Deinterlace

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

RichardGee

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 6:06 pm
  • Real Name: richard gardner

Deinterlace

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 6:19 pm

Hi
I'm a newbie to Resolve.
I have some old PAL SD video footage (at 25fps) which has fields. I want to deinterlace using the neural engine feature and end up with 50fps. I've read that resolve is very good at this. Can anyone describe the best steps to achieve this?
Thanks
Richard
Offline

Gordonjcp

  • Posts: 170
  • Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2022 11:27 am
  • Real Name: Gordon JC Pearce

Re: Deinterlace

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 10:33 pm

RichardGee wrote:Hi
I'm a newbie to Resolve.
I have some old PAL SD video footage (at 25fps) which has fields. I want to deinterlace using the neural engine feature and end up with 50fps. I've read that resolve is very good at this. Can anyone describe the best steps to achieve this?
Thanks
Richard


You need to capture the video in such a way that the individual lines are preserved. I use my old Sony PD150 as an analogue-to-digital converter and grab it over firewire, which gives me (pretty much) raw 720x576 interlaced video.

If you haven't got Studio, you won't get the "Neural Engine" stuff, but the normal deinterlacer in Resolve is perfectly okay, at least as good as bwdif in ffmpeg.

BE WARNED! There is a horrible bug in Resolve where it cannot cope with SD 16:9 timelines. It'll output okay but it cannot display them at the correct aspect ratio. I doubt it'll ever be fixed.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 18065
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Deinterlace

PostSat Mar 25, 2023 2:56 am

@Gordon
I’m sorry to contradict here, but the neural deinterlacer is far superior to the old one.
It’s coming quite close to TVAI.

@Richard
Please do a search for the subject, there have been very detailed discussions around here recently.
DaVinci Resolve is very capable even for free, but you need the right hardware!

Studio 18.1.4, MacOS 12.6.6, 'sandboxed' 18.5b3 under 13.4
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPad Pro M2 16 GB
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 2124
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 10:23 am

Hi there,

Excuse me but just FMI, what do you mean "neural deinterlacer" ? :)

I didn't use it for a while now, but when I had to deinterlace SD or HDV tapes, it worked really great by basically choose the right option in the clip attributes.
I also know there must be a deinterlace fx out there...

Do you guys refer to anything else ?

EDIT : btw Gordon, "it cannot cope with SD 16:9 timelines. It'll output okay but it cannot display them at the correct aspect ratio"
Yes it does, i've been doing it ok since Resolve 9. You just have to choose "DVCPRO HD" as the aspect ratio in the clip attributes (t least it was this way for years and years)
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSDs on TB3 - 14 To HD in 2 x 4 disks USB3 towers
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 3SSDs including RAID
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 18065
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 12:13 pm

From the manual:
"DaVinci Neural Engine: This option uses the advanced machine learning algorithms of the DaVinci Neural Engine to analyze motion between the fields of interlaced material and reconstructs them into a single frame. This option is very computationally intensive, but ideally will deliver an even more aesthetically pleasing result than the “high” setting."
DaVinci Resolve is very capable even for free, but you need the right hardware!

Studio 18.1.4, MacOS 12.6.6, 'sandboxed' 18.5b3 under 13.4
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPad Pro M2 16 GB
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017
Offline

SkierEvans

  • Posts: 738
  • Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:59 pm
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • Real Name: Ron Evans

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 12:24 pm

Not sure if you are all Mac but if you have PC then TMPGenc Master Works does a good deinterlace. I have Topaz and for my long deinterlace ( 2 hour VHS or Hi8 tapes etc ) feel that I get as good conversion using TMPGenc MW7 to deinterlace then Resolve to upscale with Superscale x2 in a 720 60P timeline of course. Times on either my PC or Studio Max for Topaz to do the job is usually over 14 hours. I get the process for TMPGenc and Resolve done in less than twice realtime. In some test cases Topaz would do a better job but in most there is little difference or even Topaz not as good with artifacts on faces. I tried letting Resolve do the whole task but using neural deinterlace takes almost as long as Topaz and I cannot see the difference to my approach which is much faster.
Threadripper 1920, Gigabyte X399 DESIGNARE EX, 32G RAM, MSI 1080Ti 11G, IP4K, WIN10 Pro 22H2, Speed Editor
Resolve Studio 18, EDIUS 9WG,EDIUS X WG, Vegas 18

Studio Max 24 core GPU, 1T drive. iPad Pro 12.9` 1T
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 2124
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 1:13 pm

Thx Ron; yes I'm on mac but as an external (out of Resolve) solution, I also know different ways to efficiently deinterlace, no problem with that.
I just popped in here to be sure I didn't overlook anything (in a field that I'm no more involved in anyway)...
And writing about that : @Uli : ok, but how do you "launch" this ? :mrgreen: :lol:
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSDs on TB3 - 14 To HD in 2 x 4 disks USB3 towers
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 3SSDs including RAID
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 2650
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 4:16 pm

Sam Steti wrote:but how do you "launch" this ?
Project Settings > Image Scaling > Deinterlace quality : Normal, High or Davinci Neural Engine
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 2124
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 6:32 pm

:o
Okkkkkkk...
Now I know I was right to ask because I'm not sure I took time to choose this (hopefully it's N.E. by default ? I'll check soon)///
Thank you Andy anyway
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSDs on TB3 - 14 To HD in 2 x 4 disks USB3 towers
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 3SSDs including RAID
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 18065
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 9:28 pm

No, it’s not the default, probably due to the slower computation.
BTW, on the Mac there is an external solution based on Hybrid.
DaVinci Resolve is very capable even for free, but you need the right hardware!

Studio 18.1.4, MacOS 12.6.6, 'sandboxed' 18.5b3 under 13.4
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPad Pro M2 16 GB
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 2124
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Deinterlace

PostSun Mar 26, 2023 10:25 pm

Thx
Rare times I had to use an external app, the good old JES Deinterlacer did the job, but it's always good to know more...
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSDs on TB3 - 14 To HD in 2 x 4 disks USB3 towers
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 3SSDs including RAID
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 18065
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Deinterlace

PostMon Mar 27, 2023 12:20 am

Just in case, from a helpful colleague in this forum: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=109259&start=200
QTGMC is pretty good and fast. Scroll down for latest.
DaVinci Resolve is very capable even for free, but you need the right hardware!

Studio 18.1.4, MacOS 12.6.6, 'sandboxed' 18.5b3 under 13.4
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPad Pro M2 16 GB
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Christian Lessner, panos_mts and 108 guests