Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve Studio

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

DigitalMetal

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:40 am
  • Real Name: Neil Hester

Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve Studio

PostThu Oct 28, 2021 3:27 pm

Hi, Can anyone with experience setting up Blackmagic hardware with Resolve Studio 17 offer any help with this?
I've just got a Decklink 4K Extreme 12G so I can hopefully output my 2160p 25 timeline to my BENQ SW271 4K monitor over HDMI.
I previously used a Decklink 2 Studio and Monitored 1080p 25 timelines in the same way which worked fine.
For some reason regardless of my project timeline and monitoring settings in DR it still insists on outputting a 1080 image (so it looks zoomed in on the Monitor) I restarted DR between changing settings (which I had to do in the past with my Decklink 2) for the changes to take effect but still they stay the same.
Even if i set the default video standard output in the desktop video settings before launching DR, Once the DR project is open it flips to 1080PsF25.
Am i doing something wrong that I've not thought of?
I'm using Resolve Studio 17.4 and Desktop video 12.2 (both latest versions) on Windows 10 20H2 (fully up to date)
Thanks
Neil
Attachments
Project Settings.PNG
Project Settings.PNG (39.6 KiB) Viewed 293 times
Image Scaling.PNG
Image Scaling.PNG (36.67 KiB) Viewed 293 times
Desktop Video Settings.PNG
Desktop Video Settings.PNG (101.65 KiB) Viewed 293 times
Cameras: Sony A6400, GoPro 8, Insta360 One R and Kandao Qoocam 8K.
My system:
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.X
BM Decklink 12G PCIe
Speed Editor
Win 10 21H1
Nvidia 1080Ti 11GB
Intel i9 10850K @4.9Ghz
32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM
NVME SSD's
Offline

DigitalMetal

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:40 am
  • Real Name: Neil Hester

Re: Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve St

PostThu Oct 28, 2021 4:06 pm

Well rather strangely things look to be ok when creating a new project but the one i had started before installing the new Decklink card seems to not want to monitor output at 2160p 25 so there must be something in the old project that is holding on to the monitor settings despite me changing them.
I'm seeing this as a bug, so hopefully BM support can pick it up and log it with the developers?
Will report back if anything else develops.
Cameras: Sony A6400, GoPro 8, Insta360 One R and Kandao Qoocam 8K.
My system:
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.X
BM Decklink 12G PCIe
Speed Editor
Win 10 21H1
Nvidia 1080Ti 11GB
Intel i9 10850K @4.9Ghz
32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM
NVME SSD's
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8403
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve St

PostThu Oct 28, 2021 4:24 pm

You likely have custom timeline settings applied in the project with the issue.

When you use custom timeline settings, the normal Project Settings - Video Monitoring controls appear to do nothing. Because they aren't doing anything. They've been over-ridden by the timeline custom settings.

On the Media or Edit pages, right click the timeline icon in the Bin, then select Timelines - Timeline Settings.

There is a "Use Project Settings" checkbox in the lower left. If it's checked, the normal Project Settings - Video Monitoring controls should work. If it's not checked, then the Monitor tab settings will be in use.

timeline_settings.png
timeline_settings.png (42.45 KiB) Viewed 153 times


timeline_settings_use_project.png
timeline_settings_use_project.png (21.88 KiB) Viewed 153 times


timeline_settings_custom.png
timeline_settings_custom.png (23.51 KiB) Viewed 153 times
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

DigitalMetal

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:40 am
  • Real Name: Neil Hester

Re: Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve St

PostFri Oct 29, 2021 1:33 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:You likely have custom timeline settings applied in the project with the issue.

When you use custom timeline settings, the normal Project Settings - Video Monitoring controls appear to do nothing. Because they aren't doing anything. They've been over-ridden by the timeline custom settings.

On the Media or Edit pages, right click the timeline icon in the Bin, then select Timelines - Timeline Settings.

There is a "Use Project Settings" checkbox in the lower left. If it's checked, the normal Project Settings - Video Monitoring controls should work. If it's not checked, then the Monitor tab settings will be in use.

timeline_settings.png


timeline_settings_use_project.png



timeline_settings_custom.png



Hi Dwaine,
Thats great info, thanks I'll give it a try.
Cheers
Neil
Cameras: Sony A6400, GoPro 8, Insta360 One R and Kandao Qoocam 8K.
My system:
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.X
BM Decklink 12G PCIe
Speed Editor
Win 10 21H1
Nvidia 1080Ti 11GB
Intel i9 10850K @4.9Ghz
32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM
NVME SSD's
Offline

DigitalMetal

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:40 am
  • Real Name: Neil Hester

Re: Setting up Blackmagic Decklink 4K Ex 12G with Resolve St

PostSun Nov 07, 2021 5:00 pm

Worked perfectly thanks !
Cameras: Sony A6400, GoPro 8, Insta360 One R and Kandao Qoocam 8K.
My system:
Davinci Resolve Studio 17.X
BM Decklink 12G PCIe
Speed Editor
Win 10 21H1
Nvidia 1080Ti 11GB
Intel i9 10850K @4.9Ghz
32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM
NVME SSD's

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Carsten Sellberg, crtkecnkl659, jfykeaucq871, Mattias Murhagen, Niels Vestergaard, panos_mts, Sarasota, tafvelin, ZRGARDNE and 123 guests