almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 21, 2022 1:30 pm

I finished a project and exported and then moved the clips into the species folder where they will reside permanently, unless there is a hardware failure or something extreme.

I got to relink the clips and its says they can't be found. this it the 2nd time this has happened, though in the 1st case, they were moved quite awhile after that project was completed. There is no doubt that the files have been altered or renamed in any way, just moved to a subfolder, and now, verified in file manager that they are there, can't locate. This is basic, and in my other thread, no one had a solution. I had thought there was technical help besides the forum if the program was paid for. Was this wrong?

I spent hours on projects and if I want to return to them, I don't want to have to start all over. This was simple enough in Premier Pro, pointing to a file even if there was a name change but this is just a simple move,
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 16523
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 21, 2022 1:56 pm

You have the right to contact support if you have Studio,
Don’t approach DR with your preconceptions from another NLE.
Many features are better, some worse, most are different.


Resolve Studio 18.1.2, MacOS 12.6.2
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 21, 2022 3:56 pm

Thanks, how, as it is not in the help of the program?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 23849
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 12:48 pm

It seems that buying Studio only gives fake help.
I called regarding the missing clip problem and he was clueless, and said he would escalate and send me an email with directions to send some system info and data, in about 5 minutes, and create a ticket. when hours went by and no email, I called again, vefiried leter by letter that they had the right email, and she said they were just busy. Another day went by and then Thanksgiving and I called Friday and it said to leave a message. So maybe I'll try again Monday, after almost a week with no help for my $295 program.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 9010
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 12:50 pm

What source format are the files you're trying to relink? Is it possible there's a problem with disk permissions?

What specific version of Resolve are you using? What OS?
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 1:35 pm

I just rechecked the 2 projects and the more recent one relinked to the changed folder.
The other one, 20 files: 50fps, 3840x2160. Can't link where they are now, nor even to where they were copied from in the original location. Studio 18.1.1 build 7. Win 11
Offline
User avatar

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 4:47 pm

did you try simply bringing the media from the new location back into the project through the media tool?
If the media is indeed unchanged, this will automatically do a relink. If it doesn't, than something has changed in the media.
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 9:12 pm

Glenn,
I am not sure what you mean.
Here I added the last one so they would be adjacent and easily comparable, as identical in all parameters, except the top of the 9067950 shows from the R drive because it won't relink, while the one below is from the I internal HD, where it resides now but won't relink.
If I try to put it on the timeline, it's like an unrecognized new file that has none of the editing, trimming - that was probably about 3 hours for the whole project.
Attachments
LT Duck link fail.jpg
LT Duck link fail.jpg (172.53 KiB) Viewed 551 times
Offline
User avatar

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostSun Nov 27, 2022 9:30 pm

Quite intense, just bringing the clips back into Resolve will cause your timeline to relink...without any further effort on your part.

Have you tried the "change folder location" relink option?

Strange it doesn't populate the timeline.

Worse case would be to do a conform with selected clip maneuver...but that is a clip by clip basis.
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 11:07 am

Is the 'change folder location' option different from going to the relink and choosing 'locate' and pointing to the folder?
And how does the conform process work?
On a project I am on now, I noticed after initial assembly and some trimming, that some clips have names that need to be changed. I changed one (merely removing a (1) following the name) and it was no longer linked, though when I changed the name in the media pool of the project to be the same, it still didn't find if in the folder. Then I changed both back, adding the (1) and it was recognized.

Having (1) usually mean there is duplication, though not in the case of this and 3 others in the folder, so I would normally want to delete them. Topaz program creates a lot of these intermediates which I would like to mass delete, but now I realize how dangerous that could be if they aren't duplicates.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 16523
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 11:53 am

You should never change the name of files at system level once they are imported into DR.
There is an option in the Clip Attributes to give them a different name without loosing connection.
Don’t approach DR with your preconceptions from another NLE.
Many features are better, some worse, most are different.


Resolve Studio 18.1.2, MacOS 12.6.2
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 23849
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 4:06 pm

Uli Plank wrote:You should never change the name of files at system level once they are imported into DR.
I would add the idea that one should not move clips once imported into a project.

Do all the file management before work begins. ;)

Not a hard requirement, per se, just...a good idea that obviates issues like this.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 12594
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 4:53 pm

Media management lets u copy files and auto relink them and once confirmed u can delete the old copies.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 481
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 6:43 pm

Yeah, when you start moving files around and changing their names, of course there are relinking problems. This is a pretty basic part of computer usage and not really anything bad about Resolve. I would recommend reading the opening chapters in the manual regarding media management. The gist is: put the media onto a permanent drive and leave it alone. Using an external adds variables. Moving source footage around folders adds a bigger variable. Changing the file names adds a huge variable.
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
2TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve Studio 18.1
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 7:19 pm

I assumed, since this is supposedly a program on which Hollywood movies are edited, that it is very professional, maybe more so than Premiere Pro. but Premiere Pro CS6 easily relinks filesm even if there name changes by pointing to desired file.

The reason I move files is because, for example, I have a backlog of over 1500 Passerine birds in a folder. Individual files have species names and unique ID numbers. I usually make a video of a single species that hasn't been in previous videos. So when they are used, they are moved to a more permanent species folder. If I moved all the species into their specific folder before processing, it would be a nightmare, keeping track of thousands of numbers to not duplicate footage that has already been used. Also, if a hard drive fails, as a new one did immediately after spending 46 hours copying all my videos to it, then it is necessary to move files again.

Now, because of this potential problem, I am trying to make the move right after starting a project, so that if not recognized I will know before any work has commenced. Several times I have forgot and already started work.

As for renaming, to keep up with the latest scientific name changes, due to DNA studies, or because something has the wrong name because of an error, I didn't really expect the program to be that dumb. This is pretty basic, and I've done so for years with PP CS6.
Offline

SkierEvans

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:59 pm
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • Real Name: Ron Evans

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 7:54 pm

You can change the clip in the media page. Right click and select " replace clip" in the dropdown menu . Don't understand why you think the program should find the clip when you changed its name. Bit like complaining someone couldn't find your house because all you did was move to a new street with a different house number. Different if it was your car, gave them the keys and asked them to move it and told them what street it was on and the license number.

Both options are in the dropdown right click menu on the media page as far as I understand. I have not changed names but often relink.
Threadripper 1920, Gigabyte X399 DESIGNARE EX, 32G RAM, MSI 1080Ti 11G, IP4K, WIN10 Pro 21H2, Speed Editor
Resolve Studio 18, EDIUS 9WG,EDIUS X WG, Vegas 18

Studio Max 24 core GPU, 1T drive. iPad Pro 12.9` 1T
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 9:45 pm

Skier, I am happy to find that your suggestion to replace the clip worked, when I tried one. Thanks very much.
My expectations for relinking were based on what I was used to with Premiere Pro. This was CS6, from an actual CD. There, even if something was renamed, when it indicates the 1st one is missing, I'd go to the folder and indicate which is the correct one, and then apparently based on size and other factors it would replace that and all the other ones that were in the project in that folder. This is what I call smart.
And if I seem extra upset, it is because after calling the tech help number for the studio version, I was 9th in line, when my turn came, the guy didn't know anything about solving my problem, said he would escalate, create a ticket, and within 5 minutes send me an email with instructions on what info I should send to them. After a couple hours passed, I called back, said I'd received nothing, made sure they had the right email, repeating a letter at a time, and still got nothing. After Thanksgiving I called again and had 'leave a message'. Now almost a week has passed with no response. Fake help, it seems.
Offline

SkierEvans

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:59 pm
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • Real Name: Ron Evans

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 9:59 pm

Glad it worked for you. I moved to Resolve from EDIUS which I moved to from CS6 also used Vegas. Since spending a lot of time learning Resolve ( still know only a fraction of it ) I now do everything in Resolve. Each program has its pros and cons but overall Resolve is the best in my mind at the moment especially for the price.
Threadripper 1920, Gigabyte X399 DESIGNARE EX, 32G RAM, MSI 1080Ti 11G, IP4K, WIN10 Pro 21H2, Speed Editor
Resolve Studio 18, EDIUS 9WG,EDIUS X WG, Vegas 18

Studio Max 24 core GPU, 1T drive. iPad Pro 12.9` 1T
Offline

robirdman

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Curtis

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostMon Nov 28, 2022 10:09 pm

Skier, I continued and replaced all the clips in the duck vide, and it returned to normalcy.
Then with the other project, where 4 clips had unwanted (1) after the file name, I removed in the folder (slight rename) and then chose those and they all replaced OK. though strangely, in the project, one still shows (1) though replaced, and that doesn't exist any more in the folder. but still plays as though it does.
Offline

Bruceqld

  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:12 pm
  • Real Name: Bruce Cook

Re: almost $300 for a defective program with no tech help?

PostTue Nov 29, 2022 12:36 am

robirdman wrote: (slight rename) .


Interesting qualifier. ;)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DorisLondon, nnjrewzas112, rhrn.ch and 81 guests