Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Saneuskis

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Alex Zh

Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostThu Nov 25, 2021 3:23 pm

Dear Blackmagic community,

Desperately seeking for help. I have just bought my new 16 inch Macbook Pro 16 Max. During editing in EDIT tab in Resolve everything is sweet and smooth, when I switch to color page and start grading process, after a while during rendering in smart mode, davinci stop playback. I still can switch between the tabs, but nothing else is responding. I'm grading BRAW files, using latest Resolve version and Monterey OS latest updates.
Reinstalling Resolve didn't help. Some say reinstalling the whole MacOS might help, but before I go that road, I would like to ask, if any of you experienced the same problem. Its very annoying. Supposed to finish the project that night, but have to postpone it till the end of the week, until I will find solution.
Thank you for your help!

Update.
If I switch off any kind of rendering, I can work longer, but eventually getting freeze again. Rendering is set to ProRes proxy.
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1349
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostThu Nov 25, 2021 4:35 pm

does resolve has "full disk access" in security&privacy system preferences?
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.6.2
BMPCC 6k pro (7.5.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB SB ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.4.3
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Saneuskis

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Alex Zh

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostThu Nov 25, 2021 11:40 pm

Yes, Mark. It has Full disk access
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12212
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostFri Nov 26, 2021 1:59 am

I don't get such problems with my MacBook M1 Pro, also using mainly BRAW. I doubt that the M1 Max should be worse, so there might be something screwed up in the system. Did you try installing a fresh copy of DR? It can be done without deleting the database (but keep a backup, of course).
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

dirk-pel

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 7:37 am
  • Location: Karlsruhe, Germany, Dutch origin.
  • Real Name: dirk pel

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostFri Nov 26, 2021 8:01 am

I use the Macbook Pro M1 MAX 32 GB since November and don't have this problem. I'm not using BRAW but Sony MXF material.
Up till now no problems, I love the MBP M1 MAX overall. The system is 2-3 faster as my WIN system.

Dirk PEL
Intel i7-8700K, 32 GByte, WIN10-Pro, GeForce GTX 1070, BM Intensity pro 4K, Eizo CS2420, Davinci Resolve 17.4.2 Studio, Micropanel, Speed Editor
16" Macbook Pro M1 MAX 32 GB, 1TB SSD,macOS 12.0.1
Offline

Saneuskis

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Alex Zh

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostSun Nov 28, 2021 2:20 am

Thanks for reply, guys. Yes, I reinstalled the whole system, including Davinci. Still having same issue. The issue mainly comes after I do speed ramping clips and use FUSION clips
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12212
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostSun Nov 28, 2021 2:44 am

Which algorithm for speed ramping? I'd try to separate the processes by rendering those clips in place.
And then, use Loaders for Fusion, not MediaIn.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Saneuskis

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Alex Zh

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 12:55 pm

I'm using Optical flow standard or better, mostly. Yes, render in place, solving the problem. But the point of having such an expensive and powerful machine is to have a peace of mind when working with BRAW and various effects without constant freezing.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8003
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 1:22 pm

Resolve for M1 is very new and if you want to make it more stable report it to BM.
This is best you can do. Send them report with all needed info.

Assumption that because you bought powerful new system you won't get crashes in a software is simply totally wrong. If anything it works opposite. Mature software version runs on eg. 1 year old hardware most stable.
Resolve for M1 is sill in early stages and there will be problems there for sure.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12212
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 1:40 pm

Any new electronics fresh out of the box have more failure rates than after "running in". Observe carefully if you see reproducible problems with other software, since it might be a defective unit.

While Andrew is absolutely right, I'm rather impressed how smooth mine is running. I was rather expecting some troubles.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8003
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Macbook Pro 16 m1 MAX, Davinci freeezes

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 1:56 pm

Maybe M1 environment is well written so things 'work'.
I have not noticed any issues either, but I barely use Resolve. Some hidden bugs are still very possible. Some are present for months before a person tries combination of features which triggers them.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dougit, fesmlpcdu659, Google [Bot], mkloxsfpv659 and 54 guests