Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Philipp Glaninger

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:56 am
  • Location: Austria

Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostWed Aug 01, 2018 11:49 pm

Hello,

I have a Project with a lot of stabilized Shots that where done with the stabilization feature in the color Page. But I noticed that Copying Grades from Clip A to Clip B using the Middle Mouse is always overwriting the active stabilisation of Clip B. I would rather keep it.

I found already some workarounds that do not overwrite existing stabilizing Data, like copy/paste a single node from one Clip to the next, but I am wondering if that behavior is meant to be like this or if it is a bug. I can´t imagine a practical szenario why I would like to overwrite the stabilization.

By the way. I noticed that "Sizing" Parameters are always copied as well when performing a middle-click Copy. That make sometimes sense, sometimes not. It would be nice to be able to copy only Specific Attributes by pressing something like "Middle-click"+"Shift". Similar to "paste Attributes" in the edit Page.

Thanks for the great work.
Last edited by Philipp Glaninger on Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 17.x / Intensity Pro / i7 9700k / Windows 10 (64GB Ram) / GeForce GTX 1080TI 11GB / Tangent Wave Tablet / 3 Monitors + 1 Reference Monitor
Offline

AlexLTDLX

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:34 pm
  • Real Name: Alexander Pikas

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostThu Aug 02, 2018 2:16 am

It's been working that way for a while. I agree, it would be nice to be able just to copy certain nodes without overwriting what's already on the clip.
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 2442
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostThu Aug 02, 2018 1:45 pm

i'm more likely to use BCC's optical stab in it's own node than to use Resolve's native, dead easy to copy/save it's node, apply the node tree from another place, and then insert node, and paste the saved node

but it's more about the resualts, BCC's resualts are more to my likeing
Offline

Philipp Glaninger

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:56 am
  • Location: Austria

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostFri Aug 03, 2018 10:28 pm

I would like to add to my inital post that I noticed that even after overwriting=loosing the stabiliation the Icon for "Stabilizing" (a white Crosshair) still remains. This is adding to my confusion since I can´t tell anymore by looking at the icons if a Clip is still stabilized or not anymore.

Thank you Dermot Shane for the tipp with the BCC stabilization.
Resolve Studio 17.x / Intensity Pro / i7 9700k / Windows 10 (64GB Ram) / GeForce GTX 1080TI 11GB / Tangent Wave Tablet / 3 Monitors + 1 Reference Monitor
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostSat Aug 04, 2018 12:23 am

Have you tried appending the grade instead of replacing it?
Resolve 17.4.3
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12226
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostSat Aug 04, 2018 1:20 am

I couldn't see that much of an advantage of BCCs stabilization, and it's dead slow compared to Resolve, hardly using the GPU at all.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9060
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostSat Aug 04, 2018 6:30 am

right click on the [gray area] in the gallery, there should be a [protect input sizing], turn that on
then set the color copy to [color] (usually it is on auto). menu located just above the keyframe tree.

see if that help.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 2442
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostSat Aug 04, 2018 3:19 pm

Uli Plank wrote:I couldn't see that much of an advantage of BCCs stabilization, and it's dead slow compared to Resolve, hardly using the GPU at all.

oh yea, it's slow, but try a table top shot of say a pizza with floating camera on a weaver-steadman, tiltshift lens and hard edges on cutlery

BCC's stab saves hours of roto ;-)

run of the mill standard camera wobble shots? maybe not an advantage, and not worth the tradeoff

food ad for national market? big advantage and well worth the trade off in my view,

i have mutiple machines with identical plug-in's, i can run the anylise on one machine while working on the other, copy effect over to the hero machine.... client attended sessions go smoothly, no one is really aware that another machine is chugging away happily making the camera float over the pizza smoothly

Resolve's native is a fail, and the other options are more time consumeing (round trip to Flame /DS/Mamba), Fusion crops on input making it useless as my sources are 4k filmscans
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12226
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostSun Aug 05, 2018 9:58 am

Are you referring to rotoing out moving objects with Mocha before stabilizing?
That's definitely a strength of BCC, I admit. Separation is always the hardest part for automatic stabilizers.

Could be done with Fusion too, but you'd need a machine strong enough to have the timeline in 4K.

BTW, do you have Mocha Pro as an OFX plug-in as well? Does the most recent version (5.6.0) crash Resolve for you? The one before (5.5.2) doesn't.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Philipp Glaninger

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:56 am
  • Location: Austria

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostMon Aug 06, 2018 7:29 pm

Peter Cave wrote:Have you tried appending the grade instead of replacing it?


Yes. That was definitely the best substitute workflow for me until now. But it still created a bit of a mess, since I have to double check for older grades that must be removed now by hand.

waltervolpatto wrote:right click on the [gray area] in the gallery, there should be a [protect input sizing], turn that on
then set the color copy to [color] (usually it is on auto). menu located just above the keyframe tree.

see if that help.


Great! Thank you so much. That Information fixes my problem! Middle Click is behaving now the way I was hoping. The stabilization is staying intact. I totally missed these options! It pains me that I was unaware of those basic functions for so long since I can do even more now. Things like "Copy Grade: Preserve Number Of Nodes" were exactly those limiters that I always needed for my workflow. Grading will be much easier now! :D
Resolve Studio 17.x / Intensity Pro / i7 9700k / Windows 10 (64GB Ram) / GeForce GTX 1080TI 11GB / Tangent Wave Tablet / 3 Monitors + 1 Reference Monitor
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9060
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation/SO

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 4:15 am

I always forget the [All/color] after a restart until I see that my keayframes and all over the node tree...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline

Sean van Berlo

  • Posts: 432
  • Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:33 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation/SO

PostMon Nov 29, 2021 12:59 pm

What is the keyframe tree? I desperately want Resolve to stop copy/pasting from messing with my stabilization but I do not know where to find that 'color copy to [color]' button.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9060
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation/SO

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 4:17 am

Sean van Berlo wrote:What is the keyframe tree? I desperately want Resolve to stop copy/pasting from messing with my stabilization but I do not know where to find that 'color copy to [color]' button.


Two ways:
1) in the gallery, right click in the gray and there should be something like :copy protect input sizing: or something on that effect (not in front of the machine): that will protect the input sizing AND the stab.
2) on the tab where you do keyframe (color) there si a drop down menu where usually is in {all}, the other choices are {color} (only copy color) and {sizing} (only copy sizing and stabs).
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7984
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 4:32 am

Philipp Glaninger wrote:I have a Project with a lot of stabilized Shots that where done with the stabilization feature in the color Page. But I noticed that Copying Grades from Clip A to Clip B using the Middle Mouse is always overwriting the active stabilisation of Clip B. I would rather keep it.

Switch to Mark -> Keyframe Timeline Mode -> Color, and it'll only copy color.

"In theory," if you right click in the gray Gallery area and choose "Apply Grades Using," you can avoid copying any keyframes if you want. This feature has been a little flakey for many years, but flip it back and forth and it eventually fixes itself.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 434
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 8:11 am

"The Copy Grade: Preserve Input Sizing" option can be enabled and saved as project default setting, the problem is that it does not always work.
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 5:18 pm

panos_mts wrote:"The Copy Grade: Preserve Input Sizing" option can be enabled and saved as project default setting, the problem is that it does not always work.


Where is this setting? Thanks
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 434
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 5:33 pm

Go to the color page and right click on the gallery
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9060
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Copying a Grade overwrites the existing stabilisation

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 6:38 pm

panos_mts wrote:Go to the color page and right click on the gallery


On the gray area in the gallery…..
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.3.2-08
nvidia: 462.59 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 41jordan, Bing [Bot], Leslie Wand, Lumbeechief, mkloxsfpv659 and 66 guests