Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BlackWizard81

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2021 7:05 pm
  • Real Name: Dennis Steinkamp

Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostFri Nov 05, 2021 7:46 pm

Hey there,

we are in need of a new GPU for our main editing workstation and it comes down to the two candidates mentioned in the title, the RTX 3090 and the RTX A6000.

Usually the RTX A6000 would be too much of a price increase but given the fact that the RTX 3090
(or any performance graphics card for that matter) is heavily overpriced right now, the difference isn`t as big as it used to be.

Performance wise the RTX 3090 should be faster than the RTX A6000 but there is the obvious argument that the A6000 offers double the amount of VRAM and at least in our case resolve seems most of the time constraint by the amount of VRAM our GPU can offer.

Where do you see the biggest benefits when going with a RTX A6000? Are there any other improvements with a quadro i am not taking into consideration? Are those cards for example specifically tested with resolve and therefor supported or even recommended or would you guys go with the RTX 3090 and save quite a few bucks?

Thank you in advance for your opinions.

Cheers
Dennis
Offline

BlackWizard81

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2021 7:05 pm
  • Real Name: Dennis Steinkamp

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostMon Nov 08, 2021 6:56 pm

Noone that can share his/her opinion here with me? :)
Online

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 956
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Nov 09, 2021 2:17 pm

Ok

Since GeForce line has got 10 bit enabled in professional apps, there is really not much going for a Quadro. It's probably more like you get better support when you require it. Otherwise, no benefits, especially not in resolve, anyway. The "GPU memory full" error can occur on Nvidia GPUs with really lots of VRAM so it seems to be the issue of how VRAM is managed by the driver and not how much of it there is onboard.

Sent from my Mi 9T using Tapatalk
Asus Prime X370-Pro, R7 3700X@PBO, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4@3200MHz, Asrock RX 580 8GB, Adata A400 120 GB system SSD, A2000 500 GB scratch SSD, Media storage:"Always in motion is it", Windows 11 Pro+Resolve Studio 17.4.1+Fusion Studio 17.4.1
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Nov 09, 2021 3:01 pm

I found that posting on Topaz Labs Video Enhance AI forum very helpful:
https://community.topazlabs.com/t/nvidi ... ed/24603/2

The part on power consumption, temperature, and throttling.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Nov 09, 2021 4:21 pm

A6000 got a score of 1553 overall and 141 for GPU

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... ceAnalysis

3090 was 1560 and 155

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... ceAnalysis


So if your job will fit in 24gb, then it looks like the 3090 will be faster. Of course if you need more than 24gb, the 3090 won't work period.

I can say with my 16gb 3080 laptop, I can export 4k with NR and motion blur on 8k R5 footage with no issues.
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2725
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Nov 09, 2021 4:30 pm

The bigger issue is can you get them today if you want to? In the USA, they're pretty much out of stock.
Blackmagic Design URSA Mini Pro 4.6K G2, Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 6K, RED Komodo 6K
PC Workstation Core I7 64Gb, 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb, Blackmagic Design DeckLink 4K Mini Monitor, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Blackmagic DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.4.3
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Nov 09, 2021 9:40 pm

Ellory Yu wrote:The bigger issue is can you get them today if you want to? In the USA, they're pretty much out of stock.


I can't say I have looked, I wish I had that money, but I thought the stupid expensive cards stayed better in stock as no one would consider them for mining.

But it may be like with the other GPU's your only option for availability is via a prebuilt machine.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12320
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Nov 10, 2021 1:45 am

They are so expensive because of the demand for mining (plus general supply chain issues).
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 2160
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Nov 10, 2021 2:11 am

In October they started to be available here in Europe for a while at pre-shortage prices. Looks like it dried up again though.

Hackers have recently unlocked Nvidia's enhanced anti-mining measures which might have an effect on availability as well.
Offline

BlackWizard81

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2021 7:05 pm
  • Real Name: Dennis Steinkamp

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostThu Nov 11, 2021 7:42 pm

Hey there,

we decided to go for the Quadro card after all.
As we have a big project ahead of us, we didn`t wanna cheap out on the most crucial part in resolve, which is the GPU. Not to say the RTX 3090, is a "cheap part" in comparison by any means, but as the card is hard to get in my region anyways and the price difference to the A6000 is at least not as painful as it used to be, we went for it, as we need the hardware soon.

Thank you for all your feedback. :)
Online

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 956
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostFri Nov 12, 2021 8:38 am

If the price is close enough in your market, no problem.
Faced with the market situation, I have ordered the Quadro T600 for my small form-factor support machine as it's of slightly better performance than similarly priced GTX models and power draw is next to nothing. And I get 10-bit h265 NVENC encoding.

Sent from my Mi 9T using Tapatalk
Asus Prime X370-Pro, R7 3700X@PBO, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4@3200MHz, Asrock RX 580 8GB, Adata A400 120 GB system SSD, A2000 500 GB scratch SSD, Media storage:"Always in motion is it", Windows 11 Pro+Resolve Studio 17.4.1+Fusion Studio 17.4.1
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostFri Nov 19, 2021 6:07 pm

Got the RTX A6000 now too.
While opening the box, I almost expected to find a bottle of expensive red wine in the package :D
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12320
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSat Nov 20, 2021 1:10 am

Château Mort (Tatort) ? :D
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1646
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSat Nov 20, 2021 6:00 am

If one of the A6000 owners can spare the time, could you try running the benchmark we tried in this thread?

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=150120&start=50#p804323
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSat Nov 20, 2021 4:14 pm

I will, but I have to build the computer first as I am still waiting for the Fractal Design big tower case delivery.

Jack, can you guide me to the exact posting with the benchmark?
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSat Nov 20, 2021 4:17 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Château Mort (Tatort) ? :D


Château Décadence
:D
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12320
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSat Nov 20, 2021 4:25 pm

It's a very simple project, just using some typical and demanding functions or effects in DR.

The project is here: dropbox.com/s/9wf1tl92bd7qq ... p.zip?dl=0
The Clips are in BM's Gallery for the 12K under "James Perse - Robertson House" (but in 8K).
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostTue Dec 07, 2021 6:35 pm

Finally I was able to render that test project as the first RTX A6000 had a dead fan on arrival and today I got the replacement card. One would think for that price PNY would have better quality control...

Anyway, Uli's project rendered in

05 m 19 s for DNxHR HD out
04 m 58 s for DNxHR UHD out

on my newly build PC:
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12 core / 128 GB DDR4 @ 3600 MHz
Gigabyte B550 Vision GP
PNY RTX A6000 / 48 GB <- ECC ... off

Win 10 Pro 21H1
Nvidia studio driver 472.47

Resolve 17.4.2

GPU was always at 99% load, CPU at around 5%, GPU VRAM used was 17 GB for HD and 22 GB for UHD
Last edited by Robert Niessner on Wed Dec 08, 2021 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12320
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 1:19 am

For UHD your numbers would have been nothing short of sensational :-)
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Online
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 3:14 pm

Uli Plank wrote:For UHD your numbers would have been nothing short of sensational :-)


Well, the UHD output rendered even faster.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Frank2021

  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 4:45 pm
  • Real Name: Frank Haxner

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 4:14 pm

Uli Plank wrote:It's a very simple project, just using some typical and demanding functions or effects in DR.

The project is here: dropbox.com/s/9wf1tl92bd7qq ... p.zip?dl=0
The Clips are in BM's Gallery for the 12K under "James Perse - Robertson House" (but in 8K).


Please post the complete link.
Thanks
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, 64GB RAM
win10pro Vers. 2004
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1 TB
GPU Radeon RX 580 8GB VRAM
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.2.1
EIZO CG247
BMPCC4k
Offline
User avatar

ohimbz

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:54 am
  • Location: Romania
  • Real Name: Musetoiu Florin

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 4:38 pm

Uli Plank wrote:It's a very simple project, just using some typical and demanding functions or effects in DR.

The project is here: dropbox.com/s/9wf1tl92bd7qq ... p.zip?dl=0
The Clips are in BM's Gallery for the 12K under "James Perse - Robertson House" (but in 8K).

I don't understand this .. are the files used 12K or are they 8K?
Ryzen 5800X
G.Skill 32GB 3600 CL14
RX 6800XT 16GB
Resolve Studio 17.4
Windows 11
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 12320
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostThu Dec 09, 2021 4:06 am

They are 8K since some machines we wanted to compare choked at 12K.
These were the only ones at 8K in the 12K gallery and I wanted something that's accessible to everyone.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.3 , macOS 12.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 824
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSun Dec 12, 2021 6:03 pm

Renders in 4:44 on a 3090 with all kinds of stuff running in the background concurrently and slow ECC memory.

So except double the vRAM it seems like a waste of money for Resolve.
Attachments
Resolve.png
Resolve.png (649.63 KiB) Viewed 396 times
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 824
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Geforce RTX 3090 vs RTX A6000

PostSun Dec 12, 2021 8:55 pm

ZRGARDNE wrote:So if your job will fit in 24gb, then it looks like the 3090 will be faster. Of course if you need more than 24gb, the 3090 won't work period.


Not so sure if that's actually still true. At least from the task manager screenshot I posted it seems it's swapping to system RAM just fine using a total of 29GB to render the project.
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Carsten Sellberg, Google [Bot], Mario Kalogjera, Mattias Murhagen, nick76, panos_mts, Robert Niessner, xunile and 106 guests