Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

nggaus123

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 6:34 pm
  • Real Name: Nancy Gaus

Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostTue Oct 04, 2022 8:01 pm

I am a novice videographer running DR16 on an older Windows 10 laptop. My specs are below. I’ve been wrestling with an audio problem for several months and need some help. The problem seems intermittent -- I’ve been able to successfully create videos and upload them to YouTube, but my editing sessions are always a bit dicey since this problem will pop up frequently.

I am importing clips from several sources, mostly OBS Studio “Display Capture” sessions (*.mp4) and video footage from my Android phone (.mp4). Before importing these clips into the Media Pool, I process them with FFMPEG in a terminal window to remove compression and set the framerate to 30 fps.

When I open the new project, I go into project settings and in the Master Settings tab, I set both the Timeline Frame Rate and the Play Back Frame Rate to 30 fps. I set the Video Monitoring Format to HD1080i 60. In the Capture and Playback tab, I set the Video Capture and Playback to HD1080i 60. After saving the settings, I import the processed clips.

When I play the first imported clip either in the preview window or in the timeline, the video will look great, but the audio will pulse in and out. Think of a sine wave with regular periodic bursts of full volume followed by zero volume. The audio is not choppy, nor is it noisy, and the audio (what I can hear of it) is in sync with the video. The volume just pulses on and off. I can render the clip to a output video that plays perfectly fine.

Since I can render the clip with no audio issues, I am guessing that I just have some setting wrong in my editing session, but I can’t figure out what. The pulsing makes it impossible to edit the clip accurately since I am listening for audio cues to make my transitions.

What simple thing am I doing wrong? Am I missing a setting or do I have the setup procedure wrong? It’s probably in the manual, but I don’t know where to look.

Thanks,
Nancy Gaus
DR 16.2.8.005 on Win10Home 21H2/19044.2006, i7-4700MQ CPU@2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M, 2GB, driver 24.21.13.9836
931GB HDD, cache L1:256KB, L2:1.0MB, L3:6.0MB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15760
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostWed Oct 05, 2022 5:28 am

Your clips are probably variable frame rate (check with MediaInfo).
Professional NLEs don't like that, rather use Filmora or the like.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.1, MacOS 12.6.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

nggaus123

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 6:34 pm
  • Real Name: Nancy Gaus

Re: Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostWed Oct 05, 2022 9:58 am

Yes, but I resolved that issue by running them through the FFMPEG app and converting them to a constant frame rate. I verified that they were CFR before importing the clips.

Nancy
DR 16.2.8.005 on Win10Home 21H2/19044.2006, i7-4700MQ CPU@2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M, 2GB, driver 24.21.13.9836
931GB HDD, cache L1:256KB, L2:1.0MB, L3:6.0MB
Offline

nggaus123

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 6:34 pm
  • Real Name: Nancy Gaus

Re: Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostThu Oct 06, 2022 4:20 pm

I confirmed with MediaInfo that my clips are all CFR and the FPS agrees with the parameters that I am using to set up my project. I managed to somehow get my clips into DR16 and have been working in a problem-free session for a day and a half ... then ... audio started pulsing out of the blue.

I am starting to suspect that this is an "old laptop" problem and that I may have to invest in a new system with updated graphics card and drivers to get past this issue. Any insights that might get me through this current project, though, are welcome. I am on a deadline.

Nancy G
DR 16.2.8.005 on Win10Home 21H2/19044.2006, i7-4700MQ CPU@2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M, 2GB, driver 24.21.13.9836
931GB HDD, cache L1:256KB, L2:1.0MB, L3:6.0MB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15760
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostFri Oct 07, 2022 5:28 am

Is possibly "Show all video frames" activated? If so, switch it off.
Bildschirmfoto 2022-10-07 um 07.26.54.png
Bildschirmfoto 2022-10-07 um 07.26.54.png (194.15 KiB) Viewed 478 times
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.1, MacOS 12.6.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

nggaus123

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 6:34 pm
  • Real Name: Nancy Gaus

Re: Pulsing Audio on Imported Clips in DR16

PostFri Oct 07, 2022 8:48 pm

Good thought, but it is already switched off.

Nancy G
DR 16.2.8.005 on Win10Home 21H2/19044.2006, i7-4700MQ CPU@2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M, 2GB, driver 24.21.13.9836
931GB HDD, cache L1:256KB, L2:1.0MB, L3:6.0MB

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, Ashton Lamont, Bing [Bot], bthathaway, ChipFTW, jamedia, Mike Warren, panos_mts, salmiak, Steve Alexander, studiode and 114 guests