Motion For Davinci Resolve

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

kayinsho

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2022 4:59 am
  • Real Name: Kayin Sho

Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 5:26 am

Final Cut Pro has something called motion that makes installing and using FX ridiculously easy. Does Davinci have any plans to create something like this for Resolve? Using FX in resolve is a real pain in the ass as we always have to jump thru hoops with "restore from project archive" and then a ton of other steps just to use the FX. It's quite annoying, and I can't for the life of me understand why it's like this or why it hasn't been updated to work like motion and FCP. I really like Davinci, but I use FCP for all my FX cause it's just too much of a pain with Resolve.
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1791
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 9:55 am

start here:

cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 11.7
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.0.3
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 8:34 pm

Ahh, the good old toast video. A classic.
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
2TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve Studio - always the latest version (yes, even beta!)
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 14990
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 7:37 am

If you are familiar with FCP and Motion, there's nothing wrong with roundtripping and color grading in DR.
Depending on your hardware, it might even be the better solution. Fusion will feel really slow compared to Motion. Yes, it is more capable, but if Motion does what you need, why bother?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

okiewardoyo

  • Posts: 327
  • Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 4:01 am
  • Location: Indonesia
  • Real Name: Okie Eko Wardoyo

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 1:24 pm

kayinsho wrote:Final Cut Pro has something called motion that makes installing and using FX ridiculously easy. Does Davinci have any plans to create something like this for Resolve? Using FX in resolve is a real pain in the ass as we always have to jump thru hoops with "restore from project archive" and then a ton of other steps just to use the FX. It's quite annoying, and I can't for the life of me understand why it's like this or why it hasn't been updated to work like motion and FCP. I really like Davinci, but I use FCP for all my FX cause it's just too much of a pain with Resolve.

Hi kayisho, FCP and resolve are just tools. No perfect tools in this world. Use what works for you. :D
Begin using Resolve in Mon May 02, 2022.
Home : Resolve 18.0.3 (Ryzen 7 4000 series, Nvidia GTX 1650, 16GbRAM)
Office : Adobe Creative Cloud, PP 2022, Ae 2022, Au 2022, PS 2022, Ai 2022 (i7 Gen 10, Nvidia RTX 3060, 16Gb RAM)
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 1636
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 2:10 pm

Is there a way to round trip between Resolve and Motion?
Resolve Studio 18.0.3 | Fusion Studio 18.0.2 | Win 11 Pro (21H2) | i9-7940x, P4000 (471.41, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) 16" MacBook Pro M1 MAX, 32 GPU cores, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Monterey 12.5.1
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 14990
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Motion For Davinci Resolve

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 2:58 pm

Yes. Actually, it works better than between Premiere and DR.
If you send me a PM, I can send you a detailed article I wrote about this.
It’s going to be in German, but DeepL will help.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hendrik Proosa, Raul Luque and 107 guests