Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostMon Sep 26, 2022 10:04 am

If I try to run Resolve, it says "CrmGetCpuInfoListWithDevice could not be located" in the DLL, etc.--presumably because it only half-installed.

...And now if I try re-running the installation it says I've already got a version installed and should uninstall it.

How can I just finish the installation? Or get it to install without it borking itself half-way through?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 12481
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostMon Sep 26, 2022 12:56 pm

Please see the FAQs above
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 11:56 am

There's nothing I can find in the FAQs about installation of DaVinci Resolve. Could you link me to what I'm supposed to be looking at on there please?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 12481
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 3:18 am

Please start with the OS details.. then which version of Resolve you are trying to install. then system info.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 12:17 pm

I'm looking at the FAQ page, and see nothing about the OS, or Resolve, or system info.

This FAQ page, yes? It's the one "above," at the top of the forum. faq.php
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 4696
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 2:48 pm

What Peter is asking for are details of your system. Windows version, Resolve Free or Studio and its version, GPU model (graphics card) and its driver version, amount of RAM, etc, similar details to those in my signature below.
The FAQ section provides guidance on troubleshooting and creating logs amongst other things.
Does your computer meet or exceed the minimum specs?
Attachments
Resolve 18.0 Minimum Requirements.jpg
Resolve 18.0 Minimum Requirements.jpg (105.93 KiB) Viewed 366 times
Resolve Studio 18.1.1 Build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (516.94 Studio driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270, Canon C100mk2, Atomos Ninja 2.
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 3:27 pm

Ah, I see. Thanks. I had no idea what he was saying :D

Actually I can't see anything in the FAQ talking about those requirements, or how to find out if your machine meets those requirements. I'm basically Googling my hardware and hoping for the best at this point.

I think the GPU has 1GB of RAM, though I can't find VRAM specifically online. Indications are it supports OpenCL, though I don't know what version.

On the other hand... I don't know why the message I get would have anything to do with system requirements. This is the full message:

The procedure entry point CrmGetGpuInfoListWithDevice could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\...\Resolve.exe


...which to me sounds more like the installed files aren't working properly. If it had something to do with my GPU, why would it tell me it can't find an entry point in the main .exe file, know what I mean?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9834
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 3:29 pm

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.

If you are a new Forum user, you may not be allowed to post URLs. If this happens, just put a space near the front of the URL, so the system doesn't think it's a URL.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 7:19 am

Okay, will do. I'd like an answer to my question though. Why would an entry point error have anything to do with hardware? It's purely a software issue.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9834
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 7:58 am

I have no idea, as that's not a normal message, and not a message I've ever seen. But since you think there might have been an installer issue, please also send the Resolve installer log.

Open File Explorer Options, and on the View tab, enable "Show hidden files, folders and drives".

Also unselect "Hide extensions for known file types".

Then in File Explorer, navigate to this folder:

C:\Users\[UserName]\AppData\Local\Temp\ (where [UserName] is your Windows User name)

Send us this file:

ResolveInstallLog.txt
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 1:00 pm

It seems to want to save to a desktop folder that doesn't exist. That path is setup up as a symbolic link to another hard drive. So I get an error even running CaptureLogs:

The system cannot find the path specified.
zip warning: name not matched: Support\logs
zip warning: name not matched: Preferences
zip warning: name not matched: Support\crash_archive.txt
zip warning: name not matched: Support\Fusion\Profiles

zip error: Nothing to do!


Then it tells me the path it theoretically saved to, but there is no such zip file there. Unsure why it didn't just follow the symbolic link, but there you go.

Can I tell it where to save it, with a command?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9834
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 3:07 pm

It's very possible that if the install did not proceed far enough, that those locations don't exist.

Please send the requested installer log.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostFri Sep 30, 2022 9:01 am

Here's a Google Drive folder where I'll put log files etc. I've added that install log. https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9834
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostFri Sep 30, 2022 3:09 pm

According to the install log, all the components have successfully installed. So that's good.

Open the Windows System Information app, and select it's File menu, then select Save. This will create a .NFO file. Send the .NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostSat Oct 08, 2022 3:08 pm

Okay, I've added that to the Drive folder.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9834
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostSun Oct 09, 2022 10:13 pm

Your NVIDIA GT440 card does not support Resolve. You need an NVIDIA GPU that has CUDA Compute Capability 3.5 or higher. Your GPU has 2.1 support.

Here is a list of NVIDIA GPU's and their capabilities:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tapgiles

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Giles

Re: Installation restarted Windows, did not continue

PostWed Oct 12, 2022 4:05 pm

Okay, thanks.

So why did that silently bork the entire installation? That can't be by design, surely?

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AliasJo, Bing [Bot], kinvermark, MikeRitchey, mpetech, Robert Niessner, Shrinivas Ramani and 54 guests