what did I do?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

what did I do?

PostFri Jul 01, 2022 9:36 pm

I had about 12 projects. I got a new computer, so I transferred 1 of them over by export and importing it. When I went back the next day to transfer the next one, I had no projects. What could I have done? ANy ideas how to get them back?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 21603
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: what did I do?

PostSat Jul 02, 2022 1:56 pm

Make sure you're in the right database.
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: what did I do?

PostSun Jul 03, 2022 10:34 pm

I don't even know how to select a database. How do I do that? I didn't knowingly change any Project folder locations.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 21603
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: what did I do?

PostSun Jul 03, 2022 10:50 pm

Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 8404
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: what did I do?

PostMon Jul 04, 2022 2:52 am

derohanes wrote:I had about 12 projects. I got a new computer, so I transferred 1 of them over by export and importing it. When I went back the next day to transfer the next one, I had no projects. What could I have done? ANy ideas how to get them back?

If you can still open your old computer: Export each individual project as a DRP session file to another drive. Once you have those files, then launch Resolve on your new computer and import each of these exported files to your new Project Database. This actually works pretty well. In fact, it's always a good idea to have backups of your current projects just in case of a crash or another system problem.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Joe Shapiro

  • Posts: 809
  • Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:23 am
  • Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Re: what did I do?

PostMon Jul 04, 2022 3:22 am

+1 to Marc’s suggestion. Nice to have a plain old project file just in case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Director, Editor, Problem Solver. Been cutting indie features for 20 years. FCP editor from version 2 to 7.
Resolve 18.0.1
macOS 12.4
MacBook Pro 16" M1 Max 64gb RAM
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: what did I do?

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 7:21 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:If you can still open your old computer: Export each individual project as a DRP session file to another drive. Once you have those files, then launch Resolve on your new computer and import each of these exported files to your new Project Database. This actually works pretty well. In fact, it's always a good idea to have backups of your current projects just in case of a crash or another system problem.

That's the problem. I even did a search on the C: drive for .DRP extensions, even in the recycle bin and nothing shows up. Is that the extension I should be looking for, ext:.drp, because nothing was found. Is that the extension that is given to a project before it is "Exported"? Because, I made a test project on the old system, and although it shows up in the Project list in Open window, a search for .drp shows nothing on the system.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2548
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: what did I do?

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 7:36 pm

On your old computer, start resolve and when your Project Manager opens, click the button to the left of where it says Projects, that is the Show/Hide Databases button. See if you have any databases selected there.
Attachments
2022-07-05 (2).jpg
2022-07-05 (2).jpg (251.85 KiB) Viewed 206 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 512 GB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: what did I do?

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 9:52 pm

Yeah, I think I'm screwed. I do have the clips I used for the projects though. Lesson learned. Backup projects as well. Thanks guys.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Bay, cyberphile, id4alexey, jonesFoto, kfulford, LennyFohrer, mafalda, nbzgtfiop324, panos_mts, Sean Nelson, Uli Plank and 106 guests