Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostThu Mar 05, 2020 5:26 pm

Yes it works when you have the timeline menu switch on and when you ripple delete a clip(s). But it does not work at all in a very common editing situation: when you select all clips on all tracks to the right of the timeline position indicator and drag them to the left. This is a very common task when re-editing and fine cutting a long complex timeline. The markers should move with all clips on unlocked tracks.
David
Resolve Studio latest build
Windows 11 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k
Intel i9 7960x @ 4 GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
1 EVGA RTX 3090 XC3 Card
Areca Thunderbolt3 12 drive Raid
Offline

Dmitry Kitsov BMD

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 362
  • Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostThu Mar 05, 2020 6:54 pm

Hello, David,
may not be 100% what you are looking for, but with the understanding that the empty space can be rippled what you are trying to achieve is possible, at least for some cases. As the name of the setting implies, markers will ripple as you use the ripple tool, even if you ripple the empty space as is the case in my screenshot.

Screenshot 2020-03-05 10.46.37.png
Screenshot 2020-03-05 10.46.37.png (233.59 KiB) Viewed 1657 times
Last edited by Dmitry Kitsov BMD on Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Blackmagic Design Technical support engineer
any posts made by myself prior to May 27, 2014 were before my employment with Blackmagic Design.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 23802
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostThu Mar 05, 2020 11:35 pm

I would not want makers to move under those conditions. Dragging clips around is just too common an activity. I think moving makers for that would cause more problems than it solves.
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostFri Mar 06, 2020 1:06 am

Dmitry Kitsov BMD wrote:Hello, David,
may not be 100% what you are looking for, but with the understanding that the empty space can be rippled what you are trying to achieve is possible, at least for some cases. As the name of the setting implies, markers will ripple as you use the ripple tool, even if you ripple the empty space as is the case in my screenshot.

Screenshot 2020-03-05 10.46.37.png


Dmitry, as you point out, I've seen that it doesn't work in all situations. It depends on the complexity of the clips behind it.
David
Resolve Studio latest build
Windows 11 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k
Intel i9 7960x @ 4 GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
1 EVGA RTX 3090 XC3 Card
Areca Thunderbolt3 12 drive Raid
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostFri Mar 06, 2020 1:14 am

Jim Simon wrote:I would not want makers to move under those conditions. Dragging clips around is just too common an activity. I think moving makers for that would cause more problems than it solves.


Jim, This is a common procedure to open up and close a complex timeline, before and after inserting or deleting material. What I'm proposing would only work to move markers when ALL clips to the right of the timeline indicator on all unlocked tracks are selected. If that's not the case, and you're just dragging some clips around, then of course you wouldn't want markers to move.
David
Resolve Studio latest build
Windows 11 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k
Intel i9 7960x @ 4 GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
1 EVGA RTX 3090 XC3 Card
Areca Thunderbolt3 12 drive Raid
Offline

vegasprouser

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 8:57 pm
  • Real Name: Jakob Creutz

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostSun Sep 20, 2020 6:35 pm

Hey, I'm also very much interested, if this can be achieved somehow. Cause when you have a bunch of markers on the timeline, and all objects stuck together, and you want to separate objects at a certain point, you would probably "Select Clips Forward on All Tracks", and then move them only to find that now all markers are offset. What a pity.
Offline

imagefact

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2022 8:15 am
  • Real Name: Evan Seplow

Re: Ripple timeline markers does not fully work

PostSun Dec 04, 2022 3:36 pm

+1

Want to move all clips to the right but have markers move with this action.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daniel Vrabel, funkmasterD, piotrus3333, Rick van den Berg and 90 guests