Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

aaronvandomelen

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Van Domelen

Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Apr 21, 2022 12:45 pm

I've heard a few mixed reports of the cloud service working in different parts of Canada. But for me I keep getting the "Project Server Is Currently Not Available
We are sorry, the project server service is not available in your region. Support for your region will come soon."

Is this specific to my IP address north of Toronto, or is it all of Canada? Any intel on the international rollout, I'm so close to Ohio where servers exist, but can't join.

Is this actually a server limitation or a payment limitation?
current config = iMac 2019 (19,1), 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM ,Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB, Mac OSX 10.15.3
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 21440
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Apr 21, 2022 2:18 pm

As Grant said in his video, you'll have to be patient. It'll come.
Offline

John Nolan

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:26 pm
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Real Name: John Nolan

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Apr 21, 2022 2:20 pm

I'm in Ottawa, it says something like "Available soon".
Resolve 18 with Speed Editor. iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2020), 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9, 72 GB, AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB. OS 11.3.1
Offline

aaronvandomelen

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Van Domelen

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Apr 21, 2022 4:21 pm

Thanks John,

I'll keep checking back. It's very exciting tech and having to wait sucks!
current config = iMac 2019 (19,1), 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM ,Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB, Mac OSX 10.15.3
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon Apr 25, 2022 7:12 pm

Same here! Cannot wait to finally have access to this new feature. Been refreshing every day since the announcement but not luck yet. I'm in the Montreal area.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 14504
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostTue Apr 26, 2022 3:43 am

And if you use a VPN?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 17.4.6 , MacOS 12.3.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

aaronvandomelen

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Van Domelen

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostTue Apr 26, 2022 5:05 pm

VPN and a US account only gets to the credit card page, but Canadian Credits will not process and bounce back as declined. Since I don’t have a US Credit card I’ve paused the brute force attempt and will wait for official support (it’s def not worth beta testing with a vpn at this time)
current config = iMac 2019 (19,1), 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM ,Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB, Mac OSX 10.15.3
Offline

Sameij

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:38 pm
  • Real Name: Samuel Meijer

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon May 09, 2022 10:13 am

Still not available, right? I'm in Denmark, and it's still not available.

All good things will come to those who wait, I guess...
Offline

GeorgeDoyle

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:11 am

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostWed May 11, 2022 6:48 pm

Not available in Ireland as of today, hopefully some movement on this soon!
Offline

Tobias Heilmann

  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:13 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostSun May 15, 2022 7:57 am

We're in Germany.

Against all the odds based on past hardware announcements, we already received our Cloud Pods. But what good are they without the server working in Europe?
In Touch Media
Germany

System Info:

Resolve 18 b3
OS X 11.6.2

Model: Mac Pro 2019
Processor: 3,2 GHz 16-Core Intel Xeon W
RAM: 384 GB
GPU: (2) AMD Radeon Pro Vega II 32 GB

Picture out via DeckLink 8K Pro
Audio Out via Motu 112D
Offline

Zoltess

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed May 18, 2022 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rebecca Manning

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostWed May 18, 2022 1:38 pm

I am so crushed right now! I didn't realize it wasn't available in Canada and I just tried to subscribe to the new project server. I hope they release this feature to us soon.
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu May 19, 2022 12:42 am

I've pretty much been checking daily since it was announced. No luck so far but it'll come! I like to think that there might be kinks in the system that still need to be fixed and that once we get access, it'll already be a more stable tool...
Offline

nighght

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:08 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Mireau

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostFri May 20, 2022 10:54 pm

In BC, Canada. Also not available here. I'm considering VPN and an American CC so that I can get around this arbitrary blockade, I may have sold my team on using DaVinci for this reason and you only discover it doesn't work after trying to run it.
Offline

jowtor

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 2:14 am
  • Real Name: Andrea Simmons

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostTue May 31, 2022 6:29 pm

Any word on the Canadian access?? Seems odd that we don't have this feature
Offline

IanMacdonaldMedia

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:23 pm
  • Real Name: Ian Macdonald

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostFri Jun 03, 2022 11:29 pm

I too am eager to get in the BM cloud from Canada!
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon Jun 13, 2022 1:42 pm

Still no luck and trying daily. I'm in the Montreal area.

Can't wait!!! :D
Offline

Micdup

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:28 am
  • Location: New Plymouth, New Zealand
  • Real Name: Brendan Lister

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostWed Jun 15, 2022 3:58 am

Same for New Zealand Can't get into it and we are closeish to the Sydney server (geographically) but maybe not close enough through the ether... want to use it for a collaboration on a project for work can't. just have to share timelines. the old fashioned way...
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostWed Jun 15, 2022 2:25 pm

Micdup wrote:Same for New Zealand Can't get into it and we are closeish to the Sydney server (geographically) but maybe not close enough through the ether... want to use it for a collaboration on a project for work can't. just have to share timelines. the old fashioned way...


Yeah, I'm working on TV show episodes that way too for the moment. I mean, that method has been working well for years now so there's no real reason to complain... it's just that... the promised utopia is so close... I can almost touch it!!!!!
Offline

jowtor

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 2:14 am
  • Real Name: Andrea Simmons

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostSun Jun 19, 2022 3:56 pm

2 months later and still no word on when this will be available in Canada.

Come on Blackmagic, can't you do better than "Available Soon" ?
Offline

scott1960

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 11:59 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Mantle

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Jun 23, 2022 12:58 am

Same here in Sydney Australia. But did you know you can still use cloud share even if its not in you area yet. That referes to you area not aceptiong payment to create a library. If you find someone in the world who has a library set up they can invite you to their library. Only drawback is its not yours so they can delete you from their library at anytime and you cant invite anyone. Its good for testing though. And I agree we are now over 2 months and I fear it wont be avalible until the full release in about september.
Offline

chadbutnot

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri May 06, 2022 12:17 am
  • Real Name: Chad Ingraham

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Jul 21, 2022 4:01 pm

Anyone figure out a way to make a payment yet? I'm still not able to pay with a Canadian card.
Offline

jowtor

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 2:14 am
  • Real Name: Andrea Simmons

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon Jul 25, 2022 12:49 am

Blackmagic is a joke. Still no cloud in Canada 4 months later.

You can do Tokyo, Singapore, Australia and the UK but not Canada smh.

Can someone let BM know we are a border country.
Offline

aaronvandomelen

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Van Domelen

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon Jul 25, 2022 3:57 am

Odd, my ONLY guess is that Canada requires HST on all purchases now. If their payment system is setup to process taxes and conversion in Canada properly yet OR they don't have Canadian Business Sales Tax accounts and a corp to process those taxes, it could be a longer wait.

Of course they could have just used a shopify portal and called it a day, but FINE.
current config = iMac 2019 (19,1), 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM ,Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB, Mac OSX 10.15.3
Offline

GaryBremner

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2021 7:26 pm
  • Real Name: Gary Bremner

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostMon Jul 25, 2022 7:57 pm

Has anyone heard from Blackmagic on this yet? I was so excited for this :(
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostWed Jul 27, 2022 4:57 pm

Nothing yet. Still trying a few times a week from the Montreal area.
Offline

chris_moore

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:12 pm
  • Location: tokyo
  • Real Name: Chris Moore

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Jul 28, 2022 1:55 am

jowtor wrote:Blackmagic is a joke. Still no cloud in Canada 4 months later.

You can do Tokyo, Singapore, Australia and the UK but not Canada smh.

Can someone let BM know we are a border country.


Can’t use here in Tokyo either yet.
Offline

WilliamDio

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Boivin

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostThu Jul 28, 2022 6:55 pm

Really? Even with a server in Tokyo itself?

chris_moore wrote:
jowtor wrote:Blackmagic is a joke. Still no cloud in Canada 4 months later.

You can do Tokyo, Singapore, Australia and the UK but not Canada smh.

Can someone let BM know we are a border country.


Can’t use here in Tokyo either yet.
Offline

aaronvandomelen

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Van Domelen

Re: Blackmagic Cloud Available in Canada?

PostSat Aug 06, 2022 2:08 am

I guess they listened, or had a plan all along LOL

Of course the day I buy the Editor Keyboard the transaction windows started working in the Cloud Tools allowing me to pay via stripe.

On to testing in Canada!! I wonder if this coincides with it launching in Australia too. Hummm!

FYI it's $7/month in Canada + tax.
current config = iMac 2019 (19,1), 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM ,Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB, Mac OSX 10.15.3

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], panos_mts, Pecusx, PhilB1234, Platzhalter, Tom Knight and 95 guests