Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 6:51 am

Hi there, I did a screencast in order to show what happened on my M1 Mac 8 core GPU/8Core CPU, 16 GB of Ram ad 1 TB of SSD on Mac OS 12.5 and DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.0.1. In particular all of this clip are in XAVC HS (4k, 50p, h265 Long GOP) but the issue is the same with: XAVC S,S-I (h264 Long GOP or h264 Intra frame). Seems to be related with 422 10 bit decoding. The funny thing (isn't funny at all...) is that on the M1 Max everything works as expected, it seems to be a problem only of the M1. Now, if you mousing over on this "Media offline" media in the media pool the clip media will back online, but i still have offline media in timeline and of course during export process. Relink all of them is useless, the issue come back as soon as you click "relink" , even after import all footage in a brand new project...after a couple of seconds you can see "media offline" in random files. The only way to make it work is to disable (in preferences) “Decode H.264 H.265 using hardware acceleration” , but of course everything is slow down. Cache is disabled and no proxy or Optimized media are in use. BM customer care can't reproduce the issue...They asked for some of my media ... but with few of them the problem doesn't happen, it happens in a real project where there are ten or more clips. I took my Mac to an Apple store and after a diagnostic they said everything works as it should (I have Apple care plus) so what now? Do any of you have the same problems?

PS Mac OS and Resolve studio have recently been (re)installed


Screencast:

Full Log: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 8:20 am

Which wrapper do those clips use?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 8:28 am

Uli Plank wrote:Which wrapper do those clips use?

Mp4 (from Sony A7sIII)
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 8:38 am

OK, try to re-wrap the clips to MOV with a tool like Shutter Encoder. Free, fast and lossless.
Then check again.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 9:04 am

Uli Plank wrote:OK, try to re-wrap the clips to MOV with a tool like Shutter Encoder. Free, fast and lossless.
Then check again.


Ty for answer but same error (Failed to decode the video frame.)


Full log: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 9:25 am

Let's hope then that someone from BM has a look at it.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 9:41 am

Uli Plank wrote:Let's hope then that someone from BM has a look at it.


Hope so, even 'cause I haven't any luck with customer service
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 22050
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 2:54 pm

You might try transcoding the originals to ProRes, see if that fares any better.
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 3:02 pm

Jim Simon wrote:You might try transcoding the originals to ProRes, see if that fares any better.

Yes, off course if I transcode to ProRes all works as expected.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 22050
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 3:03 pm

Cool. At least you can keep working while you sort things out. ;)
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1513
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostWed Aug 17, 2022 3:18 am

AmeDSL wrote:Hi there, I did a screencast in order to show what happened on my M1 Mac 8 core GPU/8Core CPU, 16 GB of Ram ad 1 TB of SSD on Mac OS 12.5 and DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.0.1. In particular all of this clip are in XAVC HS (4k, 50p, h265 Long GOP) but the issue is the same with: XAVC S,S-I (h264 Long GOP or h264 Intra frame). Seems to be related with 422 10 bit decoding. The funny thing (isn't funny at all...) is that on the M1 Max everything works as expected, it seems to be a problem only of the M1. Now, if you mousing over on this "Media offline" media in the media pool the clip media will back online, but i still have offline media in timeline and of course during export process. Relink all of them is useless, the issue come back as soon as you click "relink" , even after import all footage in a brand new project...after a couple of seconds you can see "media offline" in random files. The only way to make it work is to disable (in preferences) “Decode H.264 H.265 using hardware acceleration” , but of course everything is slow down. Cache is disabled and no proxy or Optimized media are in use. BM customer care can't reproduce the issue...They asked for some of my media ... but with few of them the problem doesn't happen, it happens in a real project where there are ten or more clips. I took my Mac to an Apple store and after a diagnostic they said everything works as it should (I have Apple care plus) so what now? Do any of you have the same problems?

PS Mac OS and Resolve studio have recently been (re)installed


Screencast:

Full Log: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing


Based on our tests, this is looking like a macOS issue. macOS 12.5 has the issue. macOS 12.4/12.3.1 are fine.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostWed Aug 17, 2022 5:59 am

OMG! It's pretty difficult to go back to an earlier OS.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Ivan Hexter

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:56 am
  • Real Name: Ivan Hexter

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 2:13 am

Hi Resolve Engineers/Users,

I'm on Windows with a similar issue.

Along with some 2,300 other posts on this issue I have discovered the off-line media timeline display fault is perhaps connected to media caching. In the timeline where offline media graphic is displayed (for me on a project that had no such issue previously on same V18) On deleting cache I suddenly found that wherever a text title was placed, the offline media graphic was displayed. This also occurred with several clips where no title sat above the pic.

I discovered if I highlighted the off-line clip(s) and then in the Inspector simple toggled the transform option off, then on the clip magically re-appeared!

Hope this helps. :)

Cheers
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 4:17 am

Should this be fixed by Monterey 15.0.1 on the Mac?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AmeDSL

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:23 am
  • Real Name: Amedeo Greco

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 9:59 am

Uli Plank wrote:Should this be fixed by Monterey 15.0.1 on the Mac?

Nope…same issue (MacOS 12.5.1)…
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 10:41 am

Yeah, seems to be an urgent security update only. Check your mobile devices too if they are by Apple.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2121
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostWed Sep 07, 2022 4:04 am

Hi Amedeo

Can you try the new Resolve 18.0.2?

Thanks
Shrinivas
Offline

maxalias

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Elias

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostThu Sep 08, 2022 9:01 pm

Tried with the new 18.0.2 version, still says Media Offline even after re-linking clips to folder.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2121
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:53 am

Hi Mark

You will need to provide more information on your system, setup and codec... as yours may or may not be the same issue. Please check the FAQs on what detail would be useful.

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline

maxalias

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Elias

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 7:18 pm

Please see attached for the requested information:
You will need to provide more information on your system, setup and codec... as yours may or may not be the same issue.
Included info on the system and codec of individual MOV clips.
Screen Shot 2022-09-12 at 12.18.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-09-12 at 12.18.11 PM.png (876.54 KiB) Viewed 301 times
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:47 pm

You're asking a bit too much from a machine with an underpowered GPU with UHD sources.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

maxalias

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Elias

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:48 pm

So what is the solution
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:50 pm

What's the resolution of your timeline?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

maxalias

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Elias

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:51 pm

Not sure, how do I find that info?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 8:53 pm

In your project settings or if the timeline is selected in the metadata window.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

maxalias

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Elias

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostMon Sep 12, 2022 9:44 pm

Screen Shot 2022-09-12 at 2.44.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-09-12 at 2.44.01 PM.png (181.24 KiB) Viewed 253 times
Timeline resolution pic attached, does this help?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15018
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Media offline on Mac M1 Resolve Studio 18.01

PostTue Sep 13, 2022 10:31 am

Well, it looks like your laptop is overwhelmed by the sheer resolution of UHD or by the incoming codec.

If you can't get a better laptop, try to convert your sources to ProRes 422 HQ in HD resolution with one of the free tools like Shutter Encoder. It might also help to change the timeline resolution to 'small' HD (1280 by 720) while working and increase it to full HD before rendering.

If that still doesn't work, use the latest version of Resolve 15, it's easier on your hardware.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google Feedfetcher and 55 guests