Menu bar missing

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Nicklas Bagvinge

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:02 pm

Menu bar missing

PostMon Apr 17, 2017 1:47 pm

Hi,

I must be stupid to not understand how I get back the menu bar in DaVinci Resolve 12.5.
Somehow, I do not know, I lost the menu bar (the bar with File, Edit, trim, etc.) and now I can not get it back.
I have a PC with Windows 10. It's so frustrating. It has happened once before, and then I decided to uninstall the DR, PostgreSQL and install again, but I don't want to do this again, there must be a solution.

I gratefully accept advice about how to solve this, would save my day :-)
Thanks in advance!

Best Regards
Nicklas Bagvinge

PS. I guess I do not have to write that I am a beginner when it comes to Davinci Resolve :D
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1353
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Menu bar missing

PostMon Apr 17, 2017 7:49 pm

Try:

1. Press ALT twice and hold on the 2nd press
2. While holding ALT press cursor down key
3. Press cursor right key several times until you see the dropdown menu with "Layout" option
4. Press cursor down key several times and select "Reset UI Layout"
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

KendalB

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:47 pm
  • Real Name: Kendal Brenneman

Re: Menu bar missing

PostSun Jun 07, 2020 9:26 am

I'm having this same issue, but I don't understand what this cursor key is that you're saying to push. I'm on a Macbook Pro and I'm trying the arrow keys, the trackpad... nothing happens. Where did the menu bar go and how do we get it back? Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 4278
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Menu bar missing

PostSun Jun 07, 2020 9:51 am

First thing to try is resetting the UI.
Attachments
Reset UI.jpg
Reset UI.jpg (169.58 KiB) Viewed 4094 times
Resolve Studio 18.0.1 Build 3
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (512.15 Studio), Win10 19043, Speed Editor, Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270, Canon C100mk2, Atomos Ninja 2.
Offline

JoelMacKenzie

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:25 am
  • Real Name: Joel MacKenzie

Re: Menu bar missing

PostTue Sep 07, 2021 7:54 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:First thing to try is resetting the UI.


That sounds like great advice, but how do you do that without a menu bar?

I've got three monitors. I switched to dual screen mode which used monitors 1 and 2, but I want to use 2 and 3. So I switched the primary screen to 2 and now I believe I have both windows on the same monitor with the secondary window (without the menu bar) on top.
Offline
User avatar

wmdwhitt

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:42 pm
  • Location: DC Area
  • Real Name: Will Whitt

Re: Menu bar missing

PostWed Sep 22, 2021 7:47 pm

So I noticed this when I set my Display to My Monitor and not my Mac Book Pro. I quit Divinci Resolve and the menu came back.
Will Whitt • WWPTV on YouTube and Facebook • DC Area
Mac Book Pro 16GB 2TB BM eGPU • DR17
Offline

RannyBergamotte

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:17 am
  • Real Name: Ranny Bergamotte

Re: Menu bar missing

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 12:26 am

Hi,

I recently ran into the same problem, haven't still found a working solution.

I'm currently running DaVinci Resolve 18 on Garuda Linux, which is based off of Arch. For whatever reason, the menu bar doesn't show, either in application or on the window appmenu widget on latte dock. I tried asking around on the Garuda Linux forums, but doesn't seem others were experiencing the same issue.

Any help is appreciated!
Thanks,
-Ranny
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 4278
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Menu bar missing

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 11:08 pm

Check and see if your screen resolution is set to something other than Native or 100%.
Resolve Studio 18.0.1 Build 3
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (512.15 Studio), Win10 19043, Speed Editor, Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270, Canon C100mk2, Atomos Ninja 2.
Offline

RannyBergamotte

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:17 am
  • Real Name: Ranny Bergamotte

Re: Menu bar missing

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 11:37 pm

I do have it set to 125% usually, tried switching it back to 100% and relaunching, still same problem though.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, panos_mts, RikshaDriver, tqazxcmnb569, User29383, wfstecko and 85 guests