Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 12:05 pm

Forgive me if I've got the wrong end of the stick.

I understand (maybe incorrectly), previously, we needed FCPX to be installed on Macs to enable certain Pro Video Formats to work in Resolve.

Is this correct, and if so is this still the case with Resolve 18? If yes - which formats aren't available until we do this?


Cheers
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 12:39 pm

They all should work without FCPX.
You may just want to update pro formats through OSX updates.
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 12:51 pm

OK great cheers
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 1:08 pm

Resolve in most cases has own implementations (eg. DNxHR, AVC-I etc.), so it's not really OSX dependent.
In some cases it just plugs in into accelerated formats like ProRes, h264/5 etc.
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 2:12 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Resolve in most cases has own implementations (eg. DNxHR, AVC-I etc.), so it's not really OSX dependent.
In some cases it just plugs in into accelerated formats like ProRes, h264/5 etc.


When you say plugs in, do you mean it uses the capabilities of the OS / platform rather than using its own software for reading/writing?
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1920
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 3:40 pm

Hey

No, you misunderstood the point : you don't need FCPX, you may need codecs which come with the installation of FCPX by default, but you can install them without installing FCPX...
These are called ProRes, and you can find them here : https://support.apple.com//downloads/pr ... alsoftware
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSD
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 3:53 pm

Great thanks Sam, appreciate the explanation - makes sense.

Thanks again both.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15734
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 3:57 pm

DR is handling all ProRes codecs other than ProRes RAW without those being installed with FCP-X.
Even if something were missing, getting Apple's Compressor would suffice. Plus, it can convert ProRes RAW into something digestible by DR.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.1, MacOS 12.6.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 4:01 pm

ok good stuff, thanks.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 7:01 pm

AndySP wrote:
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Resolve in most cases has own implementations (eg. DNxHR, AVC-I etc.), so it's not really OSX dependent.
In some cases it just plugs in into accelerated formats like ProRes, h264/5 etc.


When you say plugs in, do you mean it uses the capabilities of the OS / platform rather than using its own software for reading/writing?


Yes. Resolve has native support for about all codecs.
On OSX only h264/5 encoding comes from the operating system. On new hardware also ProRes gets acceleration, but it's just to get more speed. None of those requires any extra installers though.

FCPX/Compressor installation adds ProFormats to OSX, but you can download these as separate installer as well. In the past there were some restriction (I think) when you had no FCPX/Compressor. Looks like now Apple removed any restrictions, so if you have no FCPX/Compressor you just install them from mentioned link and then QT X should open formats like DNxHR, etc. Resolve is not affected by any of it.
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 2658
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 7:51 pm

Some camera codecs don't work in Resolve unless Pro Video Formats is installed, as experienced by this user on an older Mac: 4K footage gone offline, proxies are OK

Here's a direct link to Pro Video Formats 2.2.3 which is currently the latest version: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL2050
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostMon Oct 03, 2022 9:35 pm

Looks like it was XF-AVC, so it's related to AVC format. It makes some sense as free Resolve has no native AVC decoder.
This suggests that you may be better off installing ProFormats. Resolve manual is still not very clear about codecs at all.
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostTue Oct 04, 2022 7:02 am

Thanks all,

So I think where we've landed is:

1. We don't need FCPX to be installed.

2. Resolve doesn't yet support ProRes raw so need a third party application (such as Compressor) to convert to a format that it supports.

3. On Mac's, we may need Pro Video Formats to be installed to support/enable certain codecs, others are handled natively by Resolve.

4. The codecs Pro Video Formats provides are as follows (copied from the webpage), not 100% sure which are handled natively by Resolve and which aren't:

Apple ProRes RAW and ProRes RAW HQ
Apple Intermediate Codec
Avid DNxHD® / Avid DNxHR® decoder
AVC-Intra 50 / 100 / 200 / 4:4:4 / LT
AVC-LongG
XAVC
XF-AVC
XF-HEVC
DVCPRO HD
HDV
XDCAM EX / HD / HD422
MPEG IMX
Uncompressed 4:2:2
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostTue Oct 04, 2022 10:51 am

Many of them are handled by Resolve natively.
Possible that only XF variants are affected.
Offline

ZRGARDNE

  • Posts: 425
  • Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:32 am
  • Real Name: Zeb Gardner

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostTue Oct 04, 2022 12:41 pm

This document details all the codecs supported in every version

https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... c_List.pdf



It is still inaccurate for Windows (no 10bit mpeg4 support in free Ticket # BXU-560-89721). But that is irrelevant to you
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostWed Oct 05, 2022 12:25 pm

ZRGARDNE wrote:This document details all the codecs supported in every version

https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... c_List.pdf



It is still inaccurate for Windows (no 10bit mpeg4 support in free Ticket # BXU-560-89721). But that is irrelevant to you


Thanks - this is really useful.

I'm guessing 'Codec Passthrough' means Resolve relies on the OS codecs (such as the Pro Video Formats pack) to support that format instead of natively.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 8660
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostWed Oct 05, 2022 1:54 pm

No.
Pass-Through means exporting without re-encoding if no changes are done to the video.
If you do cuts and apply processing on some parts and nothing on others those will be passed-through without re-encoding (if you export to the same format as source).

Resolve document says nothing about need for ProFormats etc. It's not very precise.
Offline

AndySP

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun May 22, 2022 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Andy Simon

Re: Do we need FCPX for Pro Video Formats?

PostWed Oct 05, 2022 2:47 pm

Ok cheers, makes sense

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mintume, rvbsmx, Wouter Bouwens and 106 guests