Waves Clarity VX

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Lee Reichel

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:54 pm

Waves Clarity VX

PostTue Aug 02, 2022 1:41 pm

I’m using Resolve Studio 18.1 on a pc and tried to use Clarity VX as a VST plugin but failed. The plugin is in the effects list in Fairlight and when selected nothing happens,

A tech person from Waves tried using remote access to my pc but couldn’t make it work. She modified and reinstalled a lot of Microsoft redistributes but failed so she recommended using Reaper which did work. But this means importing clip into reaper and exporting to Davinci.

Have any of you tried using the Clarity VX plugin in Resolve? It runs in the Mac version of Resolve but not Windows. Has anyone got it to work in Windows Resolve?

I’m running on a i7 12700KF Windows 11 Pro, RTX 3080.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Mylonas Films

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:41 am
  • Location: Central Coast - Australia
  • Real Name: Stephen Mylonas

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostThu Sep 01, 2022 1:55 am

Hi, yes It's working for me in Resolve v17. WINDOWS
I have both demo version but I can't get the pro version to work in Resolve Fairlight though. It only shows the Basic VX version.
**EDIT -- I just had to restart resolve a bunch of times then it was there.
-----------------------------------------
stephen.mylo@gmail.com
DOP /Director/Colourist-ish
DR V17.2
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041)
System Model: X299X AORUS MASTER
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10920X CPU @ 3.50GHz (24 CPUs)
Memory: 132GB RAM
Offline

Lee Reichel

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:54 pm

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostThu Sep 01, 2022 5:49 am

Thanks.

I have noticed those who claim to have Clarity VX working in Resolve in Windows are using version 17 of Resolve and Windows 10. Has anyone had it working in Resolve 18 in Windows 11?
Offline

Lee Reichel

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:54 pm

Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Nov 11, 2022 10:09 pm

I just installed Studio 18.1 and Waves Clarity VX now works. I’m running Windows 11 pro.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Nov 11, 2022 11:05 pm

Works here on a Mac (OS X) and v18.

However, on my system at least, it takes a lot of resources, so much so that I can only reliably run one instance at a time. So I bounce the results, then move it to the next track or clip as needed.

I find the Pro version a bit more useful (and functional) compared to the standard version.

Sounds great! I'm impressed, transparent and doesn't affect the sound too badly.

Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core CPU 96GB RAM | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Monterey 12.6.2
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline
User avatar

Mylonas Films

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:41 am
  • Location: Central Coast - Australia
  • Real Name: Stephen Mylonas

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostSat Nov 12, 2022 7:52 pm

tlegvold wrote: I find the Pro version a bit more useful (and functional) compared to the standard version.
Thor

I done vigorous tests with the pro version & couldn’t find any use for it especially compared to the extra money spent.
What use did you find?
-----------------------------------------
stephen.mylo@gmail.com
DOP /Director/Colourist-ish
DR V17.2
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041)
System Model: X299X AORUS MASTER
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10920X CPU @ 3.50GHz (24 CPUs)
Memory: 132GB RAM
Offline

tlegvold

  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:03 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Thor Legvold

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostSun Nov 13, 2022 5:23 am

Seems a bit more stable/I don't have as many problems with the system using Pro vs regular.

Offers the option to attenuate or even remove dialogue and leave the background/noise, which is quite useful in scenarios.

There's also more tweaking possible in the individual bands, but I haven't tried that feature yet.

Other than that they seem pretty similar, I think both offer the same selection of algorithms.

Cheers,
Thor
2019 Mac Pro 16 Core CPU 96GB RAM | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Monterey 12.6.2
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console
Offline

chuck1026

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2022 3:16 pm
  • Location: Syracuse NY
  • Real Name: Charles Kovac

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostMon Nov 21, 2022 7:32 pm

I installed Clarity Vx to DaVinci 18 early September and it was fine... until I upgraded to 18.1 and started getting frequent crashes. Disabling the plug-in helped me but using the new built in voice enhancement leads to the same crash. I want to fully uninstall Clarity Vx ... but how?
Kovaction Travel Vlogs
https://youtube.com/@Kovaction
Pack your bag and join us!
Offline
User avatar

Mylonas Films

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:41 am
  • Location: Central Coast - Australia
  • Real Name: Stephen Mylonas

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostTue Nov 22, 2022 10:01 am

chuck1026 wrote:I want to fully uninstall Clarity Vx ... but how?

Go to preferences & Audio Plugins. Uncheck Clarity VX.
Close Davinci.
The open your WAVES App on your computer & uninstall it from there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-----------------------------------------
stephen.mylo@gmail.com
DOP /Director/Colourist-ish
DR V17.2
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041)
System Model: X299X AORUS MASTER
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10920X CPU @ 3.50GHz (24 CPUs)
Memory: 132GB RAM
Offline

chuck1026

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2022 3:16 pm
  • Location: Syracuse NY
  • Real Name: Charles Kovac

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostTue Nov 22, 2022 11:48 am

That's what I've done but it seemed odd when I went back into Davinci I could still check it again. Odd.....

Sent from my SM-F721U1 using Tapatalk
Kovaction Travel Vlogs
https://youtube.com/@Kovaction
Pack your bag and join us!
Offline
User avatar

Mylonas Films

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:41 am
  • Location: Central Coast - Australia
  • Real Name: Stephen Mylonas

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostThu Dec 01, 2022 12:24 pm

Dialogue isolate on Davinci now is better than Clarity. Happy days.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-----------------------------------------
stephen.mylo@gmail.com
DOP /Director/Colourist-ish
DR V17.2
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041)
System Model: X299X AORUS MASTER
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10920X CPU @ 3.50GHz (24 CPUs)
Memory: 132GB RAM
Offline

Lee Reichel

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:54 pm

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostThu Dec 01, 2022 12:56 pm

After installing 18.1 Studio, Clarity is now working on my Windows 11 Pro pc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 9015
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 1:30 am

Mylonas Films wrote:Dialogue isolate on Davinci now is better than Clarity. Happy days.

I would say it's not better than Clarity VX Pro.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 434
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 6:44 am

Waves Clarity VX Pro works fine for me in Resolve 18.1.1.

I never insert these FX as real-time plugins, always process recorded dialog before importing to Resolve.
Mostly RX10 but often Steinberg WaveLab with a chain of Waves plugins in addition to RX.

I never have a one solution fits all situation.
RX, Waves, Acon Digital etc. all have their strengths.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 22H2, Resolve Studio 18.1.2, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 528.24 NSD, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.9.0.1 | Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

Mylonas Films

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:41 am
  • Location: Central Coast - Australia
  • Real Name: Stephen Mylonas

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostMon Dec 05, 2022 8:38 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
Mylonas Films wrote:Dialogue isolate on Davinci now is better than Clarity. Happy days.

I would say it's not better than Clarity VX Pro.
I spent (only) half hour comparing ClarityVX Pro to the non-Pro version & couldn’t find any benefits at all after tweaking the advanced setting. I’m sure it’s more built for music & i’m obviously not a sound engineer. I think the whole purpose for many of us is to just turn one knob anyways


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-----------------------------------------
stephen.mylo@gmail.com
DOP /Director/Colourist-ish
DR V17.2
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041)
System Model: X299X AORUS MASTER
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10920X CPU @ 3.50GHz (24 CPUs)
Memory: 132GB RAM
Offline

jhoepffner

  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:43 am
  • Location: Paris
  • Real Name: Jacques Hoepffner

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostMon Dec 05, 2022 8:49 am

Hello,
I have a big problem with Dialogue Isolate, I cannot use it in a bus channel. I can do it with Clarity VX and I need to do it because in my mix (a documentary with 12 different voice, each with different equalization), if I put Dialogue Isolate in each track, I obtain crackles in the sound. My solution is to route all the different voice to a bus with Clarity and remix it to the main bus.
Please BlackMagic, add Dialogue Isolate on the bus channel also!
Jacques
W10 Ryzen7 3800X nVidia 3090 RAM 64 DVR-Fusion Studio 18.1.1 SSD 2To raid 0 32 To
MSI G65 W10 / RAM 32 nVidia 1070 Intel Core i7-8750H DVR Studio 18.1.1
MBP 15" (2012) OS 10.14.6 RAM 16 nVidia 650M Intell i7 DVR Studio 17.4
Offline

Joelarvidsson

  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:18 am

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 1:07 pm

So clarity works on 18.1? It does not work in 18.0.3 since it cant se the vst in the folder. I told Waves and they say, well its not supported and posted a list of compatible programs and turned of the chat. Nice move! I got a couple of denoisers so it was not that important but it seamed to do some stuff better. I seen a few youtube videos with it in davinci so I really didnt check the compbality list. Even premiere is on the list...

Edit: I later reinstalled it and got it to work...but its not optimized, so even thoe I got two cpu it creates a delay to the audio when using it on more than one track. Atleast that is my guess whats caution the delay/lagg in audio.
Last edited by Joelarvidsson on Fri Dec 16, 2022 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 18.0.3 Build 5, Studio driver 517.40
Supermicro 2 Intel Xeon E5-2687W 3.10GHz processors. 64GB ram. GTX 1080Ti GPU Samsung PM893 SSD for system, Intel ssd for cache. Windows 10 pro. Qnap gnap TS-1685 for media. 925MB/s & 1062MB/s
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 2464
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Waves Clarity VX

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 1:20 pm

I noticed that iZotope also doesn't list Resolve as a supported host (and yet it supports Premiere). You would think this would have changed with the introduction of Fairlight but perhaps the thinking is that most users of Resolve don't pay anything (using the Free version) and so they would be unlikely to spend $$$ on iZotope products... I don't know if this is true, but it does seem odd to me that Resolve isn't supported.
Time Traveller
Resolve Studio 18.1.2 | Fusion Studio 18.1.2 | Win 11 Pro (22H2) | i9-7940x, P4000 (517.40, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) 16" MacBook Pro M1 MAX, 32 GPU cores, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Ventura 13.2

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DorisLondon, Peter Chamberlain and 64 guests