead imports each individual frame as a separate image.
Offline
User avatar

dariobigi

  • Posts: 524
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:52 am
  • Location: New York City

Re: Problems importing a sequence of jpegs

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 2:17 pm

Media Browser window. Three Dot menu pull down. Options for image sequence import. Probably reset on upgrade.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[b]Dario Bigi, Colorist
http://dariobigi.com
New York
C: 1-646-436-4600

HPz840 - 2x 14 Core 2.6GHz - 64GB RAM
Windows 10 Pro 20H2
2x RTX 2080Ti (SD 461.92)
Resolve Studio 17.1
Decklink 4K Extreme (12.0)
FSI CM250
Panasonic FZ1000
Mini Panel
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 775
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Problems importing a sequence of jpegs

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 5:12 pm

Auto-detecting image sequences was one of the new features in the 17.4 release notes, so there could be bugs, or it could work differently than people are accustomed.

Not sure if the new behavior applies to fusion loaders too, or just the media pool.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 17.0 Beta9]
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1777
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Problems importing a sequence of jpegs

PostWed Oct 27, 2021 5:25 pm

Jason Conrad wrote:Auto-detecting image sequences was one of the new features in the 17.4 release notes, so there could be bugs, or it could work differently than people are accustomed.

Not sure if the new behavior applies to fusion loaders too, or just the media pool.
The auto detection only applies in the Media Storage pane, not any drag/drop direct to Media Pool. And it always marks PNG, JPG and TIFF as individual frames. I only found it to have any kind of smart detection in the case of EXR and DPX, when using the Media Storage pane only. (It might work with other formats too, but I only tested EXR, DPX, PNG, JPG, TIFF).

More details: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=149318#p798412
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, Bing [Bot], chbkoiklp457, crtkecnkl659, Geoff Treseder, Multi4G, panos_mts, Pascal Carcanade, pperquin, Qualcunu and 96 guests