Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rsevero

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Rodrigo Severo

Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 2:54 pm

Hi,


I have Resolve 18.0.3 build 5 on Fedora Linux 36.

Everytime I start it I get a process named "GUI Thread" that keeps using 100% of a core during all the time I use Resolve.

How can I fix it?

My system details: https://we.tl/t-qatraSGW5H

Please let me know if you need any extra info.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9812
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 4:26 pm

Is that causing an issue? Is Resolve running properly?

Ideally, we need a Resolve diagnostics log. If Resolve is running, you can generate that from the Resolve Help menu.

If Resolve is not running, there should be a DaVinci Resolve Capture Logs application with a gear icon that will generate the log file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

rsevero

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Rodrigo Severo

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 10:19 pm

Except for the 100% core use Resolve seems to run fine.

Not that I am using it fully, just running some simple exercises.

Here are the running diagnostic logs: https://we.tl/t-Pqad0BUlq6
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9812
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 2:13 am

I would say there is nothing to worry about.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

rsevero

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Rodrigo Severo

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 9:18 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I would say there is nothing to worry about.


Ok, I am not worried but is this expected behaviour?

IOW, Resolve, doing nothing, with an empty project, consumes a 100% of a core isn't something that should be fixed?
Offline

rsevero

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Rodrigo Severo

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 1:23 pm

Running this dockerized version fixed this issue for me: https://github.com/fat-tire/resolve
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9685
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 2:35 pm

that core is a workaholics and it need a vacation.....
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

rsevero

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Rodrigo Severo

Re: Resolve 18.0.3 using 100% of a core all the time

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 2:39 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:that core is a workaholics and it need a vacation.....


Yeah. just manage to put it on vacation with the dockerized version of Resolve.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexrocks1253, IvanTheEditor, RedRider14, vtcats and 148 guests